We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I would definitely stay here again. The staff was friendly and fast and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The restaurant has a very interesting menu focused on local ingredients and the food quality was good for a hotel restaurant. Prices were also reasonable. I went to the gym, which was the size of a health club. Tons of cardio equipment, weight machines and dumbells up to 120 lbs. Best hotel gym I've been to.
I had low expectations going in, but was pleasantly surprised by the Hyatt Regency.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CosmoRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review! I was pleased to learn of your experience in the restaurant as well as the fitness center. Both of these are personal favorites of mine as well! We look forward to your return and appreciate the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    563
    194
    75
    36
See reviews for
218
229
52
972
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here for a conference. The rooms are comfortable, but they are very expensive for what you get. Internet is extra and the cable is mediocre. I didn't eat at the main restaurant, but I did get breakfast at the cafe. It was almost $10 for a bagel or oatmeal and a coffee. The gym is absolutely great though. Parking is a little far for moving a lot of luggage and is a bit expensive too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 311visit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you so much for the feedback, we appreciate you taking the time. We were pleased to hear that you found the room comfortable and disappointed that you found the food and beverage pricing a little high. Hope to see you back in Minneapolis soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very clean, quiet hotel. Loved the big bathroom. Beds were comfy. Rooms are tastefully decorated. The restaurant had a delicious breakfast with Amish bacon and free run eggs. All in all a very elegant hotel, close to the Convention Center and Caribou Coffee and Starbuck's. lots of eating places in the near vacinity. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Fairly close to the airport and fairly close to the light rail transit which is very cheap to get to the airport and the Mall of America. My friend and I love the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. Mine was very quiet on the 17th floor and facing west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeacefulinVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review! I was so pleased to hear that you had a great experience with our team. I am certainly proud of what they do on a daily basis. I have recently moved to Minneapolis and I was so amazed at the quality of independant restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. It makes for a fantastic experience. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, BC
Level Contributor
202 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel has been completely renovated this year. The bathrooms have a nice spa bath feel to them, and the lobby looks like something you would find at a mountain lodge. I like the look. I also like the vanity area in the bathroom.

I was a little disappointed to see that the sports bar is gone. I liked going there for a casual bite to eat. The new Prairie Kitchen restaurant is nice, and the staff are great, but the dinner menu is kind of limited for a hotel restaurant. Food was however phenomenal, and I ate 3 dinners there.

I also liked the new Market shop, where you can get deli sandwiches, salads and hot entrees to eat at one of the many tables in the lobby or take back to your room.

I had a Regency Club room, which came with a little fridge. It was nice to be able to keep a few snacks around. I found the blanket on the bed too cool, so I called down to guest services and asked if they had any warmer ones. Someone showed up at the room with a down duvet within 5 minutes. I thought that was impressive.

All the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, and all took pride in their work, and genuinely enjoyed being helpful. That has not changed since my last visit, as I had the same experience last time also. Everyone has a really good team attitude.

I had the opportunity to use the Regency Club room, and it too has been refreshed. The service and goodies are still as good as ever. Kirk was also most helpful in arranging some of my activities for me during my stay.

I will be back next time I come to Minneapolis.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LangleyVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for the feedback! I was pleased to learn of your experience and glad you found the renovated property enjoyable. We are all very proud of our new home! Come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
81 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

When I checked in, the front desk person was quite helpful. She gave me a room with a nice view of the city skyline and they were also accommodating with a late checkout the next day. She was very informative with information about restaurants and directions as the concierge had already gone home (which seemed a bit odd to me given that it was only about 6:15 in the evening). Another downside is that the gym was only open until 10 pm at night, but it is well equipped with machines, weights and sport courts (although the scale was broken). The hallways and rooms appeared to be partially redone relatively recently. The carpeting was clean and looked new (both in the hallways and in the room) and the bathrooms were a good size and looked recently redone as well. The bathroom had a large vanity and make-up area, but the shower while long, was relatively narrow. The room did have a lovely view of the city. However, the room was a little too dark for my taste with limited lighting options available. Additionally, the doors and some of the furniture hadn’t been redone and did show their wear with a lot of scratches, chips and nicks. Lastly, when I entered my room there was a pile of dirty dishes sitting outside the door. I subsequently went to dinner and returned and they were still there – quite an unattractive site. With respective to amenities, toothpaste, was provided (which is unusual) but not Q-tips, cotton pads/balls or an emery board.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTraveler1199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience! The guest room doors and locks will all be replaced next month as we have a window to complete the work with as little disruption as possible. We are working on keeping the gym open a little later by creating another entrance that wouldn't disrupt the guests on the 6th floor. Dirty Room Service trays are certainly nor acceptable and I will address it with our team. I hope that you will come back and visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The service can be improved. When we arrived, the room we got had a view of a white wall and was right next to the elevator area. We rightfully suspected it would be noisy, so we asked to be moved to a different room. We were moved to a much smaller room. When asked to be moved again, we were given an accessible room, which was in a bad (cleanliness and overall look and smell) shape. We elected to stay in the first room. The speakers announcing the floor and whether the elevator is going up or down were very loud and we could hear them any time of the day and night!!! It interfered with our sleep. One night, a loud laughter woke us after midnight. The fire alarm going off at 3:10 a.m. was of course beyond the staff's control... but considering it was still not quiet until after midnight and the voices and elevators were waking us up around 7 a.m. every morning, it reduced our <7 hr sleep to 5.5 hrs that night.

The service at the Prairie kitchen really depended on the waiter. The first day we had breakfast, a very polite and courteous Russian lady provided excellent service. The following day, an Asian woman served us just terribly! She never greeted us or smiled. She apparently also didn't listen when we said we were only having a continental breakfast because 3 minutes after we sat down, she brought a check for $18. We asked her to correct the amount, which she did. However, she kept coming back every 2-3 minutes until we finished breakfast to check if we already put the money inside! The third time, she tapped on the check several times with her finger indicating that it must be paid. As far as I know, it is acceptable to pay after the meal is finished and the service is finished - isn't that also how the amount of the tip is determined?

The lack of free Wi-Fi in the rooms is probably a norm these days, but considering our friends had a much more pleasant and comfortable stay in a nearby hotel for half the price, which also included complimentary breakfast and free in-room Wi-Fi, we decided not to stay with you again in the future.

A final note - the gym was very nice and was open until 10 p.m. The adjacent pool was only open until 9! There isn't a lifeguard at the pool anyway, why not keep the pool open until 10 p.m. as well?

Room Tip: Don't agree to stay in a room by the elevator area - the talking elevators and people won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EugeneMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I'm obviously disappointed in your experience. and am certainly sharing with the team. I would like the opportunity to discuss with you personally if possible. My direct line is 612.596.4505 if you have an opportunity. Look forward to speaking to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed the weekend at the Hyatt for our anniversary. This was our second stay here, the first after the most recent renovation. The lobby is very nice and the adjoining bar is great. The rooms were very clean with nice features. The bed is more comfortable than my own. The only thing I really didn't care for was that wi-fi access is not included with the basic room package.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dusj1716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for the great review! We are so pleased that you had a great experience and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Millennium Minneapolis
#13 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#16 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Property: Hyatt Regency Minneapolis
Address: 1300 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55403-2667
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#18 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 533
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the heart of downtown on Nicollet Mall. Connected by climate-controlled skyway to the Minneapolis Convention Center, downtown restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. The Hotel completed an extensive renovation in July of 2013. This renovation features new guest rooms and a completely transformed lobby and Food and Beverage options. Including Prairie Kitchen and Bar, an upscale bar/restaurant, and expansive marketplace for grab and go items as well as sundries. Hotel features an extensive StayFit fitness facility and over 100,000 sq. Feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis On Nicollet Mall
Hyatt Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing