We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We love this hotel! It was so close to perfect... except for the parking. They've renovated all of the rooms which were clean and up to date. The location was excellent for us, it's in the heart of a cool theater district and the West Bank UMN campus but close to the East Bank campus too. Lots of cool bars and restaurants nearby too.
The parking situation sucks though. You pay $17 a day, which is bad but not unheard of, but all that gets you is access to a public garage. Remember that I said it was in a theater district? Oh yeah, you share the parking spaces with all of the people visiting those cool bars, restaurants and the theater. At times we could find a good spot but at night when we were tired and done for the day it was a challenge to find any spot at all. I'm sure that the elevators being out was a temporary issue but it didn't help the already bad situation.

Room Tip: The pool and gym are on the 14th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeedSun93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard M, General Manager at Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share with us details about your stay with us at the Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown. We also feel that our hotel is centrally located in a vibrant neighborhood and perched on the bank of the University of Minnesota campus for quick and convenient access for our guests. My sincere apologies that you experienced an issue with the adjacent parking ramp during your stay. As the ramp is owned by a third party, we are continually using our guest feedback to share with the ramp management to improve the guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Thank you,
Phil Johnson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 267 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

wife and I stayed here April 11 and 12th. we have stayed here many times in the past, but this was our 1st stay since they changed from a holiday inn to a marriot. we obviously liked it while it was a holiday inn. However, im glad it has changed because it is even better. the shower and bed were great. they also have all new carpet, tv and furniture. this was our 1st choice for the last 15 years as a holiday inn, and now that they have refurnished and updated, it will continue to be our 1st choice when visiting mpls. the only downsides of the new remodel is 1. they eliminated the gift shop by the front desk. 2. they made the bar a little too formal. 3. they no longer have the restaurant. the new bar is nicer and set up a little better, but they have wine glasses and cloth linens set up in front of each bar stool, which is not very inviting after coming in from a twins game wearing casual clothing. also, the bar closed at 10pm. we were hoping to have a few beers at 10pm on Saturday night when we returned from the twins game, but to our surprise, the bar closes at 10pm even on Saturday nights. overall though, we loved it here and will return

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fun1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard M, General Manager at Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us at the Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown. We are especially pleased to hear from guests that have returned after our extensive renovations and are proud to hear we are still your home-away-from-home. I am glad to hear that you were able to join us in our new Bistro as well! We are still working on the timing of our service to best suit the varying needs of our guests and value your feedback about your experience after the Twins game. We hope you are able to join us for another home game soon as we do still have many Twins game packages available are hoping for a long and successful season!

Thank you,
Phil Johnson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed two nights at this location for a mini-vacation so my wife and I could enjoy the NHL. No complaints whatsoever; we slept well, the king bed and room was nice. It was a little different it was a corner room that overlooked the city. The bathroom seemed to have some wasted space, although I am not sure what you could do with it. The exercise room overlooks the city and the pool, both on the 14th floor. Staff was pleasant and Platinum member get points and a market item (BONUS). We used the business center for a couple of hours, 4 PCs by the Bistro, printed some house hunting work while enjoying our Starbucks, No issues again. Nice location as it was about 15 minutes to the excel energy center, about 20 to the Mall of America with plenty of eateries nearby. Onsite parking in the garage will run you $17 a day. I would recommend and stay again if in the area. Video on the YouTube Channel; thanks for reading and if it helped give a thumb up! ;)

RetiredArmyRANGER

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WHDSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard M, General Manager at Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown. I am so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our lobby area, delicious Starbucks coffee, and the great Minneapolis skyline in a city-view room! We are so proud of the connectivity and functionality we are able to offer in our new social spaces. We hope you and your wife will be able to join us again soon!

Thank you,
Phil Johnson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at this hotel when we came up for a Minnesota Wild hockey game and to try out Vertical Endeavors. My boyfriend had stayed here for Vikings games when it was a Holiday Inn and wanted to check out the renovations. The hotel is very nice, clean and modern. The staff was very friendly and helpful upon check-in. Our room was clean and very comfortable. We decided to go out for supper and asked the front desk if they could call us a cab. They actually had a couple out front waiting so we grabbed one and were at our restaurant in minutes. The cab driver was very friendly and gave us a card so we could call him to pick us up after our meal. Our only disappointment was that they no longer have a hot tub. We were really looking forward to relaxing in that after rock climbing. I guess they took it out during renovations to expand the fitness center. The pool was a little small but clean and the fitness center looked nice, although we didn't use it. We had breakfast in the hotel the next morning and it was excellent. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard M, General Manager at Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown. It is very rewarding to hear that someone who stayed on property previous to our rebrand appreciates and is excited as we are about the beautiful changes that have occurred.

I am sorry we were unable to provide you a hot tub experience after your day of rock climbing. You are correct - we removed the hot tub in effort to meet increased guest demand for healthier lifestyles.

We are very proud of the work our executive chef, Ross Reed, does and will inform him about the great things you had to say about our food in the Bistro.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward in seeing you during your next visit.


Thank you,
Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

After staying here during the warm months and being annoyed at the lack of air conditioning, we decided to stay here during the winter months when it wouldn't matter. Alas, the heating/cooling system in this hotel is messed up and the windows don't open. Other than our discomfort, this was a superior stay to our last one. I like the rooms as they are laid out in a practical manner (if only the bathrooms were a little bigger), the staff is nice, the beds and bedding are comfy, and everything is clean. (I wish there were food choices during the lunch time.)

But we won't be staying here again. The thermostat on the wall is meaningless. We could never get our room cool enough, regardless of season. As we entered the room, the heating/cooling device kicked in and then stopped even if we stayed in the room. As soon as one person left, it stopped working, even if one person was still in the room. When the first person came back, the blower would start again. It didn't seem to be triggered by motion, just by entering and exiting the room and then only for a little while. It always turned off at random times. In the warm months, it never got our room down to our preferred temperature. In the winter the heat would kick in even if the room was still above our preferred temperature. We tried to run the fan only, but that produced heat when we didn't want it.

If this gets fixed we would love to come back. But, my husband will be in Minneapolis again this week and is staying down the road at a different hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank revephemeral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard M, General Manager at Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Hello Revephemeral -

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

You indicated in your response that our heating was unsatisfactory. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit. I am happy to report we took action to your response by changing the thermostat settings which allows for a better heating/cooling experience.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. Hopefully with the changes we will regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly.

Thank you,
Phil
phil.johnson@courtyardminneapolis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have stayed here various weeks over the last 25 months while on campus for graduate school as it is only blocks away from the Carlson School at UMN. It used to be a holiday inn and was fine but now the lobby and rooms are SOOOOOO much nicer. The beds are extremely comfortable and the lobby has a lot of nice seating areas if you are there with a group and want to congregate in the lobby. There is also a lovely upstairs area for meeting or studying or whatever. My only complaint really is the bar does not appear to want to be open past 9 or 10. When I was there last, we had a large group that was in the lobby and interested in purchasing drinks and the staff could/would not stay. I'm not sure if it was really bar hours or their choice to close down as one of them kept saying how tired she was. All in all, this really is a great hotel now and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again if I want to be near the new football stadium and will be staying there for graduation. There are also both fast food (Chipotle, Quiznos), a great restaurant (The Republic), and a comfortable bar (The Corner Bar) all just across the intersections.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hov1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard M, General Manager at Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Hov1015 –
Thank you for taking the time to review the Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown. It is very rewarding to hear that someone who stayed on property previous to our rebrand appreciates and is excited as we are about the beautiful changes that have occurred. The Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown provides refreshing service and has designed our concept around that idea. I’m happy that you have noticed the comfort and atmosphere we provide.
We are working to find hours that meet the demand for the Bistro bar but fortunately as you pointed out we have great solutions only steps outside of our door.
I hope you stay with us next time you visit the University of Minnesota!
Philip Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

I recently spent 3 nights here on a business trip. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I ate breakfast each morning in the Bistro in the lobby. I was not disappointed, everything was delicious. The fruit was always fresh and the breakfast tacos were great. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay if you are in the area.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank TonyaOnATrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard M, General Manager at Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

TonyaonaTrip –
Thank you for your fabulous review of the Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown. We hope that you found our hotel refreshing and reenergizing while you were in the downtown Minneapolis area on business. We are very proud of the work our executive chef, Ross Reed, does and will inform him about the great things you had to say about our food in the Bistro. Thank you for recommending us to other travelers and please consider staying with us next time you are in the area yourself.
Philip Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
aloft Minneapolis
aloft Minneapolis
#31 of 52 in Minneapolis
522 reviews
Downtown
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Minneapolis Marriott City Center
Downtown
Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown

Address: 1500 Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55454 (Formerly Hotel Minneapolis Metrodome)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#26 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: $135 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Minneapolis Downtown, a stylish hotel in Minneapolis, MN, impresses travelers with inviting accommodations and state-of-the-art facilities. Our Downtown Minneapolis hotel's location is adjacent to I-94 and I-35W, and it is only 8 miles from MSP International Airport. Guests are steps from Guthrie Theater, Mill City Museum, the breathtaking St. Anthony Falls, and many other downtown attractions. Travelers can retreat to spacious, smartly designed rooms featuring plush bedding, large desks, ergonomic chairs and free Wi-Fi, for work or relaxation. Our Downtown Minneapolis hotel's restaurant, The Bistro, serves an energizing breakfast and mouthwatering evening fare. Our fitness center makes it easy for travelers to keep up a fitness regimen, and it's a breeze to let tensions float away in our indoor pool. Courtyard by Marriott Minneapolis Downtown provides optimal settings for focused meetings and special events within comfortably productive breakout space and a 5,200-square-foot ballroom. For modern amenities and welcoming service, choose Courtyard by Marriott in Minneapolis, MN as your lodging destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Minneapolis Metrodome Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing