We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyatt Regency Minneapolis - Overpriced & Overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We just spent 4 days at the Hyatt Regency in downtown Minneapolis for a professional meeting at the Convention Center. The room was $200/night and very small especially considering the cost. Their website describes daily newpaper delivery but you won't get a paper unless you request it on check in. In addition the room appears to be designed for male guests without a mirror anywhere except in the bathroom. We had the breakfast buffet one morning and the selections were all either cold or room temperature - another overpriced option. And the main lobby has terrible acoustics with loud echo throughout. They really need some kind of sound dampening in this large, cold feeling space.

Room Tip: When going to Minneapolis on business try another hotel in the downtown area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for the feedback. I was disappointed to learn that you were not satisfied with your experience. Would love the opportunity to discuss your stay with you if you have a moment. My direct line is 612.596.4505.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,868 - 1,874 of 1,984 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was trying to burn off some loyalty points for HYATT and booked a weekend here. The renovations are throughout the building : great rooms, a super cool market where you can get yummy salads, sandwiches, pastries and coffee (yes, latte too) and other treats. Staff everyone from check-in to the market to the bellhops were friendly and courteous.

Workout facility is stunningly huge and all club-quality stuff. This used to be a neighborhood gym, so the hotel took it back and is using for ONLY hotel guests. If it ain't here, you didn't need it. On business, I DO check out hotels based on gym facility - so this is fantastic!

Only downside - there's a decent pool on floor 6, but no hottub. that's my only complaint. Rooms are well appointed and renovated as well. Location is DT Minneapolis - great location

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbrenna1169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you so much for the review! You hit on two personal favorites of mine, the gym and the Market. I especially enjoy the veggie flatbread wrap after a workout in the gym. Come back and see us soon to enjoy both. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Traveled here in October for business. The property has undergone a pleasant remodel. Big pluses: customer service is really nice. Two negatives: light fixtures are hard to figure out...which is minor. Also, the bathroom did not have a bathtub but the vanity area was great.

TV was great, bed was comfy, room was quite. I really liked the coffee shop downstairs.

Room Tip: Ask for complimentary wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbiepez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review! We appreciate the feedback on the lighting and are looking for an attractive way to point out the switch. We are pleased you found the room otherwise to your satisfaction and the Market is a personal favorite of mine. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just enjoyed three wonderful days in Minneapolis. I have never enjoyed a hotel so much! The facilities are beautiful, complete with gas fireplace in the lobby and elegantly decorated guest rooms. However, it was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff that made my stay so wonderful. From an initial greeting call after check in to help from the Concierge choosing restaurants for dinner, I was always greeted by name and offered help that I didn't even know I needed until they asked. The best part of the hotel, however, had to be the fitness center. Rooms and rooms of equipment! I've never before been able to do kickboxing at a hotel. Whatever your fancy (cardio, weights, resistence, yoga, or even basketball on a real court!) they've got you covered.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thnk you so much for the fantastic review! I agree that the fitness center is pretty special but I must say that my favorite part of the hotel is the "friendly satff" you encountered. But I'm biased! Truly, we are humbled by your kind words and appreciate the recognition. You have made a lot of people proud today. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were in the city to see a concert and got a great deal for this hotel. We were very pleased with our KING room on the 20th floor. The staff was what really made our stay wonderful! They helped with directions, local places to grab some food and holding our luggage after we checked out so we could grab a quick bite.

They offer a FREE shuttle and we were able to use it to get down to the Target Center. We took a cab back after the concert and bar hopping and it was only about $6 (plus tip).

The only area I saw for improvement was the noise level outside of the room that we could hear.

We would definately stay here again!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carstekj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Thank you for the great feeback! I could not agree more! The staff is what makes our property so special. The local shuttle is a huge plus and we appreciate that you were able to use it around the downtown area. There are so many restaurants, bars, etc that are within walking distance but it is great to hope in the shuttle as the weather gets a little cooler! We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just wanted to thank Hyatt Minneapolis for a great stay, over 4 nights, 5 days. The first day, when I returned to my room, I found the door was accidentally left open for most of the day by housekeeping. I was very shook up though nothing was missing. The hotel managed the situation very well- security was great, the manager checked in on me several times, and they upgraded my room to a secure floor and gave me access to the Regency Club. That made a huge different. In particular, Robert from the concierge staff at the Regency Club on the 22nd floor was fantastic, really helpful and looked after me everyday to make sure I was comfortable with my stay (I was quite shook up at first, when I arrived to find my room open). The Club was great with a lounge, and free breakfast and happy hour snacks. Besides my situation, in general I found the hotel to be stylish, with good amenities, and the room was very comfortable, well laid out, and had everything I need, except perhaps for a mini-fridge, that would have been nice. In any case, I don't think I've ever stayed at a Hyatt before but I will certainly again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

First and foremost, please accept my apologies for your door being left open. Obviously, we have addresses this with the entire team and are actually replacing all of our doors in November. I was pleased to hear of your experience and have already thanked Robert for exceeding your expectations. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

A renovation has brought this hotel back up to a Hyatt standard. Everything was first rate. Most elements of the room were high quality. The lack of HD will always be mentioned as a negative.

The Lobby area offered a very nice work space. The service I received at the restaurant was excellent. The front desk manager worked to find me a nicer room. Good job.

The location is nice. It's right at the end of Nicollet Mall with several nice restaurants a short walk away.

I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dk3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you acknowledging our recent renovation! We are very pleased with the way it turned out and are excited to show off our new product. The staff will be thrilled to learn that you will be recommending to others. Thank you again for the great review and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Millennium Minneapolis
#15 of 50 in Minneapolis
765 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#16 of 50 in Minneapolis
1,440 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#12 of 50 in Minneapolis
1,288 reviews
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#3 of 50 in Minneapolis
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Address: 1300 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55403-2667
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#18 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: $120 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 533
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located downtown Minneapolis on Nicollet Mall, Hyatt is connected via skyway to the Minneapolis Convention Center. Within walking distance to Target Field, US Bank Stadium, Walker Art Center, Sculpture Garden, Lightrail Train, Theaters, Business District and Parks. Complimentary Access to StayFit Gym which has full weights, boxing, cardio, and Fitness Classes On-Demand. Pool and Basketball court available to guests. Dine at Prairie Kitchen & Bar which offers seasonal cuisine or Market available in Lobby for quick menu options and Starbucks coffee. Pet-Friendly, Kid Friendly ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis On Nicollet Mall
Hyatt Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing