We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms nice, but a bit focused on business travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar
Ranked #35 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Fargo, ND
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rooms nice, but a bit focused on business travelers”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

There for a wedding (which the hotel handled so beautifully....out in the open atrium) so it was a weekend. I suspect that it's a place that is more geared to business travelers. Restaurant was very small. Room was nice and updated....dusty! No one has cleaned the cords, etc., that sort of drape across the bathroom (hair dryer plugged in). Room clock was set to the wrong time...tried to figure that one out and simply couldn't:-) All in all, fine for a downtown hotel on a weekend.

Room Tip: View into the open atrium would be nice choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJM17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
SMJ17,

Thank you for the thorough review of your recent stay. Our sky garden is a great feature of the hotel and a popular destination for weddings. I will make sure housekeeping reviews your comments and addresses them promptly.

Thank you and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    206
    101
    53
    20
See reviews for
73
141
44
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clear Lake
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff was most professional, price was right and free breakfast was excellent. The front desk "clerk" was very sweet, responsive and forthcoming. The concierge was most professional and appropriately conversant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spooner, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is the only place I will stay when staying and playing in downtown Minneapolis! Everytime I'm here I have a wonderful time. The room as always was wonderful and we were on the 17th floor so we had the luck of having the club room. It was a wonderful amenity to have and the staff was wonderful that was working the room.

Some tips on staying here, to access guest rooms, you must have your room key.
The front desk is great on tips for dinner, brunch, entertainment, etc.
If you put the parking on your room, it is only $11 with come and go privileges...otherwise it's $20 for 24 hours and not sure what the come and go is like.

I'd like to acknowledge Victoria at the front desk, Bob at the bar, and Amanda in sales as being wonderful, helpful, kind, and all around Minnesota nice!

You won't be disappointed in your stay here. The location is perfect and the hotel/customer service/reputation has not changed over the years.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Aurora K,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to the Crowne Plaza Northstar. I appreciate the kind words you have regarding our staff, we truly have a great team! We look forward to your next visit to Minneapolis and stay at the Crowne Plaza Northstar.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a very nice room but it was on the street side. It is a very noisy street with ambulances running upand down it all night. The last night we were there there were a couple of bachelorette parties that were also a little loud in the hallways when they returned from whereever. It was a very nice location and if we would have been towards the back of the hotel it would have been a relaxing weekend away.

Room Tip: Get a room away from 7th ave or 7th street(I can't remeber which)to have a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhuudaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earl Shilton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Business trip to Minnesota for 2 weeks. Booked hotel due to position in downtown Minneapolis.
It is very well positioned for shops, bars, restaurants, Target Field (baseball) and the light railway.
Very comfortable rooms as expected, small but lively bar at the front of the hotel, recommended drinks and appetisers. Ask Bob or Jim for advice, they know it all, in a nice way, very friendly.
I'll certainly use this hotel again. Almost forgot, the breakfasts on floor 7 are excellent, eggs benedict on crab cake my favourite and Yatta the lady in charge is wonderful.

Room Tip: Try for the 17th floor, Club room floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
PapaKenny,

We were delighted to have you stay with us for 2 weeks during a recent business trip. Thank you for your kind words about specific members of our staff. I will ensure they are acknowledge for the service provided. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is our favorite hotel in Minneapolis! We are treated like royalty and everyone is so nice. They recognize us when we walk in and recognize the fact that I am a Platinum Rewards Member. The upgrades are great. It is a very clean hotel and the amenities for Rewards Members are exceptional! Thanks to all the staff for the great treatment and especially to Catherine at the front desk!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Prjustice64,

Thank you very much for the nice comments. We really enjoy having you stay with us and look forward to your next visit. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised to find what a quality hotel this is, esp. for the price. The updated, clean, quiet rooms (though we didn't have a fridge) were exactly what we were looking for, and the staff was very friendly. Right in the heart of downtown within walking distance of most events/restaurant, etc. You do have to pay to park in their ramp ($11/night). Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crystal310419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Crystal,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Minneapolis. Thank you for the positive feedback and we are look forward to future stays with us!

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#16 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,343 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#21 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Millennium Minneapolis
#15 of 49 in Minneapolis
721 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar

Property: Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar
Address: 618 2nd Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1929
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#25 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Northstar is centrally located in the heart of downtown Minneapolis and connected by skyway to most major businesses and entertainment venues, such as Target Field, Target Center, and Nicollet Mall. The new US Bank Stadium is only 0.8 miles away, and Loring Park is one mile away. Crowne Plaza Northstar offers two on-site restaurants, Cafe Northstar and Krona Bar and Grill. Crowne Plaza Northstar features a 24-hour fitness center, full-service business center, and free Wi-Fi for guests. The beautiful outdoor Skygarden is perfect for corporate and social events, plus over 10,000 square feet of indoor, versatile meeting space. Crowne Plaza Northstar is located two blocks away from the Light Rail Transit Station that services trips to Mall of America and the airport. The pay on-site parking ramp with in and out privileges for hotel guests is convenient. Exceptional staff is here to assist you every step of the way at Crowne Plaza Northstar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar Hotel Minneapolis
Crowne Plaza Minneapolis
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing