We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - Incredible staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location - Incredible staff!”
Reviewed September 5, 2010

I stay at the Crowne Plaza Downtown Northstar for one night, good overall experience. The room was clean and comfortable. The location is just great! Less than 5 minutes walk from the Target Field, Target Center and Metro Transit. The Metrodome is not far from there. Incredible staff. They help me a lot for my early transport management for my departure and fix a licking toilet in a couple minutes.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Pou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    201
    96
    53
    19
See reviews for
71
139
44
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
austin, texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

This was our first visit to Minneapolis and we were highly impressed with our stay at the Crowne Plaza. We requested a quiet room at check-in and received a corner room which was wonderful. The staff, especially Will and Anita, could not have been more helpful with their many tips on sight-seeing and restaurants. We strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedandally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

I have stayed at the hotel 3 times. This hotel has older bathrooms but fairly modern rooms. the rooms are dark which make them seem dreary; they are a bit depressing. The beds are fairly comfortable because they have duvets and many pillows but the mattresses are too firm to be comfortable. The shower heads are okay but not as nice as holiday inn or the Westin. I often see mold growing that issue noticeable while bathing in the tub.
The wireless access is slow and unreliable; it drops frequently and there is a charge for it. Room service is only available 6 am to 11 pm and the food usually arrives cold.
Overall this is a clean hotel and the service is fairly good but if the prices are close i would prefer to stay at the westin.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 600ccbugslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

This is definitely a "makeover" (granted, not the best) of an older, dated hotel. it shows on the bathroom doors, the entry doors to the rooms, the exit doors on the hallways, etc.

the parking ($20 from monday through friday 2:30 pm; $11 thereafter) is small, ugly yet functional. the beds are comfortable and the rooms are spacious and clean.

internet at cost in the room ($9+), free wireless in lobby.

good location to most everything downtown (though a trip to Guthrie or the Institute of Art should be done by car, not on foot).

if you don't expect miracles [i.e., no frills], this hotel would give you a good value and a clean environment.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldEventPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Staff was nice, Great location near ballpark, tons of restaurants and everything else you need to do in Minneapolis. As a Priority Club member we also had the advantage of the concierge level which was very nice. Parking $20... I guess expected for downtown hotel. Other reviews said noisy hotel.. we did not find that.. we were in a corner room.. we ask for that knowing it probably would be quieter (just a suggestion).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sensumsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozark, Missouri
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

This was actually the third time my family has used this hotel. Each and every time we have been very, very pleased with all aspects of the hotel. If I had to criticize anything, it's the high internet charge (although I will admit it was far more reliable than many hotel wireless networks) and the fact that the air conditioning seemed inconsistent.

Service is exemplary and friendly, rooms are well-equipped and spotless, and the Hotwire rate we received is an extraordinary value. Our son will be attending the U of M for the next four years and we plan on staying here whenever we visit him.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2010

I chose this hotel over several options based on tripadvisor reviews. What a mistake! The rooms, price, location and, even, service are all adequate. However, I did read once or twice that is seemed like a party hotel. What an understatement! My floor partied loudly until 2 and 3 in the morning. Hotel security always responded but, even as the din quieted, the walls are just too thin to withstand any kind of activity in nearby rooms. On my last night, I checked out around 5 am (since I was still awake!) and caught an early fight home.

If you want to stay up with your buddies all night, check in. Otherwise, go somewhere--anywhere--else. Frankly, there are lots of better options in downtown Minneapolis.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank advisoruser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#21 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#17 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
AC Hotel Minneapolis Downtown
AC Hotel Minneapolis Downtown
#27 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar

Property: Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar
Address: 618 2nd Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1929
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#25 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Northstar is centrally located in the heart of downtown Minneapolis and connected by skyway to most major businesses and entertainment venues, such as Target Field, Target Center, and Nicollet Mall. The new US Bank Stadium is only 0.8 miles away, and Loring Park is one mile away. Crowne Plaza Northstar offers two on-site restaurants, Cafe Northstar and Krona Bar and Grill. Crowne Plaza Northstar features a 24-hour fitness center, full-service business center, and free Wi-Fi for guests. The beautiful outdoor Skygarden is perfect for corporate and social events, plus over 10,000 square feet of indoor, versatile meeting space. Crowne Plaza Northstar is located two blocks away from the Light Rail Transit Station that services trips to Mall of America and the airport. The pay on-site parking ramp with in and out privileges for hotel guests is convenient. Exceptional staff is here to assist you every step of the way at Crowne Plaza Northstar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar Hotel Minneapolis
Crowne Plaza Minneapolis
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing