We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Downtown Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Whitefish, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice Downtown Hotel”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I spent one night at the Normandy on business. The staff was very helpful and my room was large and well maintained. I wasn't sure what i was going to get for the price, but i was very satisfied. We had a nice breakfast in the dining room before heading out. The next time I have business in downtown Minneapolis, i would stay at the Normandy again. Also, the hotel was very close to lots of great restaurants!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    439
    102
    39
    32
See reviews for
347
298
99
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Laurel, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two night in late August for a short, city getaway. We were guided to this hotel from the good reviews and reasonable price. Having been disappointed in hotels and resorts before, it is always an inside-joke kind of adventure when we go away and take a "chance" on a hotel where we don't have first hand recommendations. We were both very pleased with the location, price, and cleanliness of this hotel. We arrived much earlier than check-in and were able to quickly enter our room. The room was spacious and had a nice view of the indoor pool and hot tub. The hotel was quiet at night, and was conveniently located near a train stop and other tourist locations.
The only down side was that our air conditioner didn't pump as much cold air as are used to at home. Since we were only staying two nights, and weren't that bent out of shape about it, we decided not to complain. We are sure that, even if we did, they would have taken care of the problem. Another slight down side we had is more personal in nature and not the fault of the hotel. Liking a late night snack when traveling, there weren't many convenience stores within walking distance that would have provided a cheap pint of ice cream or pack of cookies. The was a Walgreens within about a 10 minutes walk from the hotel, but neither of us felt like "just seeing" if it were open late at night. There were snack and drink machines in the hotel, but for people who like to eat on vacation, they really weren't hitting home.
Overall, I would stay here again (and bring my own snacks!).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcgorbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I am a frequent business traveler (over 100 nights per year) and this is one of the better values in the downtown Minneapolis area. It's about $100 less than the other downtown hotels, mainly because (1) it's a bit out of the way from all the action (e.g. Nicolett Mall, Target Field, etc.), though still within walking distance, (2) it's old and (3) it's a Best Western.

Regarding the "old" comment - the hotel has been renovated so it does feel charming and historical. But the "oldness" still comes out sometimes - for example, there are 3 different elevators to 3 different sides of the hotel depending on which room you have.

The single occupancy rooms are what you would expect at a Best Western - a bit old and layed out like a motel. However, I now stay in the King Suite, which appear to be updated and new - for an extra $20 night, it's a far better deal.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dadofgirliegirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I was in town to meet my girlfriend's family for the first time and I was very happy and comfortable staying at the Normandy. The decor in the hotel is tudor style, and it kind of smells like a church given the amount of wood in the building. Like everything else in minneapolis, it is preserved incredibly well and evokes the sincerity of the city. The food at the restaurant was great and the chef and the bartender happily fielded special requests, room service was fast and efficient, fresh chocolate cookies served at 10pm were great, and the pool and hottub were a nice touch.

One piece of advice to the owner/manager, put curtains on the windows in the rooms facing the east. The sun can be like a laser burning through the shade in the morning. Other than that, the beds are comfortable, and the place is very clean. A great place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikepannone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I was going to be coming to Minneapolis for a 4 day weekend and the hotel I usually stay at was torn down. So I had to find a new hotel. The Clock tower of the hotel is something I saw from where I lived in downtown, And always wanted to stay there. SInce my stay this weekend I have found a new hotel to stay at. The Hotel in all is very charming. VERY nice rooms. We had an oversized room. Very NICE!! Didn't feel cramped. Was nice to have the Frig to keep things cold.Bathroom were so nice.. The beds are wonderfull. I usually have a hard time falling asleep at hotels because of the hard beds.These beds are nice!! Employyees were friendly and helpfull. Our phone wasn't working but after letting the front desk know it had been replaced when we got back that evening. I had read nice things about the Normandy Kitchen but thought it was expensive so didn't eat there. I know downtown pretty good so was able to find other places to eat. It is in walking distance to get on Public transportation.Didn't use the pool but looked very nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milady408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Located downtown west which was a plus. Found it comfortable and extremely reasonable rates. Room facilities more than adequate and comfortable. Would recommend for couples as well as families. Nicely situated for sightseeing around the city.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southlandrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I've stayed at The Normandy several times when making my way through the Twin Cities. Every time I check in, I ask myself if I've made a good decision in choosing the Normandy. I mean, it looks like it should reek of cigarette smoke and bourbon, but it doesn't. It seems like I should see polyester pantsuits at every turn, but I don't. For whatever reason, as funky as it is, the Normandy does it right.

I typically travel with my family, so I stay in the 1-bedroom suites. The beds are large and comfortable, and have a very homey, grandma's house feel to them. They somehow don't feel like a hotel bed, if that makes any sense. The sitting area is large enough to comfortably house my two kids, and the TV in both rooms is a huge plus.

For whatever reason, Minneapolis hasn't latched on to the boutique hotel craze (for better or for worse). Chambers is OK, but a little antiseptic. Graves seems like it's trying too hard, and really, it's too large to be considered "boutique" in the first place. So we are left with the Normandy. And that's not a bad thing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayonFog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Millennium Minneapolis
#14 of 49 in Minneapolis
733 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Address: 405 South 8th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing