We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at Normandy Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
“Excellent stay at Normandy Best Western”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Employees are warm and courteous. We always get a king suite and it is spacious. Restaurant food was delicious and mostly prepared in house. We have stayed here on two previous occasions and have always been pleased.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your 5 star review about our warm and courteous employees and spacious suites! We are also glad that you were able to dine in our highly rated scratch kitchen The Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar! We are glad that you are repeat customers and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    437
    102
    38
    31
See reviews for
343
297
99
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Good rooms, great service and economical. Shuttle service to various venues if requested. High class restaurant with very good food. The tripadvisor website requires 200 characters, I don't need to add a bunch of information here I've stated what I need to state.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your 5 star review and positive comments about our well appointed guestrooms, great service, reasonable prices and wonderful scratch kitchen The Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar! We hope you have a chance to come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed a couple of nights at the Normandy Suites and enjoyed it very much. The staff was fantastic. Very knowlegable about the area, had great recommendations for dining and things to do. The location is good, price is reasonable, and the rooms were clean, comfortable and the lounge was an awesome place to wind down after a long day. I would return if I'm ever in Minneapolis again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We are glad to hear that you will return if ever in the area again! We also appreciate your positive comments about our great staff, location, reasonable prices, clean guestrooms and our comfortable atmosphere in The Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar! We hope you did get a chance to return to The Normandy Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Room was very nice and good value for a suite. Beds were comfortable and décor was modern and nice. It was a little far in terms of walking distance from the downtown night life. We were given a map and good places were highlighted for us, but it was quite a walk especially in the rain. Nice to have on site parking. Better value than a parking ramp and free in and out access.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your 5 star review and positive comments about our good value, comfortable beds, well appointed guestrooms and convenient on-site parking! When the weather does not cooperate I would suggest using our skyway system which you can access across the street from us. Thank you again for your positive comments and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Good stay for business or pleasure. Great WiFi. Food is fantastic. Lounge is casual and good for chilling out after a day of work. Took in a Baseball game. Easy to get to. Close to light rail to and from airport. Close to skywalks to stay out of rough weather. Staff very attentive and helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ms B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your positive comments about our complimentary WiFi, great location, helpful staff and fantastic food and atmosphere in our Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar! We hope you get a chance soon to come see us again at The Normandy Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Wow --- these folks know how to provide great service. We were very impressed! We had a corner suite that was super spacious - tons a room for a family of five. 2 queen beds in the bedroom and then a super long hallway to a living area with a pull-out and fireplace. The icing on the cake - the shower! Great big shower head and great water pressure. Very welcome after walking home from the ball game on a brisk night. Speaking of the ball game, this hotel offers free shuttle service which is a great bonus. We used it on the way to the ball park which was great as we were running late. We decided to walk back to the hotel at the end of the game, and it was a nice 15 minute walk. No complaints about this hotel. And the cookies and milk at 10:00 pm are a nice little perk!

Room Tip: Go down to the lobby early for the 10:00 milk and cookies as there is a line-up and they quickly dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saskcapers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your positive comments about our superior customer service, spacious suites, complimentary shuttle service and freshly baked cookies and milk served each night at 10pm! We hope to see you again soon at The Normandy Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

If you are not able to check in at their specified 3:00 check in, don't plan on getting the room you booked. When we finally got our room (at 10 pm) there was food left in the fridge and the room temp was hot, even though the thermostat was set at 66. Was not impressed. Will not stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
On behalf of our entire team at The Normandy Inn I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. We happily allow individuals to check in early, however, we do not guarantee a certain room type until 3pm. After this time we do guarantee you will receive the room that you booked. If you ever have a dissatisfaction with a room we would like to know right away so we can provide proper accommodations for you by taking care of the issue immediately or moving you to a more fitting room. These issues that you encountered at The Normandy Inn are highly irregular and do not portrait the high standards of The Normandy. We are sorry that we lost your business but I do encourage future travelers to visit our many positive reviews posted on Tripadvisor that are a better representation of our wonderful staff and property. We hope to see you soon at The Normandy Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Millennium Minneapolis
#14 of 49 in Minneapolis
731 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Address: 405 South 8th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Best Western, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing