We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great secret in the big city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Southern California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great secret in the big city”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very elegantly decorated and has a very nice atmosphere for all groups. From families to business men. Rooms are comfortable and cozy. Restaurant and bar and very nice also. The indoor pool and jacuzzi at awesome treat for kids. Great location close walking to the arch bridge and other sites of the city.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your positive comments about our elegant atmosphere and décor, clean and comfortable guestrooms, great location, newly renovated pool atrium and wonderful Normandy Kitchen Café & Bar! We hope you have another chance to come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    426
    100
    38
    31
See reviews for
330
291
98
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great location, nice rooms,good food/lounge. Stayed prior to a twins baseball game, walked to and from the game, shuttle was availiable if need be. Front desk helped with directions and to do's after the game. Friendly service in the lounge afterwards as well. Have stayed prior for football, had same great experience. Will stay again, parking is only $8 per night, cheaper than a lot of others in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank GarthS-62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your positive comments about our great location, clean and comfortable guestrooms, reasonable parking rates, friendly service and wonderful Normandy Kitchen Café & Bar! We are glad to hear that you will be staying again and hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I was impressed with this hotel. It is so convenient to restaurants, public transportation, business areas. The room was large and very clean. It had a very comfortable bed. The staff was so nice and friendly. The rate was reasonable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your positive comments about our reasonable rates, large and clean guestrooms, comfortable beds, centralized location and friendly staff! We are glad to hear that you would like to return and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalmette, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I was there for my daughter needing medical attention at the Univ. of Minn. The shuttle drivers were very nice and caring. We ended up moving into the Ronald McDonald house after only one night but we appreciate the staff being so kind to us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate you taking the time to fill out a tripadvisor review and the nice comments about our caring staff. Our thoughts are with your daughter as we wish her a full recovery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolo, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had a delightful time at the Normandy Inn and would definitely stay here again! The hotel is very close to the light rain and was an easy walk with luggage in tow after arriving at the MSP Airport. Check-in was a breeze and they even met my special request for an extra nice room, upgrading me to a suite styled double queen, which was clean, spacious and welcoming. The only drawback was the lack of a view with the windows showing only the roof and center of the hotel. But this didn't take away from our overall satisfaction with our stay.

The interior of the hotel is a delightful combination of old French styling with modern flair. The pool, although we did not swim, is located in the center of the hotel in an atrium like room. Parking was tight but manageable with a large truck and piggy-back camper.

Our entire family in Grand Forks raved about the Normandy Kitchen, apparently a must stop since our Grandparents were our age. We tried their Popovers which were absolutely amazing! Didn't try any of their other food but am confident it would be quite good based on the service and snack we did try.

Overall I was very satisfied with our stay and the service we received. We walked or took the light rail everywhere we wanted to go, including Target Field and the Warehouse District. Definitely the best buy for your buck if staying in downtown Minneapolis!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate the 5 star rating and positive comments about our convenient location, clean and comfortable guestrooms, newly renovated pool atrium, on-site parking, professional service, great value and highly rated Normandy Kitchen Café & Bar! We look forward towards your next visit at The Normandy Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2014

staff very helpful and accommodating enjoyed our stay. Area not far from light rail. Old carpets were an issue as they had musty smell but overall that was the least complaint. Restaurant prices a little high but again you are in the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank ellens618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback on Tripadvisor. It was nice to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff and centralized location! We will also be shampooing the carpets so no future guests will encounter the musty smell you mentioned. We hope you have a chance to visit the Normandy Inn and Normandy Kitchen Café & Bar again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Traveling for business alone, I wanted a safe and convenient place to stay and I was impressed with this place. Very friendly and helpful front desk staff, spacious and clean bedroom, cable tv, good wifi, decent pool and they even served freshly baked cookies and milk every evening! Located in downtown, it's only a 5 min walk from the light rail station of Government Plaza; I'd recommend taking a taxi back if returning past 8:30pm.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B_Mish_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your 5 star review and positive comments about our safe and convenient location, clean and comfortable guestrooms, friendly staff, complimentary Wi-Fi, newly renovated pool atrium and freshly baked cookies and milk served every night! We hope you have a chance to come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Millennium Minneapolis
#14 of 49 in Minneapolis
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Address: 405 South 8th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing