We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We got a great deal through Priceline for this hotel. It's well within walking distance to Target Field as well as the bar and restaurant district.

Service - front desk was very friendly at check-in. Room was clean.

Parking is cheap - $9- $11, just make sure you know your license plate number or they won't validate you.

Room Tip: We were right by the elevators and it was quite noisy, not a dealbreaker but I'd ask to be furth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachluvr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    207
    101
    53
    20
See reviews for
73
142
44
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shakopee
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Northstar - Downtown Minneapolis during a Twins game and were extremely impressed with the service. In particular, Anita and Kadie at the front desk provided exceptional service. They were very friendly, helpful and advised us of local hot spots (even providing complimentary tickets to "Howl At the Moon"). We used a Crowd Cut dealfor our stay, which included free parking and complimentary breakfast, which was beyond our expecations. Would definately visit again! Clean rooms, and quiet stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed for a week. Place is good, tidy rooms, helping staff.

Few disappointments:
1. Wifi rarely worked in my room. It was a business visit and internet was much needed.
2. Breakfast eggs were cold. No idea if it was intentional. Will try to tip more next time :-)

Otherwise its well connected and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with better wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaibhavdixit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The staff mades the hotel and the staff at Crowne Plaza is great.

Room Tip: Great city view corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from June 8th-10th. The location of this hotel is fantastic, we were able to walk everywhere that we needed to go, Target Field, Manny's Steakhouse, and the AMC movie theater. It was nice to have the parking ramp available and at a decent price for a downtwon area. Make sure that you know your license plate number and tell the front desk person that you need the parking slip from the hotel so that you can get it charged to your room (yes, you do still need to get a parking ticket at the gate in order to get in). It comes out to $11 a night for parking.
The bed was super comfortable. The sheets were soft and the comforter was feather stuffed. The pillows were great too. You got the option of feather, which I used, or cotton which actually seemed hard in my opinion (but I always prefer soft feather so maybe that's why I think it's hard). We did have to turn the air conditioning on, so even though it's comfortable when you walk into the room for the first time, you may need to adjust it later. Showers were decent, the bathroom decor was a little old, but not bad.
The only con of this hotel is that noise was easily heard. I was woken up by a vaccuum at 7:30am, and my husband was woken up to doors being closed at 7am. Also, if there is a wedding being held outside the speakers and music can be heard which isn't a big deal unless you're trying to take a nap.
All in all, I would stay here again because of the location and great beds. Oh, and the staff was also very nice as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonialax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Anita was such a tremendous help and great asset to the northstar crowne plaza front desk-the total trip experience with your hotel, and all your staff was wonderful and i would be a repeat customer. thankyou Joseph B from Texas!!

Room Tip: corner suites and higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Northstar Crowne Plaza Hotel is one of the best managed and run hotels we have experienced. The staff is unbelievably nice and accomodating, even for the smallest things. We had the luxury of staying in one of the corner rooms with the Sky Garden access and it was outstanding. From checking in and out at the front desk, to the staffs at the restaurants and lounges, everything was perfect and the people couldn't have been more welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#16 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,372 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#21 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Millennium Minneapolis
#14 of 49 in Minneapolis
731 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar

Property: Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar
Address: 618 2nd Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1929
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#25 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Northstar is centrally located in the heart of downtown Minneapolis and connected by skyway to most major businesses and entertainment venues, such as Target Field, Target Center, and Nicollet Mall. The new US Bank Stadium is only 0.8 miles away, and Loring Park is one mile away. Crowne Plaza Northstar offers two on-site restaurants, Cafe Northstar and Krona Bar and Grill. Crowne Plaza Northstar features a 24-hour fitness center, full-service business center, and free Wi-Fi for guests. The beautiful outdoor Skygarden is perfect for corporate and social events, plus over 10,000 square feet of indoor, versatile meeting space. Crowne Plaza Northstar is located two blocks away from the Light Rail Transit Station that services trips to Mall of America and the airport. The pay on-site parking ramp with in and out privileges for hotel guests is convenient. Exceptional staff is here to assist you every step of the way at Crowne Plaza Northstar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar Hotel Minneapolis
Crowne Plaza Minneapolis
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing