We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms at low price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is the second time in a few months we've stayed at the Normandy Inn. On both occasions we had newly redocorated rooms which were extremely nice. We had a two room suite which was lovely. Parking is inexpensive and convenient. The adjoining restaurant is handy for grabbing breakfast before you hit the road.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkm49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocodemus, Owner at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for selecting The Best Western Normandy Inn and Suites as your preferred hotel in Minneapolis. We're delighted you found everything to your liking. We'll keep the Normandy Inn as the best hotel value in Minneapolis. Our rooms have recently been re-designed and appointed with the most current finishes and ammenities, though we offer a price that's as much as 50% lower than other hotels in our downtown area.

We look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,139 - 1,145 of 1,396 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel is showing its age a bit. Our room was comfortable and the staff was friendly. Located three blocks from a Metro stop, it was easy to get to and from the airport and the mall without a vehicle. Our room was spacious and clean. Beware that they charge extra for parking if you have a vehicle.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoBlueSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

very impressed with this place. I was attending a conference in the Hilton, which was much more expensive to stay in (and looked so dated). The Best Western is really nicely designed (like a ski chalet), the rooms enormous. The staff are very helpful, and there is free wifi (unlike so many more expensive hotels!). If ever back in Minneapolis, will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinbaum46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This place is great! The staff are awesome and the rooms are clean and nice. Need something just ask and they will get it. You do have to pay more for breakfast but they have milk and cookies each night which is a nice snack. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Normandy is in an excellent location downtown. Although within walking distance of many attractions in Minneapolis, they offer a free shuttle to places like the convention center. Johan drove me where I needed to go, was very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself was clean, the rooms were large, and the hot tub and pool were fantastic. Joe at the front desk was so incredibly helpful. I had several needs that needed to be met (including guests arriving at different times with specific needs) and he was friendly and extremely helpful. He went above and beyond to make sure that my stay was pleasant. Milk and cookies at 10 PM were great too!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

This was a nice hotel. Better than I expected. We stayed for a concert at the Target Center and they offered a shuttle. That was really nice. Parking was on $7. A lot less than most places. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trip1mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is located directly between two prison release half way houses and one homeless shelter. This hotel has NO security system, NO exterior key card entries, nor a video surveillance system.
During a recent stay, my property was stolen from my room (by a intruder) while the houskeeper was cleaning the room. The hotels insurance company "The Hanover Insurance Co." denied my claim. They stated the hotel was not liable.
Do not stay here and definitely do not leave loved ones or propery at this hotel.
If you must stay here- Refuse daily maid service.

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocodemus, Owner at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

I am very sorry for the loss of your laptop computer during your stay at the Normandy. We do not know the circumstances involved in it's disappearance. Regardless, this is a loss and great inconvenience to you. Unfortunately, we cannot "un-do" what has happened. Of course, we removed all hotel charges as a gesture of goodwill, as we discussed prior to your departure.

I understand you are frustrated and angry bout the theft of your laptop. However, several comments in your review are not accurate. The Normandy is not located near prison release halfway houses, and we do have security systems that include audio-visual controlled entrances and nightly security personnel. We are in a safe downtown neighborhood surrounded most immediatelt by highrise office buildings, apartments and a historic church.

Again, I am very sorry for the theft of your laptop during your stay at the Normandy. Theft from our hotel is extremely rare, and we have never experienced a laptop theft from a hotel room prior to this incident, Certainly your experience gives us pause to consider what happened and make changes as nescessary. At the same time, I confidently welcome guests to the Normandy Inn & Suites where everone will experience a safe hotel with appropriate security systems in a safe downtown neighborhood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Millennium Minneapolis
#15 of 52 in Minneapolis
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
University / Dinkytown
Ramada Plaza Minneapolis
Ramada Plaza Minneapolis
#24 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites

Address: 405 S 8th St, Minneapolis, MN 55404-1026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: $103 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing