We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service, would go back when I get a chance.”
Review of Merlins Rest

Merlins Rest
Ranked #238 of 1,817 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
Good for: Bar scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Saint Francis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Good food and service, would go back when I get a chance.”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

My brother invited me there for a beer and a bite and I was not disappointed. The food was good and the service was friendly. The structure and decor of the establishment lent a bit of the old world quality to the atmosphere. They were a little short staffed that night but that soon changed as the evening crowd gathered. For the money they gave generous helpings of each item on the menu that included traditional fare expected in a pub. The seating arrangements were comfortable but be prepared for the crowd. As I said before, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kurt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    24
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Pop over to a Great Local Pub - Merlins Rest”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Pints, whiskey and great food is found at this pub. It has the largest selection of single malt scotches and Irish whiskey of anywhere I know of in the Twin Cities. Classsic food from the British Isles fish & chips, cottage pie, cornish or vegetable pasty and of course bangers & mash. Plenty of choices to fill your gob.

I have been here several times and never disappointed. I love this place and for an hour or two it almost makes you feel like you are back in the mother country. It makes me think my friends from across the pond might just come walking through the door. Friendly staff, a wonderful Sunday Roast, huge booths, what else do you need to know? Just chuffed as nuts that this place is in the neighborhood. Go inside I think you will be surprised.

Check out their website for great music - Celtic open jam sessions, pipers, local musicians and bands. Oh and did I mention traditional pub quizzes?

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank just1backpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Convivial”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

A true British-style pub on Lake Street in Minneapolis. The food is basic and good. Their version of Irish stew is my usual. A good list of brews from England, Scotland and Ireland. Service can be a bit slow when the place is busy, but the staff is always friendly and helpful. This is a neighborhood and family pub with everybody from young kids to old folks to be found there. Lots going on, including sea shanty singing on the third Monday of each month.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alleyraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood bar”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Merlins is a comfortable neighborhood bar and restaurant. Not fancy but a great place to relax with friends and family, listen to live music and eat good food. The fish and chips are served Brit or Yankee style, Sunday roasts, great burgers, everything is tasty. Merlins has one of the largest & best whiskey selections in the Twin Cities. Good beer choices. However, if you want an alcoholic drink- bring your ID, everyone from 19 to 90 will be carded.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't go.”
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Service was lousy. I ordered fish and chips and they served it half frozen. It took over 15 minutes to find a waitress to complain to, and their fix was giving me something so over cooked it was glistening with oil and the batter had fallen off. To top it off it it gave me food poisoning. Trying to tell them this resulted in the suggestion that I not come back. I won't be back.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank metis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merlins Rest also viewed

 
 

Been to Merlins Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing