We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Unpretentious, homey, and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unpretentious, homey, and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2010

My family and I had a total of six people in four rooms for a 5-day weekend. We used the BW Normandy as a home base for celebrating my mother-in-law's 80th birthday and an early Xmas at the same time, so we had other locally-based relatives visiting us there on occasion. We all agreed that the location - near the downtown entertainment district, amenities - excellent Normandy Kitchen restaurant and bar, and friendly staff made the weekend even more enjoyable. This is one of the best values in a hotel I've experienced in a long time, and would recommend this facility to anyone who needs a close-in-to-downtown location. Extra-clean rooms, great showers, and big flat-panel TVs really topped it all off. A nicely updated historic hotel.

Special thanks as well to the staff for allowing us to use the private lounge for our family gift exchange! It was absolutely perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sundvl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    403
    96
    38
    31
See reviews for
299
280
93
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

The Normandy is in downtown Minneapolis (not far from the vikings stadium). It has a very large lobby (ski-lodge type) with a restaurant in it (didn't eat there). The rooms are decent, clean and modern. There is outdoor parking for $7 per day. There is free internet, but the wireless reception was poor (I ended up plugging it into the wall). It was a pretty long walk from parking to my room, but it was a really nice hallway.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LennyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

I ended up in Minneapolis, MN on business on short notice and with out a reservation. The hotel clerk was courteouss, freindly and accomodating and was able to get me into a great room that was spacious and clean at a reasonable price. The lounge presented a freindly staff, a pleasant atmosphere, good drinks and a excellent dinner. I highly recommend the Best Western Normandy and their stuffed pork chop dinner.

Mark W.
Milwaukee, WI

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unclemarkable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2010

I was there on November 21 for Viking game. We came all the way from Florida to see the game and visit some family. We got there very tired and upon check in we requested a rollway bed. I believe we spoke to the gentleman called Don. We left the hotel for dinner and to visit some family and when I got back around 10 pm I never received the rollway bed. When I called back downstairs and spoke to don, he told me there should be one coming up shortly. I never got the rollway and my wife end up sleeping with my son on the same bed. What is irritating was the fact that we missed the wake up call. In fact, when I called downstairs and spoke to a lady I asked for a wakeup call for 9 am, phone never ringed in the morning. Room was super cold too. We asked for a maintenance service to check the heating on our room but no one did anything about it. In the next following day, we checked out at 11 am and called down to check out from our room. This is poor performance from your management team. I do believe, the hotel is very nice, situated right, and priced right but you need to provide a better service. I would not recommend anyone to come to that place like that. You guys dropped the ball many times. Poor performance from your management team.

Sincerely yours

James Patella

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank healthytraveler34678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

I previously wrote a review on this hotel in January of 2010. We have since stayed here three more times, the last time in mid-October. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. Every time we have been here, we have been very pleased with the front desk staff, the cleanliness of not only the guest rooms but with the hallways, common restrooms and the pool area. After checking out on one of our visits, housekeeping was already cleaning rooms and I saw one lady wiping down the outside door of a room. I have never seen that before at any hotel. If they take that much care on the outside of the room, they must do a good job on the inside too! The only thing we have yet to check out is the restaurant. We will most definitely be back the next time we visit Mpls. We have used this hotel when going to an event at the Orpheum, Vikings and Twins games-all are within a safe and comfortable walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 77family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

The Normandy is easy to get to and easy to get back on the interstate from. It's perfectly located for Twins' or Vikings' games. You don't have to pay the exhuberant parking fees and it's an easy walk to both parks.There are many bars and restaurants within walking distance. They also have a bar on site. The front desk people are always friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean and the free wifi is great.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLATS51301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

I stayed at the Best Western Normandy Inn for one night in late September. I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. Some of the pictures online looked a little bit dated. When I arrived, I was immediately put at ease. The staff were so friendly and actually seemed to enjoy working there. The room was spacious, clean, and well appointed.

The location was great – just about two blocks from the Government Plaza Station on the Light Rail route 55 from the airport. Nicolett Mall and other attractions are just a quick walk from the hotel. One thing to note: I was probably the only non-smoker, non-homeless person walking on the sidewalk. Minneapolis has these cool skyways connecting most of the city. Use them, especially if it is winter…

My flight home was not scheduled to leave until late in the day of check-out, and the staff happily stored my luggage so that I could roam around a bit more hands free. They also had a business center with three computers where I was able to print my boarding passes. Free wireless was also available throughout the hotel if you prefer to use that.

I did not try the on-site restaurant, the Normandy Kitchen, but it looked pretty decent and was quiet and civilized. Not so noisy that it would disturb hotel guests.

Minneapolis is a smaller city than where I am from, however, it felt very lively with shopping, museums, restaurants, etc. It’s very easy to get around and you can really cover the sights by foot – but it’s nice to know that there is a light rail system if you want to cover greater distances more easily, such as reaching the Mall of America en route to the airport just to say you had been there. The hotel staff has plenty of maps and was willing to share their picks on places to check out that tourists might not know about.

Other tidbits about this hotel: 1. Every night they bake fresh chocolate chip cookies and offer them to guests (with a glass of milk, if you like!) They are really good. 2. There is a nice pool with plenty of lounge chairs around it as well as a fitness area. Perhaps late September was not the season to enjoy the pool, but it was open, it was clean, and it was tempting!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLE_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Millennium Hotel Minneapolis
#10 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#14 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Address: 405 South 8th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing