We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel and staff”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had a king room on the 10th floor. The room was spotless, the bed very comfortable, and the updating was very nice. The pillows were a bit hard, but other than that I have no complaints. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. The hotel is very close to restaurants, and a short drive to the medical facilities at the University of Minnesota if you're looking to stay close by. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cellmuus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    108
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
63
48
9
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The decor is fantastic and rooms are very clean and comfortable. However, there was lots of noise from both the hallway and other rooms constantly. Even halfway down the hall I could hear the ding of the elevator. I heard every room door slamming, toilet flushing, etc. Maybe it's the hardscape tile in the front entry of the room? The bedding is ultra clean and new, but the towels looked pretty ragged. That didn't make sense.

Room Tip: As far from the elevator as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I use to stay at this hotel for many years prior to Marriott taking it over and renovating the property. I must say I am very pleased with my most recent stay and they have done an excellent job updating the hotel. This was my first stay with it as a Marriott and I will stay here again in the future.

The staff are friendly and helpful, breakfast options are quick and efficient, the rooms are clean and updated, and the exercise room is adequate. Located downtown, you have access to many restaurants and many options to go for a great run.

Well done Marriott!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DePassiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Recently our daughter had surgery at Fairview Riverside, and we needed a nearby hotel at which to stay during the night before surgery and on several following nights. We were delighted to find that the Courtyard Downtown Minneapolis was near the hospital, had a restaurant and friendly, helpful personnel, and - best of all - offered a shuttle to the hospital between 7:00 in the morning and 10:45 in the evening. Our room was spotless and quiet, and when we asked for more towels and blankets, they were brought up at once. A parking place was made for our extra tall van when it wouldn't fit in the parking ramp. You can tell that this hotel has an excellent manager!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dad88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard M, General Manager at Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how your stay with the Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown was. I am appreciative to know that our hotel was able to meet your needs during your daughter’s hospital visit and that you were able to utilize our shuttle to ease your transportation stresses with an oversized vehicle. I am also very pleased to hear that my staff was able to take care of you and your family during your stay. Thank you again for letting us know how your stay with us was and we hope to welcome you back to the Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown.

Phil Johnson - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

The Courtyard Minneapolis is an excellent hotel for staying in town. Great access to local bars, restaurants and outdoor activities (U of M, new stadium, bike trails, etc). Staff is very friendly and helpful...notably Rachel who goes out of her way to help people that are new to the area (remembers your name!). Highly reccomend the hotel

Room Tip: Most rooms are good...rooms facing the city have an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ9895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard M, General Manager at Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for sharing with us information about your recent stay at the Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown. I am so pleased to hear that our convenient location was just what you needed to enjoy some time outdoors and that you were able to partake in our lively neighborhood establishments. I always love to hear that my staff was warm and hospitable during your stay and will be sure to pass on your kudos to Rachel. We look forward to welcoming you back the Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown!

Phil Johnson - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We love this hotel! It was so close to perfect... except for the parking. They've renovated all of the rooms which were clean and up to date. The location was excellent for us, it's in the heart of a cool theater district and the West Bank UMN campus but close to the East Bank campus too. Lots of cool bars and restaurants nearby too.
The parking situation sucks though. You pay $17 a day, which is bad but not unheard of, but all that gets you is access to a public garage. Remember that I said it was in a theater district? Oh yeah, you share the parking spaces with all of the people visiting those cool bars, restaurants and the theater. At times we could find a good spot but at night when we were tired and done for the day it was a challenge to find any spot at all. I'm sure that the elevators being out was a temporary issue but it didn't help the already bad situation.

Room Tip: The pool and gym are on the 14th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeedSun93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard M, General Manager at Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share with us details about your stay with us at the Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown. We also feel that our hotel is centrally located in a vibrant neighborhood and perched on the bank of the University of Minnesota campus for quick and convenient access for our guests. My sincere apologies that you experienced an issue with the adjacent parking ramp during your stay. As the ramp is owned by a third party, we are continually using our guest feedback to share with the ramp management to improve the guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Thank you,
Phil Johnson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

wife and I stayed here April 11 and 12th. we have stayed here many times in the past, but this was our 1st stay since they changed from a holiday inn to a marriot. we obviously liked it while it was a holiday inn. However, im glad it has changed because it is even better. the shower and bed were great. they also have all new carpet, tv and furniture. this was our 1st choice for the last 15 years as a holiday inn, and now that they have refurnished and updated, it will continue to be our 1st choice when visiting mpls. the only downsides of the new remodel is 1. they eliminated the gift shop by the front desk. 2. they made the bar a little too formal. 3. they no longer have the restaurant. the new bar is nicer and set up a little better, but they have wine glasses and cloth linens set up in front of each bar stool, which is not very inviting after coming in from a twins game wearing casual clothing. also, the bar closed at 10pm. we were hoping to have a few beers at 10pm on Saturday night when we returned from the twins game, but to our surprise, the bar closes at 10pm even on Saturday nights. overall though, we loved it here and will return

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fun1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard M, General Manager at Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us at the Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown. We are especially pleased to hear from guests that have returned after our extensive renovations and are proud to hear we are still your home-away-from-home. I am glad to hear that you were able to join us in our new Bistro as well! We are still working on the timing of our service to best suit the varying needs of our guests and value your feedback about your experience after the Twins game. We hope you are able to join us for another home game soon as we do still have many Twins game packages available are hoping for a long and successful season!

Thank you,
Phil Johnson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Millennium Minneapolis
#14 of 49 in Minneapolis
721 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
University / Dinkytown
Hampton Inn and Suites Minneapolis University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown

Property: Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown
Address: 1500 Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55454 (Formerly Hotel Minneapolis Metrodome)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#26 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Minneapolis Downtown, a stylish hotel in Minneapolis, MN, impresses travelers with inviting accommodations and state-of-the-art facilities. Our Downtown Minneapolis hotel's location is adjacent to I-94 and I-35W, and it is only 8 miles from MSP International Airport. Guests are steps from Guthrie Theater, Mill City Museum, the breathtaking St. Anthony Falls, and many other downtown attractions. Travelers can retreat to spacious, smartly designed rooms featuring plush bedding, large desks, ergonomic chairs and free Wi-Fi, for work or relaxation. Our Downtown Minneapolis hotel's restaurant, The Bistro, serves an energizing breakfast and mouthwatering evening fare. Our fitness center makes it easy for travelers to keep up a fitness regimen, and it's a breeze to let tensions float away in our indoor pool. Courtyard by Marriott Minneapolis Downtown provides optimal settings for focused meetings and special events within comfortably productive breakout space and a 5,200-square-foot ballroom. For modern amenities and welcoming service, choose Courtyard by Marriott in Minneapolis, MN as your lodging destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Minneapolis Metrodome Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing