We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Located at the edge of downtown, a low rise tudor buiding with good facilites & very helpful, friendly staff. Pleasant sitting area in front of fireplace. Milk & fresh chocate cookies at 10 pm. Pool & hot tub area being completely renewed. Even liked the owner!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We are glad that you enjoyed our inviting lobby, friendly staff, fresh baked chocolate chip cookies and milk and being able to meet our innkeeper. We are also really excited to open our completely renewed pool and atrium area which is on schedule for December 27th! Thank you for your kind comments on Tripadvisor and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

980 - 986 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. We come to watch the Monster Jam. Both times we had a great experience! Very clean, friendly staff, quiet rooms just everything overall is great. I love the cookies and milk in the evening! Great little touch that's makes it home feeling. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jasmine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We are glad you enjoyed the Monster Truck show at the Metrodome and are happy to hear you will be returning in the near future! We appreciate your kind comments about our clean guestrooms, friendly staff, quiet and comfortable environment, and warm chocolate chip cookies and milk that are served nightly. We look forward to being of service to you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Always have been satisfied with Best Western before so were surprised this was so bad. No hot water, dirty towels, room was filthy,trim falling off door, cold room service,hassle at check in, they ran out of cookies in lobby,poor elevator signage, facet in bathroom broken, toilet didn't flush. One good thing was a comfortable bed and walking distance to Nicolette Mall area. Was a nightmare stay really!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennifertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

It was definitely disappointing reading your review of our property. The Normandy Inn & Suites has a long tradition of providing comfortable and clean guestrooms while serving some of the best food Minneapolis has to offer. After inspecting the room you occupied I found items that did not meet our lofty standards and others that were unfounded. With so many negatives listed we wish that you had mentioned these items to us during your stay so we could have corrected the problems. If you would like to discuss the issues in more detail to me directly I can be reached at 612.370.1400 ext. 504 or jjuza@bestwesternnormandy.com. We hope you give The Normandy Inn another chance so we can provide you with a truly great stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I brought my teenage daughter and her friend to the twin cities for a concert. The 4 hour drive turned into 6 hours due to a snowstorm in Minneapolis. When we arrived, we were all tired and stressed! We pulled into a covered parking lot which was nice in the snow. When we walked in we enjoyed the beautiful decorations and old fashioned decor. The common areas were immaculate! The staff greeted us and treated us as if we were family. From the front desk guys to the restaurant staff, everybody went out of their way to treat us like honored guests. In fact, the front desk guy arranged for girls to be shuttled to and from the concert in the hotel van so I didn't have to brave the snowstorm getting them there! We were also upgraded to a suite "because we were such nice folks". The room was BEAUTIFUL, comfortable, and well appointed! And oh.my.god. The food!!!! Everything we ate was amazing!!!! Seriously the hotel restaurant was de-lish!!!. I don't have any reason to go back to downtown Minneapolis but I am going to find a reason! Book it!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amykunzfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! It was such a pleasure reading your review and knowing that our staff took such great care of you! We are glad you enjoyed our lovely hotel and fabulous Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar! We will look forward towards your next visit where we hope to WOW you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed at The Normandy recently as a family Medical emergency brought me to Minneapolis.
The hotel, service, accommodations and all the staff were most helpful and caring. The shuttle service was very handy and available when needed. They also have an excellent restaurant on site.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your positive comments about our hotel accommodations, helpful staff, shuttle service and fantastic Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar! We hope that next time you get to visit it is not for a medical emergency but to enjoy some of the wonderful attractions Minneapolis has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Staff was great, Room and bed was comfortable. Shuttle was handy and available when we needed it. We stayed at the Normandy for a week. The Normandy has a nice pool AND milk and warm cookies at 10 PM!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Duane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We are glad you enjoyed our friendly and professional staff, comfortable beds, large indoor pool, complimentary shuttle service and fresh baked chocolate chip cookies and milk each night at 10pm! We hope you have a chance to come stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Normandy has been in this location for more than 60 years. Although they have shuttle service, you could walk anywhere in downtown Minneapolis. I hope they never change. Be sure you try the popovers at the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank JohnMNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We are glad you enjoy our rich tradition as The Normandy Inn has been Inn Keeper to Downtown Minneapolis since 1925 and The Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar has been serving timeless classic comfort foods since 1941! Still with the original recipe our popovers attract satisfied customers from around the world! Thank you for posting your kind comments on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Millennium Minneapolis
#15 of 52 in Minneapolis
793 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#16 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,505 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites

Address: 405 S 8th St, Minneapolis, MN 55404-1026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: $110 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing