We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Minneapolis
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hugo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beyond our expectations”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary in downtown Mpls. like we do every year. We cannot afford the standard prices of hotels here so we try to find a deal on priceline. When our bid was excepted and saw that we were staying at The Westin I did a little dance, as I knew this was a top of line beautiful hotel. Now we only stayed one night and that was on a Sunday, which is a non busy day with most hotels. While checking in at the front desk I asked the gentleman if we could have a king size bed. He replied "certainly, and I've upgraded you to an executive suite" I was impressed he gave us an upgrade, especially when I only paid $55 for the night! Exceptional customer service all around. Our room was beautiful, the bed was comfortable and the shower was amazing. We were greeted by 3 gentleman while checking out and was asked about our stay. I told them our stay exceeded my expectations and everything was perfect. One of the men (manager I'm assuming) handed me his card and said that the next time we decided to stay in Mpls. to email him ahead of time and he'll see what he can do with getting us an exception room and an exception price. Wow - I love this place :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    326
    108
    58
    39
See reviews for
139
359
79
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
206 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

One of the best locations in the city, the Westin is walking distance to legendary First Avenue need night club, Target Center and Target Field, light rail, green bikes to scamper around the Mississippi River and all the other great spots in Minneapolis. If you haven't been to MPLS for awhile, you will be pleasantly surprised by the increase in public transportation! It's pretty easy to get to a lot of big attractions from The Westin without your car.
We had a handicapped room and the our needs were met with bars in the shower, but it is not a roll in, you have to step about 18". Room 1026, I think. No view at all, we looked into a skyscraper with one way windows. No continental breakfast, but "Bank" is a good restaurant in the lobby and Starbucks coffee in the room and a Bruggers Bagel Bakery across the street. They have "Bellboys" who help you in and out and get you a cab and have snappy uniforms.
The decor is modern, clean sharp lines. The lightning fixtures were interesting and vintage. Not a super kid friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
204 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had a great stay at this hotel from the check in point. We were greeted with a warm friendly front desk person, Michael. He upgraded our room due to our length of stay. Whenever we passed through the lobby, he greeted us and asked how things were. Very exceptional service! The location of the hotel is within walking distance of fine restaurants, local bars, and Target Field. Found the location to be extremely convenient. Great bar & lounge within hotel as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheritaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kopervik, Rogaland, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Westin is located Downtown Minnepolis at a perfect location for us. Just around the corner is a stop for the city-train which would take us to Mall of America and the AirPort. Our 9th floor room was greate, king bed in one part and a sitting room next to it. Good restaurant where we had dinner and breakfast. Very helpful and serviceminded people at the desk, bar and Restaurant.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible. Our corner room was great.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very good environmental policy - you can use your towles more then one day and so on.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oddw2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I stayed here for Business, but had my family stay for one night while my Wife and I went to the All Star game. The hotel was beautiful and very clean. Bed was super comfortable and I got a suite so it was extra big. No lounge which I didn't like, but as a platinum SPG they gave me an awesome gift of snacks in my room which was extra special and I really appreciated when I got home late. I would definitely stay at this hotel again as the staff was great and the hotel was perfect! Also had breakfast in the AM and that was also very good.

Room Tip: IF you can get a suite they are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bri&Suz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a corner room with lovely large windows on 2 walls. The bathroom was very nice sized with a large shower, beautiful glass and the option of turning on several streams of water from the front, rear and above. Parking for my full sized crew cab was $45 with the oversized surcharge.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Had to stay in Minneapolis for a concert at Target Field. Used valet parking, smooth as could be. Check in went smooth, no problems. Room was spacious and comfortable. Had drinks at the bar, drinks were overpriced but the service was good. Bed was comfortable and the rain shower, shower was killer. When we left, valet service had car at the front extremely fast. All in all was a nice stay, gorgeous building, good service, clean.. Overpriced but that's usual for the city. Nothing to make me shout "Wow, I can't wait to come back!", but pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#17 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Minneapolis

Property: The Westin Minneapolis
Address: 88 S 6th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1100
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transformed from Minneapolis's historic Farmers & Mechanics Bank building, The Westin Minneapolis will be your home to renewal in the Twin Cities. Located at the pulse of cosmopolitan Minneapolis, we are a short walk away from the best the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Westin Minneapolis
Minneapolis Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing