We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Spring Break in Minneapolis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Minneapolis
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Spring Break in Minneapolis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We couldn't get out of Minnesota for spring break this year so we took the kids to our favorite hotel The Westin. They kids enjoyed the pool and our spacious suite with two separate bedrooms. LOVE heavenly beds!!!! We had amazing dinner and breakfast in the BANK restaurant. The food is amazing and the staff is very attentive. We can't wait to come back to the Westin for another enjoyable time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ally13M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    308
    102
    54
    37
See reviews for
135
343
75
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent one night in downtown Minneapolis to celebrate my birthday and stayed the the Westin. The location is easily accessible to shopping and restaurants downtown. The room was very clean, very comfortable, decent size, and very well appointed. The only think about the room was the small bathroom that was a bit awkward due the location of the toilet and the swing of the door ... other than that, our room was perfect. We were on the fifth floor - the view was okay, nothing spectacular. I did enjoy the black-and-white historical photos throughout the common areas of the hotel. Check-in was quick, easy, and efficient. While they offer valet parking, I chose to self-park. Meters in downtown east of 2nd avenue are not enforced after 6pm on Friday. I was able to leave my car with the valet while I checked-in. After hauling luggage up to my room, I came back downstairs and drove my car 2-1/2 blocks away and was able to park on the street. The lobby is fabulous - formerly a bank lobby. We had a cocktail and enjoyed $5 happy hour appetizers in the lobby bar. We paid $94 +tax which was an excellent value for this property. I highly recommend the Westin Minneapolis

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I would totally love this hotel. It's beautiful and contemporary and it's a great location.

The beds are very comfortable. The pool is really nice, especially in march. Clean locker room.

We were close to the best downtown bars in town.

So why only 4 stars from me? I had trouble connecting to the wifi in the room, over and over again, and that's on top of having to pay for it. I did get the wifi to work well in the lobby, which is a great place to hang out, so it wasn't too much of a hassle. Maybe 4 1/2 stars.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JIdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
107 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Good:
- gorgeous lobby, and front desk staff were friendly (if a little too chatty, keeping people waiting longer than necessary).
- nice room. comfortable beds, very clean and nice toiletries.
- the view!
- the location...right in the middle of downtown, within walking distance to multiple bars and restaurants.
- didn't give us any crap when we came back from dinner with 5 people carrying pillows, backbacks, games, and booze. The front desk person just smiled at us.
- quiet halls and friendly cleaning staff.
- the pool is REALLY cool-looking, nice hot tub, and clean locker rooms.

The Bad:
- the pool was FREEZING. The water and the room were both ice cold. Getting in dry was bad enough, trying to get in after sitting in the hot tub was a death sentence. I don't know if the stainless steel made it worse, but damn people...a pool room shouldn't be 60 degrees!
- the Wi-Fi isn't free, and didn't work.
- The people working in the restaurant/bar were very very rude and unfriendly. The front desk person informed us that the bar had a happy hour, so we went over and sat ourselves. The waitress came over, slapped napkins down in front of us, and stared at us, without a greeting or anything. When we asked her about the happy hour, she kind of scoffed and said "what happy hour? We don't have one." Which would have been fine...without the attitude. We ended up walking to a nearby restaurant for their happy hour.

I'd definitely stay there again, but I wouldn't eat at their restaurant, unless their surly staff has had some training or been replaced. Also, HEAT YOUR POOL ROOM!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank NellieX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel is an absolute must if your traveling to Minneapolis. From the minute our family walked in we felt like royalty. My daughter was on spring break last week and we decided spend the weekend in downtown. We had dinner at their restaurant Bank. The staff was outstanding and they made our night perfect. Compliments to the Chef!!!! The rooms were a nice size and the heavenly bed was out of this world comfortable. Honestly, I have not slept that good in years:-) My wife and I were so impressed we already made a reservation for our anniversary coming up in June.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetek, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were quite nice clean and comfortable. We liked that for a large hotel, the layout made it seem smaller and allowed for minimal traffic and noise in halls. We had little interaction with staff, however what we had was pleasant. Convenient location. Great value for a weekend stay!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I spent a night with my daughter and granddaughter after not having seen them for 4 years. It was just one night away from the rest of the family to reconnect. The hotel is right downtown which is one of my favorite places in Minnesota. Valet was right on the spot to take my car, the lobby is gorgeous and FD staff were extremely nice, despite my black eye (I fainted and ended up with a black eye but when you're a woman with one, it seems people assume you're abused and like to stare). Our room was beautiful and my 5 year old granddaughter loved the pool. We ordered room service for dinner and it was timely and delicious. I highly recommend the crab cake sliders. Checkout was a breeze, bill was correct. Great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#13 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#8 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Minneapolis

Property: The Westin Minneapolis
Address: 88 S 6th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1100
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transformed from Minneapolis's historic Farmers & Mechanics Bank building, The Westin Minneapolis will be your home to renewal in the Twin Cities. Located at the pulse of cosmopolitan Minneapolis, we are a short walk away from the best the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Westin Minneapolis
Minneapolis Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing