We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“I avoided a disaster!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I avoided a disaster!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Horrible! This hotel should not be representing Best Western. I cannot express how horrible their management is. I thankfully booked online and cancelled within their policy. I had booked a king bed on May 4, 2013 for my stay on Sunday June 23. I checked online this morning and noticed it had been changed to 2 queen beds. I called the hotel directly and was told the hotel is 100% booked and there is nothing they can do. I was informed it was central reservations who can do something. I called them and they told me they didn't and they finally called the hotel and fixed it. To my surprise they did in fact have a king bed available. However dealing with Joe the "manager" he failed to send me any confirmation of a king bed. I finally decided to cancel my reservation because I was charged more for king bed. Let me remind you that I booked one from the beginning. I never dealt with such lack of professionalism. I also filed a report with BW corporate. Not only did they fail to assure a prompt and correct solution to a problem, but they tried to over charge me. Nice try. Good thing I avoided a disaster!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank PKPLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocodemus, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Reader and Welcomed Guests,

Please accept our apologies for this review. It is deceiptful and intentionally malicious. This guest contacted the hotel prior to arriving to confirm his reservation which had been made on-line. We received the reservation for a room with 2 queen beds, though he believed he'd reserved a room with a king-size bed. We obligingly changed the reservation to a king room. This reviewer became extremely agitated over this matter, and engaged in a series of hostile acts, including this scathing but false review. We are working with TripAdvisor to have it removed.

We look forward to being of service on your upcoming visit to Minneapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    390
    91
    37
    31
See reviews for
296
274
91
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stonewall Manitoba
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We arrived at hotel Furst impression needs overhall for lobby , very pungent odor .

The staff were friendly , and the rooms were adequate . Not your usual best western no coffee in the morning or continental breakfast. Restaurant very pricey and not all that great. The staff though again were very friendly . Good shuttle to the concert at target center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murchlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! I'm glad you enjoyed our friendly and professional staff as well as our complimentary shuttle to the Target Center! I'm sorry that your first impression was unpleasant as this is a rare comment that I will be sure to investigate and do whatever necessary to improve. I encourage you on your next visit to give The Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar another chance as we offer gourmet coffees and a menu full of classic comfort foods at a reasonable price. Thank you again for posting your comments on Tripadvisor and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a large tour group

The hotel is located within an easy 10 minute walk to the main mall of shops and is close to public transport. Wifi throughout the hotel. Pool and spa which my husband enjoyed. Our room was spacious, the beds were comfortable with lots of pillows. and the toiletries smelt great!

We had two 2 meals in the restaurant area and 1 in the bar area. All were of a very high standard (best ceasar salad I've had in a while) and were reasonably priced. My husband enjoyed the range of beers on offer.

All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of The Normandy Inn and The Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar. We are very proud of the high standards we have set for ourselves and appreciate the positive feedback! It is always a pleasure to service large tour groups that travel through and I am glad you enjoyed yourself! We hope to see you again soon and I will ensure you that our standards will always remain top notch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel was a total surprise. I was VERY impressed to say the least!
I was in town for a conference and didn't want to stay at the pricey host hotel.
This hotel was 1/2 the price and totally worth it.
I took the light rail to Government Plaza and the hotel was a 10 min walk. Check in was very quick. My room had a king size bed with plenty of room to walk around. It was very clean. The bathroom was large and the water was hot and I have to say for tap water it was one of the best!
Great toiletries. Fast free internet. The restaurant staff was very pleasant and the prices were very reasonable. You can get anywhere in the city from here. This hotel is a gem. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Just stay here is the best tip of all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvmybasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our hotel! Being a family owned business we do not feel the need to price gouge during the larger conventions. Our goal is to always provide a superior product at an excellent price. Thank you for making note of our great location, wonderful staff, spacious rooms, free internet and fantastic Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar! It was a pleasure reading your positive comments and we hope to see you again soon at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My room was very nice, clean, and comfortable. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. My only concern was the shuttle drivers.

These comments concern the morning driver on the two days of my stay who drove myself and others to the convention center. Between the two days, he ran 2 red lights, turned left on a no left turn light, and honked and actually sped up when some pedestrians were crossing against the light, mind you, but he sped up as they ran out of the way,. Even another passenger commented on how appalling this was. He drove way too fast around the corners that we all had to hold on from falling off the seats. A woman got on the shuttle the second day with a large piece of luggage and he offered zero help.

On the first day I was there, I called at 4pm for the shuttle to pick me up at the convention center. I was told 10-15 minutes. At 4:20 I called again, and was told the driver was just leaving. By this time, 4 others had joined me at 'C' in front of the convention center to wait for the shuttle. At 4:35pm the shuttle drove right by us without stopping. I immediately called the hotel and asked if they could radio the driver to please turn right around and pick us up? I was told they were not allowed to radio the driver as it is a hazard of driving, and they would turn him around when he returned to the hotel. I was shocked as who doesn't have a blue tooth or speaker phone?? I explained I had been waiting 35 minutes already, and that would put it at least another 20 minutes. Needless-to-say, I decided to walk the 5 blocks back to the hotel, and of course beat the shuttle driver.

The second day I didn't bother calling for the shuttle to return me to the hotel.

Unfortunately these incidents defined my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review on Tripadvisor.com as your feedback is what makes us a better hotel. I'm glad that overall your stay was good but have become extremely alarmed at the actions of our shuttle driver. At the Normandy Inn & Suites our #1 concern is the safety of our guests. For any guest to feel uncomfortable with any of our services is unacceptable. I can guarantee immediate improvement with our complimentary shuttle so no guest has to feel unsafe again. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were first time visitors to the Minneapolis area, and after searching on-line decided on staying at the Normandy Inn for it's location near Target Field as well as the downtown location. I couldn't have asked for a better 3 night stay. The staff (especially Joe) went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed ourselves as well as offered us advice as far as tourist attractions to see, and little pubs / restaurants to try while in the area. My fiance and I are already talking about coming back this fall to catch another ball game. The bed was very comfortable, and the room we had, had a great view of the downtown. The cookies at 10:00 are a wonderful little touch as well. All in all, a great trip that I can't wait to duplicate. Hats off to the staff at the BW Normandy Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to downtown Minneapolis! I'm glad we could make your first visit to Minneapolis a memorable and enjoyable time. Your kind words about our wonderful location, great staff, comfortable beds, and delicious cookies are very welcomed. It was a pleasure being of service to you and we look forward to doing it again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
401 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Wonderful room and service. Free shuttle to downtown events. Very quiet and comfortable - definitely a place we will stay again!!! And the warm chocolate chip cookies were AWESOME at 10 pm! Parking was very convenient. We didn't use the pool or spa - but very clean and comfortable looking.

Room Tip: We had a King room . . . but it was a suite - fabulous. Not sure what other options are available. V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms. Our wonderful location, complimentary shuttle, free cookies, convenient parking and superior service is like no other in downtown Minneapolis! Thank you for your fantastic review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Millennium Hotel Minneapolis
#11 of 50 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Address: 405 S 8th St, Minneapolis, MN 55404-1026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing