We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“GOOD CHOICE FOR DOWNTOWN MINNEAPOLIS” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
409 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
“GOOD CHOICE FOR DOWNTOWN MINNEAPOLIS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for three nights as part of a 6-State Road Trip and consider to have been a very good choice. We had a two queen suite which was very spacious with the vanity unit in the bedroom, separate to the shower and toilet and a good sized lounge with kitchenette. The staff where all friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home. Every evening at 10 p.m. they serve freshly baked chocolate chip cookies and cold milk, which was a nice touch and seemed very popular. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant on the first morning but it worked out pretty expensive ($64) for the four of us and given the basic room price being comparatively high I think they should give a better rate for guests. We chose to eat elsewhere for the remaining mornings and found much better value and quality outside. There was a decent guest laundry at only $1.50 for both the washing machines and the dryers. There is a small gym with two treadmills and other items of eqpt and the indoor pool is excellent with some rooms opening on to it, in a covered Atrium. Location wise there is not a lot directly around the hotel but within five minutes you will start to come across bars and restaurants though it is a good 15-20 minute walk to the main areas of Nicollet Mall and Hennepin Ave. The hotel car park costs $7 per 24 hrs with unlimited in/out privileges but you can park directly across from the hotel for free from 6 pm to 8 am. I concur with previous reviews regarding strange smells in the foyer and the second floor corridor strangely smelled like a buger joint for the duration of our stay but the room itself was thankfully fresh smelling. If you have the time, walk down to the river and across the pedestrian bridge to Saint Anthony (1.5-2 miles) where there are a couple of great neigbourhoods with restaurants, delis and bars. All in all this is still a good choice for downtown Minneapolis as it is reasonably priced compared to other downtown hotels though still quite expensive at $541 for three nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We are glad you were able to enjoy all the amenities we offer and found us to be the most reasonably priced hotel in the downtown area. Thank you for your informative review and we hope to see you again soon at The Normandy Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    407
    96
    38
    32
See reviews for
308
281
93
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Normandy hotel was so convenient for walking to any of the downtown Minneapolis areas. Buses and trains are also very close by. Bed was very comfortable. Front desk staff were very helpful with maps and suggestions. Plenty of convenient paid parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ljm49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baie
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Ideal location for this nice hotel which also has a swimming pool and a hot tube for those who have some time. The staff is extremely efficient, kind and very helpful. We had a small technical problem which was solved immediately. Nothing to complain about in this hotel. Just bear in mind that breakfast is not included but there are may possibilities to grab something at reasonable price around. Don t hesitate, go to this hotel very centrally located if you stay in Minneapolis. Light train is nearby too, which is also very practical to go to the airport or the mall of America.

Room Tip: There are rooms on the ground floor with a direct access to the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We are pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations and all The Normandy has to offer! Next time for breakfast I would encourage you to try out the timeless and classic menu The Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar have to offer. They will not disappoint! Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stay in a suite, and the room was huge and very clean. The location is great, close to convention center. Also they have a shuttle that dropped you off at the convention center. They need improve on their customer service. Staff is not the very friendly. I understand it was a busy time, as several convention were going. However, no one ever greeted me. Also My room was not ready at 3pm. I ask to actually move to my room a few minutes, early since I had a conference call to take. However, I feel like since I asked my room was purposely delay. The lady I spoke with was very rude when I made the request to check in few minutes ahead of check in time. She never apologize or try to do anything to accommodate me so I could have some private to take my 3pm call.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taliea25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, shuttle service and location, however, I am very troubled to hear about your customer service experience. Our staff is very friendly and will always go above and beyond to meet our guests needs. If you would like to discuss this matter more you can contact Jeff directly at 612.370.1400. I hope you will give us another chance to provide you with the customer service experience you deserve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ash, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The enbience of the motel was great, and beautiful. The staff was excellent. The rooms were clean and quiet. The staff would do anything they could for you. We would definately recommend this motel to anyone who might ask.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank billy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! Your positive comments and recommendation are very important to us. We look forward to being of service to you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

My fiancee and I traveled to Minneapolis in early August for a short vacation. We had booked our stay through one of the popular travel sites that offer discounts. We thought that we had booked a single king room. However, when we showed up to the hotel, the only room that they had available was one with two queens. Apparently, the booking site that we used lied to us and there was not a single king room available during at least one of the days. The staff was wonderful in working with us and accomodated us for the remainder of our stay (sans night one) with a wonderfully comfortable king suite! Additionally, we used the hotel's shuttle service to go to a Twins game and it was wonderfully convenient. The hotel is in a great location for walking to places like Nicollet Mall and the light rail stop is only a few blocks away, which provides access to the Mall of America. Overall, the hotel was comfortable, though we did have a very noisy neighbor on night one, which management took care of promptly. I would definitely stay there again, and would recommend it to others!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AP-Squared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with us on Tripadvisor! I am so glad that we were able to make things right with your room type and noisy neighbor. We really appreciate your positive comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I made last minute reservations to stay the night for our Anniversary! We were greeted with a CONGRATULATIONS!!!! The room we were supposed to get got trashed from the guests the prior night so we were moved to another room and given a discount!!!! The staff was fantastic and couldn't have been more helpful!!!! Thank You Again and can't wait to come visit again!!!

Room Tip: The corner suites are very spacious and clean!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cortney c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! I love to hear stories of when our front desk goes above and beyond what you would expect from your average hotel. Thank you for sharing your review with us and we can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#15 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#9 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Address: 405 South 8th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing