We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and accommodating! I was impressed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Mankato, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very comfortable and accommodating! I was impressed!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at he Crowne Plaza for a little overnight date, once a month we travel from southern MN to Minneapolis for fun. We picked the Plaza as we have enjoyed it in the past. The Plaza s in the heart of the city, close to several venues. Our check in went well however when we got up to our room, the room next door was having a small but loud party. I returned to the front desk and asked for a room change. Without hesitation the manager, Ken, moved us to an excellent and quiet room. He also stated he would take care of the party room. Ken also helped us with discounting our parking rate and provided an umbrella for the rainy night. The room was very clean and functional. The bed was extremely comfy and I slept like a baby! The front desk and other staff that we ran into throughout our visit we helpful and friendly. We plan on staying at the Crowne Plaza next month!

Room Tip: The city view is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Tom C,

Thank you for your loyal business to the Crowne Plaza Northstar. I am very happy to hear the good service provided by Ken one of our front desk managers. We look forward to seeing you again next month.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    207
    101
    53
    20
See reviews for
74
142
44
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel has an excellent location in the heart of the city. The women at the front desk were helpful, however the male shiftmanager was not that helpful. The doormen were extremely nice. The hotel seems to be quite beautifull, especially the atrium, unfortunatelly I wasn't able to spend much time there. Average, but good rooms, however there was some noise from the other rooms that could be clearly heard. The lobbybar was mall, but nice. The service was good, but very slow. I was very suprised about the parking; lots of space and it is very cheap, thumps up for this!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear yoto1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. I am sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations in a few areas. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Location is so great, right where you need to be downtown. This is an older hotel but is so clean. It is noisy being in downtown, but that is to be expected with this great of a location. Really enjoyed this room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mspatsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
MSPatsfan,

Thank you for chosing the Crowne Plaza for your recent viist to Minneapolis. The hotel was built in 1963 and we are very proud of our maintenance and housekeeping staff for keeping the condition and cleanliness at a high level. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

There for a wedding (which the hotel handled so beautifully....out in the open atrium) so it was a weekend. I suspect that it's a place that is more geared to business travelers. Restaurant was very small. Room was nice and updated....dusty! No one has cleaned the cords, etc., that sort of drape across the bathroom (hair dryer plugged in). Room clock was set to the wrong time...tried to figure that one out and simply couldn't:-) All in all, fine for a downtown hotel on a weekend.

Room Tip: View into the open atrium would be nice choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJM17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
SMJ17,

Thank you for the thorough review of your recent stay. Our sky garden is a great feature of the hotel and a popular destination for weddings. I will make sure housekeeping reviews your comments and addresses them promptly.

Thank you and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Lake
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff was most professional, price was right and free breakfast was excellent. The front desk "clerk" was very sweet, responsive and forthcoming. The concierge was most professional and appropriately conversant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spooner, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is the only place I will stay when staying and playing in downtown Minneapolis! Everytime I'm here I have a wonderful time. The room as always was wonderful and we were on the 17th floor so we had the luck of having the club room. It was a wonderful amenity to have and the staff was wonderful that was working the room.

Some tips on staying here, to access guest rooms, you must have your room key.
The front desk is great on tips for dinner, brunch, entertainment, etc.
If you put the parking on your room, it is only $11 with come and go privileges...otherwise it's $20 for 24 hours and not sure what the come and go is like.

I'd like to acknowledge Victoria at the front desk, Bob at the bar, and Amanda in sales as being wonderful, helpful, kind, and all around Minnesota nice!

You won't be disappointed in your stay here. The location is perfect and the hotel/customer service/reputation has not changed over the years.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Aurora K,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to the Crowne Plaza Northstar. I appreciate the kind words you have regarding our staff, we truly have a great team! We look forward to your next visit to Minneapolis and stay at the Crowne Plaza Northstar.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a very nice room but it was on the street side. It is a very noisy street with ambulances running upand down it all night. The last night we were there there were a couple of bachelorette parties that were also a little loud in the hallways when they returned from whereever. It was a very nice location and if we would have been towards the back of the hotel it would have been a relaxing weekend away.

Room Tip: Get a room away from 7th ave or 7th street(I can't remeber which)to have a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhuudaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#16 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,375 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#20 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Millennium Minneapolis
#14 of 49 in Minneapolis
733 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar

Property: Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar
Address: 618 2nd Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1929
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#25 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Northstar is centrally located in the heart of downtown Minneapolis and connected by skyway to most major businesses and entertainment venues, such as Target Field, Target Center, and Nicollet Mall. The new US Bank Stadium is only 0.8 miles away, and Loring Park is one mile away. Crowne Plaza Northstar offers two on-site restaurants, Cafe Northstar and Krona Bar and Grill. Crowne Plaza Northstar features a 24-hour fitness center, full-service business center, and free Wi-Fi for guests. The beautiful outdoor Skygarden is perfect for corporate and social events, plus over 10,000 square feet of indoor, versatile meeting space. Crowne Plaza Northstar is located two blocks away from the Light Rail Transit Station that services trips to Mall of America and the airport. The pay on-site parking ramp with in and out privileges for hotel guests is convenient. Exceptional staff is here to assist you every step of the way at Crowne Plaza Northstar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar Hotel Minneapolis
Crowne Plaza Minneapolis
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing