We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for downtown fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar
Ranked #32 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for downtown fun!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for a Twins game at Target field. Room was clean, bed was comfortable and the hotel is perfect walking distance from Target field, Nicollet Mall, and downtown Minneapolis in general. We ordered room service for breakfast the night before and it arrived right on time and was delicious! We would definitely stay at this hotel again for anything in downtown Minneapolis. Parking was $20 for the night (about 11am to 10am the next day) can't beat that for parking your car and not having to worry about it again during your stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay_K_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Lindsay K,

We are glad to hear that you had a great time while visiting Minneapolis and staying with us at the Crowne Plaza Northstar. We look forward to your next visit.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    207
    101
    53
    20
See reviews for
73
142
44
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I've stayed at the Crowne for the better part of a year on a long term project in Minneapolis, and have always been pleased with the level of service, attention, and professionalism of the staff. Every one is very friendly, accommodating, and helpful. The rooms are well appointed, always clean, and quiet (despite the downtown location). The views of the city are quite good, and it is close to many of the best attractions (Nicollet Mall, the light rail, Target Field, etc.).

This is excellent value for money, and I often recommend the property to friends and colleagues.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Foshay Tower, very nice at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianC_13517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
BrianC,

Thank you for your business over the past year. I am very proud of the staff we have at the hotel and your feedback reinforces the quality and caring staff we have. Thank you and we look forward to continuing to be your home while working in Minneapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
455 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The location is within walking distance of the Metrodome and Target Field as well as great shopping and eating. The rooms are well appointed and the staff helpful. Would rate this 5 stars except for the fact that they insist on charging for Internet in spite of a fairly hefty room charge. On site parking is $20 per 24 hours.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpotvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Let me start with the positive - the location is great. The hotel is within walking distance to lots of restaurants and shopping and not far from the Sculpture Garden. Additionally, it is very close to the light rail (the Minneapolis equivalent to the Metro), so getting to and from the airport, the Mall of America, and Lake Minnehaha is a breeze, not to mention inexpensive! Our room was spacious and the beds very comfortable. Now for the not-so-great....the walls are thin so you can hear everything going on around you (I had to get up at 3AM to tell the partiers next door to go to bed). Our room was not made up one day and when I called down at 6:30 PM I was told they had one person and would do their best. On our second day they did come make the beds and replace some towels, but that was it ( our dirty glasses from the evening before were left). You have to pay to use the Internet and there is no pool, so not great for families with kids. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant one morning and that was enough to convince us that it was a mistake - the service was good but the food was bland and apparently "sourdough" is the same as "white". I am hoping the hotel was just having an off-weekend and that they really are better than this. I would like to give them the benefit of the doubt, but probably would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the Sky Garden, but also of the office building across the garden. A city vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Natalie H,

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you had to deal with noisy guests that kept you awake late into the night. In addition, the issues you had with housekeeping will be addressed. I would like to invite you back for a future stay so that you can experience the true hospitality that we deliver! Again I apologize and regret that your stay was not up to your standards or ours. I look forward to getting an additional opportunity to have you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Crowne Plaza Northstar, downtown Minneapolis tries hard. The staff is very polite. The hotel is situated at 2nd and 7th Avenues--walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and at least two brew pubs. Upon check in, I asked if I could get a bottle of water. I was told there was a store around the corner, vending machines on some of the floors, and I might be able to get a bottle from the bar. The room was large, the bed comfortable, the furniture dusted--but there was a clear plastic collar piece from a new men's shirt wrapping on the floor near the bed...so the rug had not been vacuumed prior to my arrival. The bathroom appeared clean, but there were dots of black (mold?) on the tub at the wall tile. The first evening, my cold water faucet broke (would not shut off). Maintenance appeared within fifteen minutes and partially repaired because it was so late. The second day, there was a small amount of leaking under the sink from the finished repair and maintenance had to be called again. In addition, there was a party going on in the courtyard below, so it was nearly impossible to work at the desk in the room. Even with the windows closed, the blackout shade pulled down and the heavy-lined curtains pulled, you could still hear the band. The party ended at 9 p.m. When I mentioned my concerns about the inconveniences in response to "How was your stay?” a front desk staff member said: "Oh, I am sorry to hear that." That was all, no offer, no coupon, just...""Here's your receipt." I wasn't expecting anything, but was surprised that nothing was offered.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MELISSA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Melissa M,

I am very sorry to hear of the issues you encountered in your room regarding the bathroom. I can assure you that both our housekeeping department and maintenance have taken care of these. With regards to the noise and your experience at check out, please contact the hotel and ask for the general manager to discuss this further. I do appreciate your feedback and can assure you that we are better than this and the issues you have raised have been corrected. i look forward to the opportunity to speak with you directly.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Loved this hotel!! Rooms were very nice and spacious. We are a priority club member and enjoyed ourselves in the club lounge on the 17th floor. Very nice hotel. Would stay here again if in Minneapolis.

Room Tip: If you're a priority club member then tell the front desk and they'll give you a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahabib3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a really nice hotel in a beautiful clean city. The staff is friendly and helpful. Add to that its downtown location, close to the ballpark and great eateries and you have a winner. Underground parking is very reasonable at $20 per 24 hours. Oh, and they have really neat bathrooms with squared tubs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack-Dru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Jack-Dru,

Thank you for staying with us this past month and I am glad to hear your positive comments about the hotel. I am very proud of the staff we have here. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to Minneapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#16 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,373 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#22 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Millennium Minneapolis
#14 of 49 in Minneapolis
732 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar

Property: Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar
Address: 618 2nd Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1929
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#25 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Northstar is centrally located in the heart of downtown Minneapolis and connected by skyway to most major businesses and entertainment venues, such as Target Field, Target Center, and Nicollet Mall. The new US Bank Stadium is only 0.8 miles away, and Loring Park is one mile away. Crowne Plaza Northstar offers two on-site restaurants, Cafe Northstar and Krona Bar and Grill. Crowne Plaza Northstar features a 24-hour fitness center, full-service business center, and free Wi-Fi for guests. The beautiful outdoor Skygarden is perfect for corporate and social events, plus over 10,000 square feet of indoor, versatile meeting space. Crowne Plaza Northstar is located two blocks away from the Light Rail Transit Station that services trips to Mall of America and the airport. The pay on-site parking ramp with in and out privileges for hotel guests is convenient. Exceptional staff is here to assist you every step of the way at Crowne Plaza Northstar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar Hotel Minneapolis
Crowne Plaza Minneapolis
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing