We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Unique old bank building turned into hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Minneapolis
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique old bank building turned into hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Westin in downtown Minneapolis is located in a historic bank building. The lobby/bar area is very pretty. Within walking distance was a mall, eating establishments and a bar with live music. All employees were helpful. It was recommended to us to use valet parking, which we did since the hotel is in a downtown area with little parking available. The Sunday morning breakfast buffet was very good food and reasonably priced at around $12 per person. There is not a fridge in the room - you can request one though. You also have the option of renting workout clothing for $5 if you did not pack yours. We did not try this option so don't know well that works.

Green Features: Literature is in the rooms about promoting environmentally friendly choices, also healthy eating tips.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee1657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    309
    102
    54
    37
See reviews for
135
343
75
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We recently celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary with an overnight stay at the Westin in downtown Minneapolis. It is an old bank building that has been beautifully redone. The standard rooms were a bit on the small side, but very nicely decorated. The bed was the high point of the room! So comfortable! When we told them it was our anniversary they graciously offered to comp us a dinner or breakfast. We had already made plans, however. I recommend staying at this Westin. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
150 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

It's good overall. Nothing charming about it except it's in an old bank building but that's why we stay at Westins. A bit formal and stiff with it's valet parking and long walkway to the front desk but fine. Wouldn't choose to stay here for entire length of project unless the client was within walking / taxi distance.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Houston3214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Wow what a great experience from the minute I checked into the hotel. The employee at the front desk was so helpful and sincere, not only did he check me in quickly he asked if I needed suggestions for dinner, transportation needs or anything to make my stay more pleasant.
The room as always is clean and spacious.
So most people don't think of the Westin as a hotel to bring a child to... Wrong the staff was over the top friendly with my son from his kiddy cocktail with extra cherries of course to the snail talk with him to make him feel important. The best part about traveling with a child is your not fighting the crowds to use the pool.
Shawn our waiter is so knowledgable and friendly made meals fun and delightful. I would recommend the hanger steak.
If you are traveling to Minneapolis the Westin is the only choice you should think about, you won't be disappointed.
Great job Westin Staff can't wait until our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KERMOSER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at many hotels in North America but this one is the real gem. Pull up to the hotel and the very friendly valet parking staff show up.

The front office staff is very helpful and no problems switching rooms. Overall the staff get 95% for friendliness.

The restaurant is again top in its class.

One of my best stays!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We live in the twin cities, but decided to stay downtown for the weekend to celebrate our anniversary. The Westin met our needs very well. The location is excellent - only about a block and a half from the light rail, very close to Nicollett Mall and Hennepin Ave. Check-in was very smooth, and we were even upgraded when we mentioned it was our anniversary. The room was clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable - we both slept great. It was also very quiet. The pool was a bit small, but nice. If there had been other people using it, it might have been a little crowded.

Overall, it was a great stay. We'd definitely stay here again if/when we decide to get away for a short weekend and will recommend it to others who visit the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ECMTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the Westin for a weekend in August. The hotel is in a historical bank building and the main lobby and common areas are outstanding.
The rooms are more modern, we had a suite, which was very spacious, a big living area and bathroom. The only downside is no window in the bedroom. Our son slept on the sofa bed in the living room.
There were a few discrepancies, but they totally made up for them and the manager spoke with me very attentively at check out.
I would stay here again upon return to Minneapolis.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monty36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#13 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#8 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Minneapolis

Property: The Westin Minneapolis
Address: 88 S 6th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1100
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transformed from Minneapolis's historic Farmers & Mechanics Bank building, The Westin Minneapolis will be your home to renewal in the Twin Cities. Located at the pulse of cosmopolitan Minneapolis, we are a short walk away from the best the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Groupon, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Westin Minneapolis
Minneapolis Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing