We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Allen Park
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Front desk staff are very helpful. Have shuttle service to various places downtown also to and from Viking games. Try and avoid rooms facing the church on sundays bells start tolling at 7a.m. Elevators by parking are a little scary because of noise they make. There is plenty of parking. The downside of parking is spaces are a bit tight and only have 3 handicap parking spot. Room was nice. Beds are comfortable. Black out window shade definitely a plus. Had cookies and milk at night from 10:00 to 10:20 which was awesome. When me and my family come back to check out new stadium we'll be staying here. It's about 6 block walk to stadium. Mall of america is about at 10 minute drive. I would like to Thank hotel staff for being helpful!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dragon175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your feedback and submitting your review on Tripadvisor. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we were very helpful! We have already taken care of the elevator issue so I am glad you brought that to our attention. We hope to see you again soon and thank you again for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    383
    89
    37
    31
See reviews for
286
264
88
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schofield, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel is fantastic. You can't get a better deal for your money with all of the amenities they offer. Beware though parking there costs $7 and if you aren't looking under the amenities list, you will miss it. The parking fee should be included in the cost of the room and not added as an extra fee. Also if you want breakfast on a Sunday morning, you're better off ordering early or you will be told to wait 45 minutes to eat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your comments and I would like to share with you that we have the most reasonable parking rates of any downtown hotel. We feel it is important to charge for parking separately so the consumer that does not park can still get the best value. Our fantastic Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar provides great classic menu items all prepared from scratch with usually little wait time. I can only assume that this was a busy Vikings football sunday were the demand was very high. Overall, thank you for calling us "Only Place to stay downtown" and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River, MN
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel while attending an event in Minneapolis. The hotel is in a good location for downtown activities. They have a free shuttle that will run you around, and a parking lot with a 7.00 for 24 hour fee. The hotel itself is very clean. The rooms are beautiful, and the beds are really nice!! I would definitely stay here again, and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonable hotel in downtown Minneapolis.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CWolff49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you very much for the 5 star review! Your gracious comments will really help future travelers find the right fit for them. Whether you are looking for a great location, convenient shuttle service, reasonable parking fees, or clean and beautiful rooms, you will find it all at The Best Western Plus Normandy Inn & Suites! Thank you again for your kind review and we hope to be of service to you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

this hotel has the feel of a classy hotel that I entered as a child. the feel is a bit dated yet nice. pool and a bar. filtered water by the ice machine to fill the carafe in your room. not bad at all. I like the idea of the cookies and milk offered at 10pm each night but i think i shall be asleep before then.

Room Tip: stay on the 4th floor so you are not too close to the street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinIrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your review of us as a "classy" hotel as our motto is "Timeless, Classic & Comfortable". We hope you have a chance to come visit us again soon and that next time you can stay awake for our freshly baked cookies and milk which are worth the wait!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very nervous, never stayed at a Best Western, surprised. Staff was excellent. Convenient and clean. I am picky and I would recommend, great value for the price. The rooms have been redone, carpets clean, linens fresh. Very pleased.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for revealing our beautiful secret to our fellow tripadvisor readers! I am so happy that you were pleased with your stay. We are glad that you selected us and hope you have a chance to come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The location of this hotel is very convenient. Close to many restaurants, Macy's, Target field, market stalls. All accessible by walking. They have free night snacks with yummy chocochip cookies and milk at lobby. The room is spacious, the bed is very comfortable. I like the best is their blanket, very soft and silky feeling. Staffs in this hotel are very polite and greeted us whenever they see us. The hotel also provide with purify water machine and ice vending machine, and it is free!
Shuttle services provided. Nice gym room and pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jiajiabinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your wonderful compliments on our location, cookies and milk, comfortable and spacious rooms, gym, pool, shuttle, purified water and our polite staff. It was a pleasure being of service to you and we hope you have a chance to come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Downtown Minneapolis - close to games & close to lots of other amenities!!! CLEAN & GREAT service!! Also, had a shuttle service available to the Twins games - very helpful staff that gave us a ride!! LOVE this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brooke Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! It is great to hear that you enjoy our hotel so much! We hope that you have a chance to come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Millennium Hotel Minneapolis
#12 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 572 reviews
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#13 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Address: 405 S 8th St, Minneapolis, MN 55404-1026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing