We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was disappointed when I discovered too late that my hung...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Hotel University Ave SE
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Minneapolis
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I was disappointed when I discovered too late that my hung to dry towels were taken and NOT replaced I ended up having to use a hand towel to dry off and dry hair. Other guests were extremely loud at 1:30am then heard the person that was in the room next door vomiting very loudly and hour later then again a half hour after that,nit sounded like they were right in my room!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Annette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeAnne L, Director of Sales at Days Hotel University Ave SE, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Annette P,

Thank you for providing critique of your recent stay. My sincerest apologies that you were left without towels during your stay. It will be immediately discussed with our housekeeping staff to rectify and provide additional training to avoid this oversight in the future. Please also make sure to alert front desk staff of loud or unruly guests as soon as possible so we may address it immediately. I'm so sorry you did not enjoy your stay and hope that we have the opportunity to show you that this experience is not typical in our establishment. Thanks again and I appreciate you taking time to provide your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

745 - 751 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LeAnne L, Director of Sales at Days Hotel University Ave SE, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LeAnne L, Director of Sales at Days Hotel University Ave SE, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Mary Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LeAnne L, Director of Sales at Days Hotel University Ave SE, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Over the last year this was my favorite hotel. I have spent over $3,000.00 dollars at this hotel in the last 6 months. The shuttle unfortunately is the only good thing left about it. This last 4 day stay has been awful. Housekeeping didn't refill towels, the breakfast has gotten chincier, the rates are going up and worst of all with my husband being in the hospital there, and they are the first recommended hotel for hospital lodging they took my hospital rate of $79 a night away and told me they were full. After I had already stayed 3 days, I went online and booked my same room for $193 for the night they are "FULL". So today when I went to re-check in they wouldn't let me talk to the Supervisor, they wouldn't change my rate back. So they obviously don't care about customer service or getting customers to come back. Very disgusted checking out tomorrow and booked a new hotel for the next 3 days I won't be coming back here anymore!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavalley264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeAnne L, Director of Sales at Days Hotel University Ave SE, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear lavalley264,

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. My sincerest apologies you did not enjoy your most recent stay. The hospital rate did go up on January 1, 2014. The rate is still the most economical for the area in relation to the hospital. The night in question was a sold out night and you were provided the correct information. The fact that you were able to book through a third party online is something that was a technical issue and we are still looking at how the issue occurred. Once the reservation was made through a third party we, at the hotel, have no ability to change reservations or rates as you made an agreement with a different seller. It would be the same as getting a concert ticket from a contracted reseller and then going to the venue and asking for the discounted rate. Unfortunately our hands our tied when you book outside of a direct reservation. I know this is technical and unfortunately you were the caught in the middle, but it is why we advise all of our guests to book directly to avoid complications and allow flexibility in how we approach customer service. I hope that this helps explain the situation and we hope that you will take this information under advisement in the future when booking your hotel stays at our hotel or any others. I also do apologize that you were not provided a supervisor callback as it sounds like the supervisor on duty was unavailable to explain the matter to you at the moment you contacted the front desk. Any one of our supervisors would have been happy to explain the situation. Thanks again for contacting us about your experience and we hope this clarifies the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LeAnne L, Director of Sales at Days Hotel University Ave SE, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I previously stayed here some 20 years ago. The neighborhood has changed (for the better) - but this hotel has not - old,worn out, tired- probably the same decor and furnishings from back then! Towels and sheets are dingy; ( guys - ever hear of bleach and hot water in the laundry?)the bldg needs a good steam cleaning everywhere. "Breakfast" was grim..(unless you like white bread and toast),breakfast room dingy and needs a good cleaning. Hotel WiFi was a return to the days of dial up modems - even email was extremely slow to load.(McD's nearby with better coffee and far faster WiFi!)

It is the most affordable hotel in the area and the only one available during my stay...will not return

Room Tip: affordable - that's about it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranMan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeAnne L, Director of Sales at Days Hotel University Ave SE, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear FranMan55,

Thank you for your frank review of your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback. I'm so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We are in the process of renovating our rooms and we have about 70% complete at this point. My apologies you did not get to experience the upgraded room decor and furnishings. Breakfast is new line of breakfast outlined by Days Inn Worldwide and does include cheese omelets, hot oatmeal, yogurt, waffles, fresh fruit, cereal, toast, coffee, and juices. We are currently working on a newer upgrade to increase our bandwidth for WI-FI in the coming months. Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your time. Thanks again and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
University / Dinkytown
Hampton Inn and Suites Minneapolis University Area
University / Dinkytown
University Inn
University Inn
#22 of 52 in Minneapolis
312 reviews
University / Dinkytown
Ramada Plaza Minneapolis
Ramada Plaza Minneapolis
#23 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Graduate Minneapolis
#12 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,000 reviews
University / Dinkytown
Doubletree by Hilton Minneapolis - University Area
Downtown
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Hotel University Ave SE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Hotel University Ave SE

Address: 2407 University Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414-3032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Minneapolis
Price Range: $102 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Hotel University Ave SE 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Hotel University Ave SE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Minneapolis/Univ Of Minnesota Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing