We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in great location”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed there while attending concert in downtown Minneapolis. Room was clean, modern and spacious. Staff were friendly and hotel had nice layout. Only complaint was $7 charge for parking that gets assigned to your credit card (I'm sure it's in the fine print somewhere but staff could also mention it to avoid a surprise).

They also provided a shuttle from Hotel to Target Center...much appreciated!

Room Tip: Rooms near pool area looked like fun spot but were all taken when we arrived.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AJames24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    431
    100
    38
    31
See reviews for
338
291
99
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on 27 and 28 September 2012 on a Cosmos bus tour from New York to Los Angeles. We loved this place with its old style elegance at an affordable price. It feels like a well maintained boutique hotel, not part of any chain. We had a large, well appointed room with two double beds, and everything worked well.
We spent some time just sitting in the lobby and other public areas just soaking up the atmosphere. There is a nice indoor pool with an atrium, and there is a small freezer cabinet in the reception area stocked with fruit juice, yoghurt etc, so we didn't have to go out to buy drinks and snacks.
We would stay here again and spend more time exploring the downtown area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Stickman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Normandy Inn is part of the Best Western chain, but it has the feel of an independent boutique hotel. Housed in a lovely old building, the charm is apparent from the moment you enter the lobby. Little touches (like an umbrella stand full of umbrellas to borrow) are everywhere.

Our suite was amazing; a spacious living room with kitchenette, desk, sofa/chair grouping and TV was well-separated from the bedroom by a hallway with a European-design bathroom (commode and shower separate from sink/vanity), which allowed my husband to stay up later and watch TV/surf the web while I fell asleep in the comfortable queen-sized bed. The decor and fixtures were elegant but extremely utilitarian; the space overall was very well-planned to allow two people to function fully without bumping into each other. It was almost a mini-apartment!

We especially thank Joey at the front desk during our check-in; he was very solicitous and helpful. (Do ask about any possible rate discounts. You'll never know unless you ask!) All the staff was fabulous, and ready to answer any question at a moment's notice.

The location of the Normandy Inn is only 10 minutes' walk from Nicollet Mall and Hennepin Avenue, and there are great restaurants on the way (we loved eating at Key's at the Foshay). The new light rail system is only four blocks away, and will whisk you to Minnehaha Falls and other suburban sights.

The only down side is that no breakfast is offered with the room, but having the kitchenette made things easy; we just walked down to Target on Nicollet and bought provisions for our stay. There is a restaurant on-site, but we never ate there. Minneapolis has two many other wonderful restaurants downtown!

Parking at $7.00 per day was the best deal we found downtown, and once we parked our car, we could really walk anywhere in the downtown area within 15 to 20 minutes.

If you're interested in worry-free relaxation while you explore the vibrant downtown of Minneapolis, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building (a "1" as the second digit, e.g., room 314). This gave us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Only stayed one night, since I arrived in Minneapolis for a conference, so we got a discounted conference rate
unfortunately the room was booked late and had to spit the stay between two hotels, and so we booked this for 1 night and the second hotel the remainder of the conference. So did not stay long enough to give in depth comments, just a superficial overview...
The hotel is an easy walk from the train station that comes from the airport (stop nicollet mall)
so that was quite convenient.
Arrived at the hotel, and the staff were nice. The receptionist asked if I minded being changed rooms from one with two queen beds to one with a king bed.
I said that was fine, I had a separate room with sofa, TV, etc in addition to the one in my bedroom, and a small "kitchen corner" as shown on the website, my room looked just like the pictures, and everything was spotlessly clean. This hotel is a few mins further from the convention centre than the second one I ended up staying in, which was connected by skywalk, But they did also offer a shuttle service, which although the distance was walkable, I think this would be necessary once it gets colder. Individual heating and temperature control in the room, which i think is pretty normal in this part of the world. so the room was a comfortable temperature.
Spotlessly clean.
Only fault I saw with the room was that there was coffee in the room, but could not see any milk anywhere (if I was staying more than one morning would have requested, but rushing out the door early in the morning I did not have time to ask, and had coffee with my breakfast in the restaurant)
breakfast was ok but could have been better, the food was a bit too greasy for my liking.
Overall was quite happy with the hotel, clean, spacious, and reasonable value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ms_Vasco_Pyjama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madsen
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights while watching the Twins play baseball. Excellent location. Once we parked that was it, the truck didn't move again. Who ever recruited their staff deserves a bonus as everyone from the front desk clerk, waiters, cleaning crew, to the bartenders were top drawer. The room was clean, quiet, + the beds comfortable. Downtown Minneapolis is safer than downtown Winnipeg, MB. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marsfield, wi
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is my second stay at the Normandy Inn. It is in the heart of downtown with easy access to everything. We stayed there'd for an event at the University of Minnesota. Other guests were there for the Twin Cities Marathin, US Open Racquetball championships at the Target Center or a Vikings game. We also walked 4 blocks to the Nicolette Mall for shopping.
The staff is so friendly. The parking is in the back and only $7. My favorite touch is the warm chocolate chip cookies served with mild in the evening. There was a longer line for that than I've ever seen at other hotels Happy Hours. There is a pool and hot tub enclosed under a plexiglass roof so it seemed as though you were outside, although the temp was better!
My only nit picky complaints were the scratchy toilet paper and somewhat hard pillows.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool, so it w like looking at a pleasant outdoor garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillpickle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollar Bay, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were looking for a hotel in the downtown area that was nice but affordable and The Normandy was a good fit. It's location allowed us to walk to nearby shopping and restaurants and the hotel also provided a free shuttle to the Twins game only 8 blocks away. It's an older hotel with a classic decor. We found it charming. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theYooperGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Millennium Minneapolis
#14 of 49 in Minneapolis
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Address: 405 South 8th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Best Western, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing