We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Love the Westin world” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Minneapolis
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
252 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Love the Westin world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Westin continues to satisfy. Room was comfortable and of good size. Importantly to me it was quiet. The staff was very helpful. I called the desk about 6 or 7 times about various things within a short period of time and by the 4th time apologized to the (same person who answered the phone every time) gal answering the phone for being so high maintenance. Her response was "I'm here for you. I have nothing better to do right now than help you."

The breakfast, which is served in the lobby (of the old bank which the hotel took over) was good. The buffet was priced reasonably and the food was of good quality and variety. I highly recommend the facility.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOpsDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    311
    102
    55
    37
See reviews for
137
346
75
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The reality of the historic bank building makes for a very odd hotel. The front desk is located to the side of the lobby space that is mostly given over to the restaurant. The staff is great, but the siting of the desk feels like an afterthought. As others have commented most rooms face a very tall building, we kept the curtains closed. Room was very user friendly with large workspace. However details were lacking, TV remote was dead, large ink stain on the sofa, room never made up for two guests, coffee not refilled. Also got to say I don't share the enthusiasm for the waterfall showerhead, you have to use the hand held shower if you don't want to get your hair wet. The first night I was thrilled with how quiet it was, but it turned out that was because there were no neighbors. Once a large group checked in the quiet ended and the soundproofing deficiencies became apparent. The location is great but this Westin just doesn't quite live up to the expectations of the brand.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RainCityGal425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinmpls, General Manager at The Westin Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear RainCityGal425,

On behalf of the entire staff at The Westin Minneapolis, I’d like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Little details make a major difference to our guests. Unfortunately we failed to deliver the Westin experience you expected when choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your honest feedback as it only helps us see where we need to improve upon. I’d like to assure you that we have addressed your concerns with our entire Management Team and remain focused to ensure these issues don’t affect future guests.
Thank you
WmnGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
348 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is in a former bank building which has been restored so lovingly it really takes you back in time. The bank safe is now the wine cellar and even if you are not staying here take a walk through the lobby and check it out. The rooms are modern, the bathrooms to die for. What's with that shower? I couldn't get enough of that and now I have to figure out how to buy one. The staff was very sweet and professional, definitely mid western hospitality prevails. There were no hick ups with the stay, everything went smoothly the way it was supposed to. Minneapolis should be proud of this one.

Green Features: you can leave a card on the bed if you don't want them to change the sheets, which is definitely a good idea.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lasa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

There is a reason everyone loves the Westin in Minneapolis – it’s a great hotel, in a historic building that plays up the dramatic spaces and is blessed with a wonderful staff, from front-of-house to housekeeping to bellmen. When we were in a real bind over our disastrous two-hour non-stay at the Hotel Ivy (see separate review of this terrible hotel), the Westin’s front desk staff stepped in despite a sell out on what was going to be the second night of our stay, honored my SPG Gold status with a beautiful corner junior suite upgrade and made sure they got us the absolute lowest SET price available, despite the fact that the second night was still pretty expensive due to the conference rolling into town.

The Westin plays up its situation in the historic Farmers and Mercantile Bank building, with a soaring lobby that fills the old bank space, replete with Art Deco chandeliers and period architectural details. It is impressive and sophisticated.

Upstairs, the impressiveness continues. Our room was bright and comfortable, with ample desk space (two of us could almost share the desk), everything the Ivy was not. The Westin bed is legendary and provided a perfect night’s sleep. But whereas it is the Ivy that claims to have a spa, it was our room at the Westin that in fact provided one of the most amazing spa showers we have ever enjoyed – a rain head showerhead on one side of the oversized glass-enclosed space and three Swiss jet sprays on the opposite wall, creating a two-sided cascade that made it quite difficult to ever want to get out and go to work.

Everyone from housekeeping to bell staff was as friendly and courteous as the front desk staff, again drawing stark contrast with its so-called Luxury Collection sibling property. The Westin is everything that the Ivy is not, and is clearly the pacesetter among the Starwood properties in Minneapolis.

I would personally like to thank the hotel for helping us when we really needed assistance that first, stressful afternoon, and thanks even moreso for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Higher up is better, altough the hotel is only a mid-rise building, so you will have views of other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fantasticv0yage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I really enjoyed staying here. The staffs were super friendly. Bathroom was great. I enjoyed the complementary Starbucks coffee. The only drawback is that there is a very tall building adjacent to the hotel. So if you get a room that is in the back of the hotel, you will probably not open the curtains in your room.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank marsuc0nn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Westin Minneapolis is a great work trip hotel -- convenient downtown location (love the Skyway) and was upgraded to a corner room. The multiple shower heads were quite luxurious. I'm not sure if I'd go back to the restaurant though -- had dinner and breakfast there and both meals were adequate but mediocre.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CaityW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Drum, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here over a weekend for a wedding. We arrived on Thursday morning around 11am and tried to check in. We were told they didn't have any rooms available yet and to come back at check in time at 3pm. They were unable to provide us with a room until 5:30pm that night. We knew many people staying at the hotel for the same wedding and everyone we talked to had similar problems of not being given a room on time.

Besides the issues with checking in, the hotel was lovely. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and there were no other issues. I would stay at this hotel again if I knew I was arriving late but would look elsewhere if I was arriving in the morning again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaG197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#16 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#9 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#3 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#15 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Minneapolis

Property: The Westin Minneapolis
Address: 88 S 6th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1100
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transformed from Minneapolis's historic Farmers & Mechanics Bank building, The Westin Minneapolis will be your home to renewal in the Twin Cities. Located at the pulse of cosmopolitan Minneapolis, we are a short walk away from the best the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Starwood and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Westin Minneapolis
Minneapolis Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing