We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar
Ranked #32 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
East Helena, Montana, United States
1 review
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here the weekend prior to New Years and was pleasantly surprise at the great customer service we received.
We arrived on the train early Saturday morning and they had a room ready for us! The staff was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and giving us directions to shopping and other area attractions. The manager on duty, Jackie LaTour, was phenomenal. She went out of her way to assist us with dinner reservations on New Years Eve and arranging a car for us to take to the train station later that night.
The only negative of the stay was the hot water issue...we stayed on the 17th floor and never had "hot" water. There was a hot water heater issue on day, but even after it was fixed we didn't have more than luke warm water. It was brought to the staff's attention and they did everything to try to make things better. Hopefully they'll improve their water heating system.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathieFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager618, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! It is always great to read about great guest experiences in our hotel. Jackie LaTour is a very important member of our team and certainly leads by example in regards to customer service for the rest of us.
I want to apologize for the issue with the hot water on the morning on January 1st. We did have an issue with our heat exchanger and it was resolved later that day. I know that does not make up for your luke warm shower on a cold morning, but I want you to know that this is not the norm for our hotel.
If your travels bring you back downtown, please feel free to contact me directly and I will certainly assist with your reservation needs.
Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    194
    91
    52
    19
See reviews for
71
132
43
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The staff was excellent. They were a great help during a very busy time. Kadie was wonderful in making our stay the great stay it was. She helped us to experience the city with directions and suggestions. The beds are very comfortable and the room was cozy. I would recommend staying here to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TH2777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager618, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Happy New Year from the Crowne Plaza Northstar!
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that Kadie was able to assist you as well as she did. She has proven repeatedly to be an outstanding ambassador for both the hotel and the city of Minneapolis.
I am especially pleased that you enjoyed our beds. In December we were fortunate to be able to change all of our bedding and pillows to the new Crowne Plaza standards as part of the brand's Refresh Program. The feedback we have received as been so positive!
Thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

First my hat is off to the staff and Anita thank you for checking me in and to all the staff and can never forget the door man he was great also. I had the best birthday dinner at the Crown Plaza in the bar it was great and the staff gave me a card which was very nice. I want to say thanks again and to the Manager for helping me with my extra days she was very helpful. The food is great.
Bob Rhoades

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

I enjoyed the stay but it did fall short on a few areas; I would not stay on the executive floor again. The weekend I was there was also the same weekend of a local marathon. I went to have a quick light breakfast Sunday morning and there was nothing left after the marathon runners cleaned out the continental breakfast and no replenishments were to come I was told by the room hostess. One would think that adequate supplies would have been ordered for such a weekend and or breakfast voucher could have been offered to my husband and me in lieu of. In the evenings the appetizers were not worth the trip in comparison to other executive lounges.
Our room was very nice and clean, bed was okay but soon a replacement is in order. We were not provided with the sleep advantage services and amenities on the executive floor. I think I would have enjoyed the sleep advantage amenities versus the lack of items in the executive lounge. My recommendations would be to pass on the executive floor.
Warning parking is NOT included but access from car to room is not complicated and convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly-Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickinson, North Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have stayed here on NY's, all my personal visits to the city. It is in an amazing location. The staff is amazing. The weekend packages are great! I always pick this place. I have been here so many times. I cannot say enough good things about the hotel. The staff is always great! They are so willing to help. They also have the MPLS ST Paul Magazine in the room to tell you all the events in the city for the month-which is a great magazine.

Room Tip: I would look at the packages they offer. I would also book a week in advance (they always have decen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Degenxr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Check in went very smoothly and front desk were very friendly and gave out excellent information about local places like CVS and etc.I was in and out over the holiday visiting family. The parking ramp was fine, near and very reasonable. The hotel overall was very quite and peaceful, I was able to sleep in. No frig or microwave but a lot of places to shop or eat near. Also local delivery. Only one fairly rude front desk person on day 2, she didn't seem to be too concerned about a couple of guys I saw just standing around in the ramp, she said "A concert had just let out, if I ever felt uncomfortable security would walk me to my car." Just look suspicious to me but I guess turned out to be nothing. Otherwise, check out and everything went smoothly. I would stay here again, in a nice location.

Room Tip: Nice place to stay alone or as a couple, good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamera70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minocqua, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Had a great Wednesday-Saturday stay. Impressed from the start. Anita checked us in, she was incredibly friendly and welcoming. Gave us lots of area dining info.

The room was nice, updated with very comfortable pillows and bed. We had a great city view from the 17th floor. The only negative would be the small bathroom, but there was another vanity area right outside so it worked.

The Club Lounge was nice as well. The staff there was very friendly. Good assortment of breakfast items as well as a nice sweet in the evening.

We occasionally visit the area to see family but this was the first time we stayed downtown. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: High floor on the east side will give you the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cpccarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#14 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#17 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar

Property: Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar
Address: 618 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#25 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Minneapolis Crowne Plaza Hotel located in the heart of the downtown Minneapolis business and retail district and connected to the Skyway system for easy access to shopping, dining, sports, entertainment and any other downtown Minneapolis event. Deluxe guestrooms include 2 phones with data-port and voice-mail, wireless high speed Internet access for a fee, On-Demand movies, iron/ironing board, coffee/coffeemaker and USA Today paper delivered daily. Our Cafe Northstar restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. In addition, our Krona lounge overlooking 2nd Avenue in downtown Minneapolis, features light meals, a connoisseur's collection of spirits, complete wine bar and more than thirty beers & ales in a comfortable atmosphere complete with fireplace. Take advantage of our free Fitness Center and the services of our Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar Hotel Minneapolis
Crowne Plaza Minneapolis
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing