We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice room good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“nice room good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Only stayed one night, since I arrived in Minneapolis for a conference, so we got a discounted conference rate
unfortunately the room was booked late and had to spit the stay between two hotels, and so we booked this for 1 night and the second hotel the remainder of the conference. So did not stay long enough to give in depth comments, just a superficial overview...
The hotel is an easy walk from the train station that comes from the airport (stop nicollet mall)
so that was quite convenient.
Arrived at the hotel, and the staff were nice. The receptionist asked if I minded being changed rooms from one with two queen beds to one with a king bed.
I said that was fine, I had a separate room with sofa, TV, etc in addition to the one in my bedroom, and a small "kitchen corner" as shown on the website, my room looked just like the pictures, and everything was spotlessly clean. This hotel is a few mins further from the convention centre than the second one I ended up staying in, which was connected by skywalk, But they did also offer a shuttle service, which although the distance was walkable, I think this would be necessary once it gets colder. Individual heating and temperature control in the room, which i think is pretty normal in this part of the world. so the room was a comfortable temperature.
Spotlessly clean.
Only fault I saw with the room was that there was coffee in the room, but could not see any milk anywhere (if I was staying more than one morning would have requested, but rushing out the door early in the morning I did not have time to ask, and had coffee with my breakfast in the restaurant)
breakfast was ok but could have been better, the food was a bit too greasy for my liking.
Overall was quite happy with the hotel, clean, spacious, and reasonable value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ms_Vasco_Pyjama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    417
    98
    38
    31
See reviews for
318
285
95
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
madsen
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights while watching the Twins play baseball. Excellent location. Once we parked that was it, the truck didn't move again. Who ever recruited their staff deserves a bonus as everyone from the front desk clerk, waiters, cleaning crew, to the bartenders were top drawer. The room was clean, quiet, + the beds comfortable. Downtown Minneapolis is safer than downtown Winnipeg, MB. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marsfield, wi
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is my second stay at the Normandy Inn. It is in the heart of downtown with easy access to everything. We stayed there'd for an event at the University of Minnesota. Other guests were there for the Twin Cities Marathin, US Open Racquetball championships at the Target Center or a Vikings game. We also walked 4 blocks to the Nicolette Mall for shopping.
The staff is so friendly. The parking is in the back and only $7. My favorite touch is the warm chocolate chip cookies served with mild in the evening. There was a longer line for that than I've ever seen at other hotels Happy Hours. There is a pool and hot tub enclosed under a plexiglass roof so it seemed as though you were outside, although the temp was better!
My only nit picky complaints were the scratchy toilet paper and somewhat hard pillows.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool, so it w like looking at a pleasant outdoor garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillpickle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollar Bay, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were looking for a hotel in the downtown area that was nice but affordable and The Normandy was a good fit. It's location allowed us to walk to nearby shopping and restaurants and the hotel also provided a free shuttle to the Twins game only 8 blocks away. It's an older hotel with a classic decor. We found it charming. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theYooperGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed five nights recently at this charming hotel. It has clean, lovely rooms and superior, friendly staff. Very comfortable beds & pillows. Pool and hot-tub were very nice.

Dined at the Normandy Kitchen restaurant attached to the hotel (was once a speakeasy!). Delicious food & great service.

Transportation to & from the Convention Center was a wonderful perk.

Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaydee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Best Western Normandy is a great pick for a budget minded traveler the cost was great and location is good. Walking distance to some good restuants and bars. Parking at the hotel is very inexpensive compared to others in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mizztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I only stayed at this hotel overnight and didn't use many amenities, but the bed was comfortable, staff were nice and the parking was cheap, which is a plus for downtown. I'd stay here again, but prefer a location more in the heart of downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Millennium Minneapolis
#13 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Address: 405 South 8th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing