We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our best stay yet!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Minneapolis
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our best stay yet!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in the most gorgeous suite at the Westin (room 532). My husband and enjoyed a date night in Minneapolis having dinner at Ruth's Chris (amazing) and cocktails at the Union Rooftop (great ambiance). We had breakfast at The Bank (Westin restaurant) which was amazing! The food and service always exceed our expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ally13M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinmpls, General Manager at The Westin Minneapolis, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Ally13M,

Thank you for your great review! Your feedback is very important; hearing the positive experience from our guests is truly special to all of our team members. I am thrilled to hear that you had a great stay at our Westin Grand Suite was special and that you had a wonderful visit to BANK. Thank you for your repeat business as we truly value your Loyalty to our Westin. We look forward to your next visit!

Stay Well
WmnGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    326
    108
    58
    39
See reviews for
139
359
79
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our stay at the Westin Downtown in Minneapolis exceeded all our expectations. The location is great - within waking distance of Target Center, Target Field and a lot of great stores restaurants. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They answered all our questions and met all our needs. And lastly, the room itself was incredible. It had a great view of downtown. Plus the bed was super comfortable and the shower was the best. We would definitely stay at the Westin again and highly recommend it to all those traveling to Minneapolis.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nvg210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinmpls, General Manager at The Westin Minneapolis, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear nvg210, Thank you for taking time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled to hear that you had a great stay at our Westin and enjoyed our Heavenly Bed and our Shower! We hope to see you again for another visit in the near future.

Warm Regards
WmnGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My two friends and I stayed here on a Saturday night for a concert at the Target Center. We checked in around 5:15 PM, the front desk clerk asked what brought us there and when we told him it was a concert, he said, "To each their own." I found that to be off-putting and rude.

We then went to our room and found one king bed. We went down to the front desk to ask for a room with two beds, as we requested. We were told, by a different front desk clerk that because we booked through Expedia, we got whatever was left over and they had no rooms available with two beds. We then asked for a roll-away and he said they didn't have any. When we told him that we requested a room with two beds on Expedia, he said, "That's why it's so cheap." I didn't know what to say. At this point, we asked for extra bedding so someone could sleep on the chaise lounge. We never received this bedding.

When we returned from the concert, we asked the front desk about ordering food and they were less than helpful.

Positives- room was large, comfortable and clean. The bar staff was friendly and very helpful. The security officer was very helpful. Valet staff, no problem.

This is very close to the Target Center, so it's perfect for a concert or game, if you don't mind being judged and treated like a 2nd class citizen by the front desk staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinmpls, General Manager at The Westin Minneapolis, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Westin Guest;

Please accept my sincere apology for the unfortunate experience you encountered during your recent trip to our Westin Minneapolis. Unfortunately due to the issues that you mentioned, we failed to offer you the experience you anticipated while booking our hotel. Please consider contacting me directly as I would hope to have the opportunity to regain your confidence in our hotel. I value your opinion and thank you for sharing this with me
WmnGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
587 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here because we went to the Kenny Chesney concert at Target Field, and this was within walking distance- plus the reviews looked good. $291 with taxes for an extremely small room. Could barely walk between desk (with very sharp corner) and wall. Bed was comfortable though, so no complaints there. Only one robe was hanging in the closet. The bar was supposed to be open until midnight on a Friday night, but when we arrived at 11:15, it was closed. I called the front desk for 2 extra pillows, and while someone was at our door promptly, he handed me one pillow that was fine, one king pillow w/o a case, and a standard pillow case that I was supposed to put on myself! Very odd! Also hard to get into one of the 5 spots on curb to check in. Will definitely not return. Way too much money to spend for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilly070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinmpls, General Manager at The Westin Minneapolis, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. The feedback you have provided regarding your room and the issues you experienced is disappointing to hear, but again appreciated. This information has been shared with our team to ensure it does not happen to a future guest. Please let me know if I can ever assist you in the future. Regards
Wmn GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I am visiting MSP for work this time and have been staying at the Westin for almost a week now. Nice rooms, clean and cosy. Great hotel location. Very easy to get a cab in the morning to head to work. And awesome restaurants around the hotel area for drinks/dinners, and all within walking distance.

I am particularly impressed with the service. The Westin employees just put in so much effort to get things done, without any of the 'excuses' (or explanations) that I have experienced at many other places. Their only focus was to solve my problem in the fastest and smotth manner.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting MSP for work or pleasure!

Room Tip: I am on the 5th floor and overlooking a roof. Try to avoid this I suppose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaminator426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Convenient location with very nice rooms. Everything you would expect from a Westin. Easy check-in, adequate gym facility, and great dining options. I travel quite frequently to Minneapolis for business, and have never thought of switching properties. If traveling in via air, the train from the airport to the city is just as convenient and about 1/20th the price of a cab. Highly recommend the breakfast at Ike's just down the street from the property, however like I said, you can't go wrong dining on site.

Room Tip: Hotel has a somewhat off layout - , but try and request a window to the outside, or can seem a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel is a great location for a business meeting. The meeting rooms are very nice with a good work area with convenient access to power outlets.
The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.
The hotel is within walking distance of several downtown restaurants.
The Marketplace in the hotel provides a wide selection of food options especially for a quick light lunch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeWayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#17 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#5 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Minneapolis

Property: The Westin Minneapolis
Address: 88 S 6th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1100
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transformed from Minneapolis's historic Farmers & Mechanics Bank building, The Westin Minneapolis will be your home to renewal in the Twin Cities. Located at the pulse of cosmopolitan Minneapolis, we are a short walk away from the best the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Westin Minneapolis
Minneapolis Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing