We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No better place in Minneapolis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Blaine, Minnesota
1 review
“No better place in Minneapolis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

This is our 3rd visit to the Normandy. it seems to get better everytime we stay there. The Staff is wonderful. Rooms are very clean. Pool and sauna are 1st rate. Bed was one of the best in any hotel we have ever stayed at. The Normandy Kitchen knocked it right out of the park. I have had the Steak Delmonico in NYC for aroud $90.00. The flavor was better for a fraction of the cost. Our waiter was polite and very attentive. He recomended the calamari and are glad he did. It was done to perfection. The next morning we had room service. It was delivered to the room within 20 min. Hot and very good. This place is a gem, and we are customers for life. Try it you will be suprised and pleased.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjbernu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    413
    97
    38
    30
See reviews for
312
284
94
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ironwood, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

This was our 1st stay at the Normandy in many years and we were extremely happy with our 3 day visit. The facility was very nice and our suite was modern and extremely clean. The on site restaurant served great food in a pleasant atmosphere. I can't say enough about the friendliness of the entire staff associated with the Normandy. Another plus was the shuttle provided for us football fans attending the Viking game being played at the university field. This made our life a lot easier!! The convenient downtown location made access to city shopping and the light rail system to the MOA a snap. We will visit the Normandy Inn again!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UPRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, WI
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

We stayed at the Best Western Normandy Inn from November 22 to December 22 2010.
Wife had kidney transplant at Hennepin County Medical Center, which required a 30 day stay in the area for follow-up monitoring of transplant status. I am critical of everything, yet this Hotel delivered CONSISENTLY good service the enire month. The room was spacious, Housekeeping always at your needs, the restaurant food was fabulous. We ate everything on the menu at least once. (Go for the Horseradish crusted Fish and ask for their famous Popovers) Nicolet Mall was within easy walking, even during the blizzard. Our room overlooked the pool, and any/all noise ceased by 10-11pm. The pool water was perfect/warm, and the Spa and Steam Room were great also. Laundry facilities and workout room downstairs.
Wife had to walk the three blocks to HCMC three times a week and always felt safe. Even though we are Packer Fans from 4 hours away, we were treated warmly by all we enchountered. At 10 pm milk and cookies are served in the Lobby. We came down with others in PJ's, and even played Scrabble by the HUGE Fireplace. The History of the BWNI goes back 100 years. If they keep this up, they'll have to plan for 100 more.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BBandJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

We went to Minneapolis for a Minnesota Vikings game on the weekend of the 11th of December. Unfortunately, this was the weekend that the roof caved in on the Metrodome so we weren't able to go to the game. The horrible snow storm that caused the stadium to collapse, also caused the train that runs through town to get stuck in the snow and caused us to get stranded at the Mall of America on Saturday evening. After a couple of hours of trying to figure out how we were going to get back to our hotel (taxis, and buses weren't running either) we called the hotel to see if they had anyway to get us back to the hotel. Eventually we ended up on the phone with the owner of the hotel and he came and picked us up himself without accepting any form consolation. We piled six of us into his vehicle and made it back safely to the hotel. I believe that this is very representative of the way the owner runs his hotel. His staff is very courteous and helpful. The hotel is also very clean and comfortable and was an enjoyable place to stay. There is also a restaurant/bar connected to the hotel that serves delicious food. Next time we go back to Minneapolis, we will definitely be staying at the Normandy Inn! Thanks again to the owner for helping us get out of a bad situation!

P.S. They serve delicious chocolate chip cookies and milk in the evening... Always a plus in my book!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ubungleebin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2010

My family and I had a total of six people in four rooms for a 5-day weekend. We used the BW Normandy as a home base for celebrating my mother-in-law's 80th birthday and an early Xmas at the same time, so we had other locally-based relatives visiting us there on occasion. We all agreed that the location - near the downtown entertainment district, amenities - excellent Normandy Kitchen restaurant and bar, and friendly staff made the weekend even more enjoyable. This is one of the best values in a hotel I've experienced in a long time, and would recommend this facility to anyone who needs a close-in-to-downtown location. Extra-clean rooms, great showers, and big flat-panel TVs really topped it all off. A nicely updated historic hotel.

Special thanks as well to the staff for allowing us to use the private lounge for our family gift exchange! It was absolutely perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sundvl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

The Normandy is in downtown Minneapolis (not far from the vikings stadium). It has a very large lobby (ski-lodge type) with a restaurant in it (didn't eat there). The rooms are decent, clean and modern. There is outdoor parking for $7 per day. There is free internet, but the wireless reception was poor (I ended up plugging it into the wall). It was a pretty long walk from parking to my room, but it was a really nice hallway.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LennyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

I ended up in Minneapolis, MN on business on short notice and with out a reservation. The hotel clerk was courteouss, freindly and accomodating and was able to get me into a great room that was spacious and clean at a reasonable price. The lounge presented a freindly staff, a pleasant atmosphere, good drinks and a excellent dinner. I highly recommend the Best Western Normandy and their stuffed pork chop dinner.

Mark W.
Milwaukee, WI

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unclemarkable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Millennium Minneapolis
#13 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Address: 405 South 8th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, HotelsforEveryone and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing