We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

There were 3 of us and we wanted some space so we took adjoining king rooms (one was a suite) and it was perfect. Very comfortable and plenty of room!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missvivien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    415
    97
    38
    30
See reviews for
313
284
94
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moorhead, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

We always enjoy our stay at the Normandy. The rooms are spacious and updated, the location is easy to find, parking is very convenient and it is close to Target Field and the Metrodome. The staff at the Normandy is very friendly and helpful. We have been very satisfied with the hotel every time we have stayed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thunderbolt89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIOUX FALLS
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

Our five night stay was wonderful. The location in downtown Minneapolis can't be beat. Walking distance to shopping, parks, and theater. Very comfortable beds and excellent lighting that made it feel like home. In the evening the freshly baked chocolate chip cookies were a real treat. The staff was welcoming and helpful. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaAuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

We loved location! Only downsides were beds were not great and drapes are needed in addition to the blinds.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheri8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

This family owned place is a bit old, but still very clean and maintained. The staff is very nice, and they have cookies and milk every evening. The hotel is close to the light rail system and is close to bus stops.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaFamilyOfFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

I loved the old feel of this hotel and the fact that the staff kept the rooms and public areas extremely clean. It is in a good location, not too far from the Metrodome and Target Field, but there is not a whole lot to do right outside the place. The staff is helpful and there is a free shuttle for guests that are going to the Twins game.
I also enjoyed the pool, the hot tub and the sauna. They have a large area for it pretty much in the center of the hotel.
Parking is $7 a day in the lot behind the Best Western. Make sure to lock your doors though, one couple's car was robbed one of the nights we stayed there.
Overall it was a comfortable stay and very good for the price. I would consider staying here again whenever I visit Minneapolis.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

The rooms were spacious, the price was modest, and the restaruant had great food reasonably priced. The service was friendly and prompt. The location is about five blocks from the convention center and four blocks from Nicollet Street, which is a pedestrian mall with many restaurants with outdoor tables. The Smimming pool is modest in size but is in a large atrium with a large patio, hot tub, and sauna.
What I liked best was the room size and ammenities you got for the price. What I liked least is that it is the that the few blocks on either side are pretty devoid of reastarants and shops, but it is only a 4 block walk to get to the best pedestrian area for restarants and shops downtown. It is worth the walk to get the good price. The hotels 4 blocks away are much more expensive.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djones1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Millennium Minneapolis
#13 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Address: 405 South 8th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, HotelsforEveryone and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing