We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Almost as Good as Grand Ole Creamery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sebastian Joe's Ice Cream Cafe

Sebastian Joe's Ice Cream Cafe
Ranked #2 of 62 Dessert in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
161 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 746 helpful votes
“Almost as Good as Grand Ole Creamery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

When you arrive at Sebastian Joe's, the long line of customers provides visual assurance that this is one of the best super-premium ice cream parlors in the Twin Cities. While I give the edge to my hometown Grand Ole Creamery, Sebastian Joe's is a close #2 for me in the Twin Cities super-premium ice cream parlor competition. The ice cream is consistently rich and flavorful. The servers are spirited and quick with recommendations. The sidewalk talks a welcome respite on a warm summer evening. The selection is not as broad as GOC, but the taste and serving size will not disappoint. Price is $5 - $6 per person, depending on what you order. However, this is a small price to pay for such a delectable desert.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank STP1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    71
    24
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
404 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

A friend took us to this place in Linden Hills and we loved the
raspberry or mandarin ice cream with chocolate chips. Try it!
Great little shop.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank redramPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best ice cream around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We love Sebastian Joe's! It's a great summer go to spot for the whole family. The flavors are original and everything taste like it's REALLY homemade. They switch up the flavors a lot which is nice as some places don't do this as much. My favorite is the hand dipped waffle cone which is sooo yummy here, with whatever coffee flavored ice cream they have at the time. It's also nice to stop in for coffee as they have everything a coffee shop offers. We love to go and sit on the patio as it's gorgeous and the sidewalk is huge and very kid friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great ice cream, long line”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Anytime I've been here the line has been out the door, but the ice cream is way better than anywhere else. Izzi's is overpriced, but this stuff is worth the extra few bucks. The Nicollet Pot Hole (chocolate everything but covered in salted caramel) is a highlight!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ariel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
197 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Went with a bus load; speedy service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

30 of us on a bus coming back from a corporate event got a craving for ice cream. So at 10:15pm we roll up, got everyone through, and were back on the road 25 min later. The ice cream was fantastic (not hard frozen), waffle cone just right, but most impressive was the service!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Runpicu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sebastian Joe's Ice Cream Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sebastian Joe's Ice Cream Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing