We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Lowry, MN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 1 weekend last summer and again last night. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Good downtown location with convenient, affordable attached parking. Room was clean and comfortable. Did not try the cafe but enjoyed the lounge both times. Met Bob (bartender) during our first stay and it was nice that he remembered us when we returned for our second stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PenniMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
PenniMN,

Thank you for your continued loyalty with us at the Crowne Plaza Northstar. I will be sure to pass on your kind remarks to Bob one of our great bar tenders. We look forward to seeing you and your husband again soon!

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    198
    91
    53
    19
See reviews for
71
135
43
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

I visited in January 2014 on a business trip. Another good stay.

Front desk staff are friendly and efficient. The rooms are clean and tidy. The beds are comfortable.

I got an upgrade because I was travelling with my colleague who gets more perks. I was on the floor that has access to the hospitality suite. The breakfast was a little unusual for my tastes - a scrambled egg mess in a wrap. I could have used a piece of bacon.

All-in-all, a great stay. It's my choice in downtown Minneapolis.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
CanadaJamie01,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Northstar this past January. I appreciate your positive comments regarding your interactions with our staff. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waseca, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

In and out parking was convenient. Room was nice, but showing some signs of wear. Staff was very friendly. Will be back. Had to call desk for room
Service in morning despite leaving an order on my door the night before. Would give it another shot.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank northshorejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
NorthshoreJm,

Thank you for staying with us at the Crowne Plaza Northstar in Minneapolis! I am excited to say that we are putting in new hallway carpet and wall vinyl beginning in March of this year. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed for one night after business meeting in St. Paul. I was able to park overnight in the ramp for a reasonable price and access to the hotel was convenient. The rate for the evening was very affordable. I booked late in teh afternoon, so this might have been an advantge. The main reason for my excellent review was the staff. From check in to room service and finally check out, everyone was super! Very knowledgeable, accessible, and polite. The room was large and clean and the beds were super comfortable. I didn't take advantage of the lounge, but the open fireplace was very inviting. I will definitely choose this hotel again for future stays!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
LBean,

Thank you for staying with the Crowne Plaza Northstar on your recent visit to Minneapolis. Thank you so much for your great comments they are much appreciated. We look forward to having you staff with us again!

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I was very concerned going in that there might be troubles since I had 2 seperate reservations for back to back nights. However, when I checked in I was very happy with Hailey and the job she did and when she had troubles she got help which was great! The one problem that occurred was on my parking she put me down for the weekday and weekend parking which I wanted, but she put the wrong checkout date and so when I left the garage I got charged again for Sunday. I was very happy with the groupon I had for the hotel and it was my 1st time to Minnesota so being downtown was very neat!! Everyone was so helpful! There were 2 things on the room I would fix, 1st in the bathroom where the shower head comes out of the wall the silicone had broke so it wasn't fastened to the wall anymore. 2nd the shades wouldn't close all the way leaving a gap for light to shine right into the bed. Other than that it was a great stay and I would recommend it again!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zalesky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Zalesky3,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza for your recent visit to Minneapolis. I really appreciate your feed back on the check in experience and will ensure she gets proper training on that. In addition, I will have our maintence department inspec the room and make the two corrections that you pointed out. We enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to your next stay with us.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

the fifth circle isn't filled in for one reason - and it's not the hotel's fault. First, the front desk people are top notch. They received boxes and faxes for me, emailed me at the conv. ctr when they arrived. Cudos to them. Common areas (lobby, restaurant and hallways) seemed a bit dated but once inside the room, it was as good as I expect from a Crowne Plaza.
What really got my goat was the fact that on weekends, the Skyway doesn't open until much later. I had to be at the convention center by 8:00 so my options in sub-zero temperatures were to walk or take a cab six blocks. I opted to walk to the Hilton where I could then get on the Skyway and finish my trek. So if you're in town for a weekday convention or a weekend getaway, I recommend the Crowne Plaza. If you find yourself headed for the conv. ctr on weekends in the winter, not so much.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midwest_vagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Midwest vegabond,

Thank you for chosing the Crowne Plaza Minneapolis for your recent visit to Minneapolis. I appreciate your kind words regarding the hotel and staff. With regards to the skyway, it is unfortunate that it opens later on the weekends. Your feedback is appreciated, we will work with the downtown on modifying the hours during convention weekends.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for the weekend. From the time that we arrived the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean, and the bed was comfortable. The only negative was that it was warm when we arrived at our room, so we turned the heat down. Then it got quite cool, and we couldn't seem to get it to warm up. I think it was because we didn't have the fan blowing the hot air around. The next evening we turned it up higher (we had to put it up to 78) and had the fan on and we were comfortable.

The location is great, close to many restaurants.

We got our room through Hotwire, and I was worried about choosing a 3.5 star over a 4 star - but was pleasantly surprised. I would definitely stay here again.

As an aside - I left some important papers in a binder in our room and when I realized it - we were two hours away on our way home. I called, and they made sure to find it and are putting it in the mail for me tomorrow. Very helpful, friendly, professional staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0vet0travel70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
L0vet0travel70,

Thank you for chosing to stay with the Crowne Plaza Northstar while Minneapolis. Great feedback on the thermostats, I am glad you were able to get the temperature regulated. I will follow up on the lost items and make sure those are on their way to you.

Have a great day and we will see you next time you travel to Minneapolis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#18 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
Downtown
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#22 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar

Property: Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar
Address: 618 2nd Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1929
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#25 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Minneapolis Crowne Plaza Hotel located in the heart of the downtown Minneapolis business and retail district and connected to the Skyway system for easy access to shopping, dining, sports, entertainment and any other downtown Minneapolis event. Deluxe guestrooms include 2 phones with data-port and voice-mail, wireless high speed Internet access for a fee, On-Demand movies, iron/ironing board, coffee/coffeemaker and USA Today paper delivered daily. Our Cafe Northstar restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. In addition, our Krona lounge overlooking 2nd Avenue in downtown Minneapolis, features light meals, a connoisseur's collection of spirits, complete wine bar and more than thirty beers & ales in a comfortable atmosphere complete with fireplace. Take advantage of our free Fitness Center and the services of our Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar Hotel Minneapolis
Crowne Plaza Minneapolis
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing