We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pink concert”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Two Harbors
1 review
“Pink concert”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I had stayed at this hotel back in November, for work, so knew when looking for a hotel for the Pink concert the Normandy would be a great choice, affordable and has a quaint inn-like quality. Even my extremely picky, high maintenance friend liked the hotel :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! You can always count on us when looking for an affordable hotel, in a great location with high end accommodations! We are glad to please your high maintenance friend and hope to see you both again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    426
    100
    38
    31
See reviews for
330
291
98
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Clean room, great customer service. Was in Minneapolis in the middle of winter for a work-related event. Accidentally misplaced an item, the staff was accommodating and did their best to assist me with finding the item.
Assisted with coordination of transportation to and from work for me. One of the staff Shane, saw that the lights on my rental car was on from the night prior to check out day. He told me, got my car keys to check on it himself to make sure that the car was okay whiles I was at work.
Can't say enough of the excellent customer service.
Thank you Shane!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nana o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful story on how Shane went above and beyond to provide great customer service! At The Normandy Inn we are truly thankful to have such a dedicated and customer service driven staff! We hope that you have a chance to come visit us again soon and we appreciate your positive feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is an up-to-date hotel that has kept its old-world charm. I've stayed here twice recently. One time was a family reunion for 25 people of all ages (including babies), and the location and the staff care could not have been better. That includes front desk, bar and restaurant. The interior lobby has the charm you'd be hoping for if you see the outside, yet the rooms seem to have been remodeled recently and are very nice. In addition, the price is reasonable for all that. Definite recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesStFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for submitting your wonderful review about our great location and old-world charm! We appreciate your repeat business and promise to constantly improve each time you come back. We are glad you noticed our improvements and were well taken care of by our hotel staff and Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar staff. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Clean, big rooms, a friendly staff and a great price makes this a great place to stay downtown. We particularly loved the bar - a cozy space with a fantastic bartender (who knows his local brews!), he made our low key night a perfect one. It's not a swanky place, but it's comfortable and cheery. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your positive comments about our oversized and clean guestrooms, friendly staff, great prices and fantastic Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar! We are glad to be part of your perfect night and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Front desk staff were soooo friendly and it was well staffed with professional looking, knowledgable people. Couldn't believe the rooms were updated AGAIN (it seems like it was just last year that they were remodeled, now they also have a new dresser complete with a mini fridge). The only hiccup was security. We stayed on New Years Eve and book poolside rooms to allow several families to celebrate together and security wanted to close down the pool area at its regular weeknight time. Seriously?

Other than that no complaints other than paying $8 for parking. We feel this should be included in the price of the room. And we sure would prefer queen sized beds.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillK-MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our friendly and professional front desk staff and updated guestrooms! We apologize for the hiccup with security but I understand that we did make the proper time adjustment for the pool area on New Year's Eve. Our $8 parking rate is the lowest priced for downtown hotels and we do this to ensure guests that do not park a vehicle still get the most affordable hotel rates. Overall, thank you for your positive comments and thank you for bringing in the New Year at The Normandy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Though the location is located on a difficult downtown oneway once in the hotel we were greeted with friendly hotel staff and an upgrade on our room which we booked through priceline. We were only there for one night but I would have lived to stay longer and take in the downtown shops and restaurants nearby. Clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyceW50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your positive comments about our clean and comfortable hotel, perfect location, and friendly staff! Next time you stay with us I recommend The Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar located right on site for fantastic classic comfort foods! Thank you again for posting your positive review and we hope to be of service to you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estherville, Iowa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was a very nice hotel and located nicely downtown Minneapolis but we were disappointed when the free shuttle failed to show up to take us to the Target Center for a concert. The front desk clerk did call us (and another couple) a cab to split (which the other couple paid $5 and we paid $15) but I was expecting him to say the hotel would pick up the cab fare because of their failure to provide the service. I understand there was a holiday parade downtown and the shuttle, more than likely, got caught in traffic but they hotel should have planned better and set a departure time vs. "just let us know when you want to leave".

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank MillHouse17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to downtown Minneapolis! I'm glad that overall you enjoyed our wonderful location and beautiful hotel! I understand your frustration about our complimentary shuttle service and hope you understand that these were extenuating circumstances due to traffic being blocked for the parade. For future travelers I would suggest giving extra lead time to avoid such situations. For the inconvenience I have credited the parking fee back to your account. Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and I hope you have a chance to come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Millennium Minneapolis
#14 of 49 in Minneapolis
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Address: 405 South 8th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing