We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Ena

Cafe Ena
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Ena is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 1,793 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: Latin, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 46th Street
Description: Chef/Owner Hector Ruiz welcomes you to Cafe Ena: A cozy intimate restaurant located in the tangletown neighborhood in south Minneapolis. Chef Ruiz pares his classic French technique and South American palate to present an exciting menu of Latin-Fusion cuisine. Begin your meal with a south american style ceviche, shrimp, fish, scallops and shrimp in a aji sauce. The many entrees include, scallops, halibut, pork tenderloin, Argentinean style steaks finished in a savory chimichurri. The wine list focuses on a wide range of varietals from Central and South America. Weekly Wine Flights are a great opportunity to sample the many styles offered on the list. If wine is not your thing, perhaps you would enjoy one of the many cervesas, always served in a frosty mug with a lime.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Solid Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great salads; the calamari was very lightly battered and fried with a perfectly seasoned spiciness. The pollo with cauliflower/black bean cake was delicious and tender. Sweet little place that is definitely a neighborhood gem.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ann06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    42
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely food in casual neighborhood setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We enjoyed friendly service and tasty food with fresh ingredients. The guacamole was mild, with a fun presentation and we really liked their twist on a caprese starter. It's an informal setting, but with food presentation like a gourmet restaurant. We'll be back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Swisscort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
71 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Recently went back to Cafe Ena (hadn't been there in quite some time) and had a great meal and excellent service. Went with my family of four and we started with the Guacamole and Sangrias. Guacamole was fresh, flavorful and we loved the presentation. The Sangrias were also good. We then had 3 fish entrees and one pork entree and they all were very good. My son had the flounder with potatoes and he said it was the best fish he has ever eaten - pretty much licked his plate clean! Ended with the churros and the cheesecake. The dessert wasn't the high point of the dinner but the rest of the meal made up for the lackluster desserts. Service was GREAT! We have had this server before and he really made for a nice evening for us. Thank you!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CKH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

My fiancee and I had a great dining experience at Cafe Ena. The atmosphere is lovely, and staff is friendly, very good service (especially for a busy night!) and the food was excellent.

We ordered the empanadas and the calamari for appetiziers. Empanadas were very authentic and some of the best we've ever had. The calamari was so-so. It was nicely cooked but nothing to write home about. For entrees, we ordered the sea bass dish and the red snapper dish. Both were beautiful presented, excellent flavor combinations, really beautiful dishes overall. My fiancee's fish (the red snapper) was cooked perfectly, it was so delicate and moist and absolutely amazing. Unfortunately, my striped sea bass was more than a little overcooked, and it was served on a bed of mashed potatoes (which were, themselves, delicious) but it made the dish taste kind of dry overall.

For beverages, we had sangria and also a really beautiful white wine on recommendation from our server (who was friendly and attentive) -- it paired perfectly with our entree choices.

We skipped dessert because we were SO full, but when we go back we'll try the churros. YES, we will go back! Would love to have given this place a full 5 stars, but the overcooked striped sea bass and the so-so calamari left a little room for improvement in our minds. Still, great little restaurant, definitely recommend checking it out!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sukhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

I've been to the restaurant a few times now--both for lunch and dinner. I like the ambiance and the "neighborhood place" feel. The food is interesting, well-prepared, and delicious. Love their homemade guacamole, their fish specials, their sangria. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Ena also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Cafe Ena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing