We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad for the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not Bad for the Price”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I only stayed at this hotel overnight and didn't use many amenities, but the bed was comfortable, staff were nice and the parking was cheap, which is a plus for downtown. I'd stay here again, but prefer a location more in the heart of downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    421
    100
    38
    31
See reviews for
325
287
96
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WINNIPEG
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This older, historic hotel offered a great price and location downtown. We loved the sitting area in our room. Our bathroom had been upgraded and our room included a fridge and microwave, as well. A great place to stay if visiting for a few days.

The hotel is very close to the Nicolett Mall area and many restaurants and bars. The hotel lounge is small, but friendly. The fitness room is very small and found in the basement of the hotel. Parking is reasonably priced for downtown. This Best Western does not offer a continental breakfast like many other BW's. Staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sitting areas: sofa bed and chairs. Ours was pool side and quite large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dakbail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coal Valley, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed at the Normandy for 9 days whiie participating in a Road Scholar program. My first encounter with Joseph, the manager, was when he opened the bottle of wine I brought from
home. The next morning he ran up several flights of stairs to find me a newspaper. My traveling companion ended up in the Emergency Room. It was dark when I left the hospital.
I called the Normandy and it was Joseph who came to pick me up. I was greeted by name every day. I can't say enough about the service at the Normandy Inn. I may switch from Hilton to Best Western!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Overall, the hotel was pretty decent. I was a bit frustrated when we first arrived that the front desk did not tell how us how to get up to our room and there are different elevators to get to different parts of the same floor so that was somewhat frustrating. The parking there was very affordable ($7/day I think) and I enjoyed the location, it was easy to get to Univ of M and around the city. The internet code that was given to me was the old one so I had some trouble but once they gave me the correct code it was pretty consistent.
The biggest issue I had was that our room had a very distinct smell, almost like a nursing home. I tried to air the room one afternoon all day but it didn't solve the problem. You couldn't notice it once you were in the room for over an hour but every time you entered the room there would be this smell....never figured out what it could be. Otherwise the beds were comfortable, the place clean and the bathroom was fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a convention and we were actually moved to this hotel by a housing bureau. We were truly pleased with the friendly staff. Joe at the front desk took care of special requests and knew us by name. He had a great sense of humor and was very helpful with directions. Our various requests were handled quickly and courteously by all the staff. The rooms were clean and the warm chocolate chip cookies and cold milk at 10pm wwere a special treat. We would stay here again and it was one of the best stays we've had in Minneapolis for our yearly convention there.

Room Tip: it was nice to only have 4 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mhansencmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a review on our second stay here, which was identical to the first. This place is no frills, but our rooms have been very clean and the staff is always friendly and attentive. I would stay here again no doubt. We usually stay here when we can't get a cheap enough priceline last minute.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broncobuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This property is 4 easy blocks to the pedestrian mall, with $7 parking and great staff. The rooms were updated and large although the rest of the property was dated. Everything in and around the hotel was very clean. This hotel was great value and we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asc1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Millennium Minneapolis
#14 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Address: 405 South 8th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing