We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for downtown activities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Minneapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Minneapolis
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay for downtown activities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Westin was a great choice for us. We were in town for a Vikings game and enjoyed its location. It is also convenient proximity to a metro rail stop & on a cold night outside...that was super. We had booked the higher rate ahead of time with the ability to cancel. We had to cancel our Friday night stay & did so by the deadline. There were absolutely no hassles or glitches about that. We found our room well-stocked, things working great, comfortable, and quiet. The breakfast buffet was good and no problems. The staff was friendly and helpful. We used the valet service. We had a warm day & a cold day while in Minneapolis. Leaving on that cold day made the valet service well worth it. Not only front door service, but our car was nice and warm as we left. I love how the building was once a bank. You can envision how it may have been at one time. Take time to soak in its architecture details within the interior. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the 11th floor and found it very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janelle_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt T, General Manager at The Westin Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hi Janelle,

Thank you for the wonderful review. It was great to here you enjoyed our property!

I am glad you enjoyed our restaurant and our valet service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    297
    98
    49
    37
See reviews for
129
336
74
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Valet parking is $35 dollars, in four days here - not once, has a valet been anywhere to be found upon our arrival at the hotel. One of us must come into the hotel, trek to the front desk (truly a 1/2 block away from the valet door) and ask the front desk to page the valet. Then we wait. Upon complaining everyone tries to explain why we have to wait 10 minutes each time for the valet - it is a secure lot, it is 10 minutes away ... do I care? No, if I am paying $35/day for valet, I want a valet service.

Not once in at least four daily trips past the front desk has anyone looked at us, smiled or said hello. Yesterday as I approached the front desk, in clear sight, to request they find the valet, the desk person walked away going behind a locked "hotel personnel only" door leaving me stranded for another 5 minutes.

The TV's do not work on the treadmills and ellipticals. We are in a small two room suite. The building is so poorly insulated we need to keep the quilt like drapes closed obscuring the two walls of windows we should be able to enjoy. Bath amenities are the same as you would find at a Fairfield Inn. Separate living room area is tired.

We were here for our wedding, are both Platinum travelers, with multiple trips to MSP annually and this place is the worst downtown hotel we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt T, General Manager at The Westin Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Helen,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. The feedback you have provided regarding the valet, the front office staff and our fitness center is extremely disappointing to hear, but again appreciated. This information will be shared with our team to ensure it does not happen to a future guest. Please let me know if I can ever assist you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a weekend night, and it was absolutely wonderful. All of the staff were very cordial and welcoming. The room was clean. I enjoyed the minimalist style. The shower was amazing. The breakfast buffet was delicious!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt T, General Manager at The Westin Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Leah,

Thank you foe the wonderful review of our property!

I am glad you enjoyed our restaurant and we do have amazing showers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I can't say enough good things about the Westin! The lobby is amazing, the bar had great drinks with a terrific happy hour and the staff were all so helpful! The rooms are big, clean and the beds are so comfy! It was a freezing Minnesota day and it was so easy to get to all the stores via the skyway. I would stay here again and again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LfromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt T, General Manager at The Westin Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
L from MN,

Thank you for the great review!

I am glad you enjoyed our bar, restaurant and the cleanliness of our rooms.

We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The room was really average. The staff was very nice. The bathroom was very poorly stocked-2 bars of soap, 1 body wash and 1 hair conditioner but no shampoo and no body lotion. My coffee maker was broken, however when I went down to front desk, they quickly gave me a couple of complimentary coffees. All in all, I was disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buddbayclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt T, General Manager at The Westin Minneapolis, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear buddbayyclub,

Please accept my sincere apology for the unfortunate experiences you encountered during your recent trip to our Westin Minneapolis. Unfortunately due to the issues that you mentioned, we failed to offer you the experience you anticipated while booking our hotel. Please consider contacting me directly as I would hope to have the opportunity to regain your confidence in our Westin. I value your opinion and thank you for sharing this with me

Regards,

WMN AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Love the Westin Minneapolis! From the minute you walk in the service is amazing. The rooms are always clean and the heavenly bed is truly heavenly. The bar and restaurant staff take care of your every need. Thanks again Westin staff!
Can't wait until my next visit to the Westin Minneapolis.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KERMOSER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Any time we need to stay in downtown Mpls. we choose the Westin. Great food, great atmosphere, great rooms and of course, great beds! We love to hang out in your lounge area with friends and always get service with a smile. :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#15 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,365 reviews
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#8 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,457 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Minneapolis

Property: The Westin Minneapolis
Address: 88 S 6th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1100
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transformed from Minneapolis's historic Farmers & Mechanics Bank building, The Westin Minneapolis will be your home to renewal in the Twin Cities. Located at the pulse of cosmopolitan Minneapolis, we are a short walk away from the best the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Westin Minneapolis
Minneapolis Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing