We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Minneapolis
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milwaukee, WI
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Property!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed here on business in October and really enjoyed it. I’m usually a Hilton person but Starwoods is winning me over with hotels like this.

The room was great – clean extremely comfortable bed, spacious and well furnished.

When you walk into the hotel the lobby, restaurant and bar area are located in a historical beautiful bank building. You really need to check it out.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Randy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    327
    108
    59
    40
See reviews for
143
361
79
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Good hotel with a great lobby. The staff was very friendly and the location was good. The only issue is that the rooms are very small and our view was terrible. The stay was good overall, and depending on the price, I would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinmpls, Manager at The Westin Minneapolis, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Jack J

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are a registered historic building & a former bank so many of our room layouts vary. We hope you will join us again in one of our upgraded rooms for a different experience. Your loyalty to our hotel and your feedback on your experience is very important to us. We hope to welcome you back for your next stay! Thank you again for your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor

Warm Regards WmnGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Westin is conveniently located in downtown, and reasonable close to attractions like the Guthrie Theatre. The former bank building boasts an impressive lobby which houses the bar and restaurant. Room layout was a little unusual with the desk right inside the door and the rest of the room down a short corridor, but it was clean and comfortable with the always-excellent Westin bed.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California, USA
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Pros: Room, location
cons:no view
They upgraded my room to a suite, but there is no good view, I guess this is because the city,maybe there is no great view at any hotels here. Other than that the hotel is great, a westin level.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Yu Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinmpls, General Manager at The Westin Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Yu Z

Thank you for the great review, I am very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. Your loyalty to our hotel and your great feedback on your experience is very special. We are looking forward to having you back for your next stay!

Warm Regards
WmnGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

A great property....and terrific SPG experience. The building itself was a bank till about a couple of decades back.

The rooms are spacious and beds very comfortable. The restaurant closes a bit early, but its got a good vibe when its open. Located in a beautiful neighbourhood, and close to a lot of commercial establishments, makes this place great one to stay. If u into using the fitness center, its quite nice with multifunction equipment and sufficiently large floor spaces.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pramod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinmpls, General Manager at The Westin Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear PS-2509,
Thank you for the great feedback in regards to your stay at our Westin. It is always very special when you hear the positive feedback from our regular Starwood guests. We hope to see you on your next visit to Minneapolis. Thank you also for your brand loyalty to Starwood!
Warm Regards
WmnGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Westin continues to satisfy. Room was comfortable and of good size. Importantly to me it was quiet. The staff was very helpful. I called the desk about 6 or 7 times about various things within a short period of time and by the 4th time apologized to the (same person who answered the phone every time) gal answering the phone for being so high maintenance. Her response was "I'm here for you. I have nothing better to do right now than help you."

The breakfast, which is served in the lobby (of the old bank which the hotel took over) was good. The buffet was priced reasonably and the food was of good quality and variety. I highly recommend the facility.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOpsDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The reality of the historic bank building makes for a very odd hotel. The front desk is located to the side of the lobby space that is mostly given over to the restaurant. The staff is great, but the siting of the desk feels like an afterthought. As others have commented most rooms face a very tall building, we kept the curtains closed. Room was very user friendly with large workspace. However details were lacking, TV remote was dead, large ink stain on the sofa, room never made up for two guests, coffee not refilled. Also got to say I don't share the enthusiasm for the waterfall showerhead, you have to use the hand held shower if you don't want to get your hair wet. The first night I was thrilled with how quiet it was, but it turned out that was because there were no neighbors. Once a large group checked in the quiet ended and the soundproofing deficiencies became apparent. The location is great but this Westin just doesn't quite live up to the expectations of the brand.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RainCityGal425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinmpls, General Manager at The Westin Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear RainCityGal425,

On behalf of the entire staff at The Westin Minneapolis, I’d like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Little details make a major difference to our guests. Unfortunately we failed to deliver the Westin experience you expected when choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your honest feedback as it only helps us see where we need to improve upon. I’d like to assure you that we have addressed your concerns with our entire Management Team and remain focused to ensure these issues don’t affect future guests.
Thank you
WmnGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,255 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Downtown
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Downtown
The Marquette Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Minneapolis

Property: The Westin Minneapolis
Address: 88 S 6th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1100
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transformed from Minneapolis's historic Farmers & Mechanics Bank building, The Westin Minneapolis will be your home to renewal in the Twin Cities. Located at the pulse of cosmopolitan Minneapolis, we are a short walk away from the best the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Westin Minneapolis
Minneapolis Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing