We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if you do not want to suffer a 76 degree room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Minneapolis
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Avoid if you do not want to suffer a 76 degree room”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Rooms with 2 beds have only double beds, rather than queen size (even though there was plenty of room for 2 queen size beds). Tissue from previous guest was left under the dresser.

This hotel apparently cannot adjust its temperature level. This one negative aspect completely undid any positive aspects of the hotel; it is inexcusable that they cannot adjust the temperature (ultimately, the corporation is responsible, not the hotel staff - who unfortunately, have to deal with unhappy guests). My room was 75-76 all the time. When I asked for them to look into this (in the morning), they said they would (when I discovered that no adjustment was possible, I was frustrated by their simply not telling me this when I called in the morning). When I came back in the afternoon, I found a noisy box fan in the room and the temperature had not been reduced at all.

I insisted on talking to the manager who said there was nothing they could do about it because the temperature in Minneapolis was unseasonably warm. While I agree that the temp in Mpls was warm for November, it is not terribly unusual to get these temperatures in November. I find it hard to believe that a major luxury hotel chain is not concerned about room temperatures being so high. I told the manager that I had not slept more than a few hours the previous night and that it was unreasonable to expect guests to tolerate such high room temperatures. The manager told me there was no way to open windows or to reduce the room temperature. While the manager did offer dinner as compensation, that cannot possibly compensate for being sleep deprived for 3 nights because of the temperature. A noisy box fan did not address the problem and would have only contributed to the inability to sleep.

If the hotel truly cannot do anything to adjust their central heating/cooling system, then they need to invest in in-room air conditioners - there are options which do not have to be put in windows.

I'm not the first to complain about the temperature issue. When is Westin going to address this?

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel until they've address their problems with HVAC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lazzlazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinmpls, General Manager at The Westin Minneapolis, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Westin Guest;
Please accept my sincere apology for the unfortunate experience you encountered with your stay due to our room temperature during your most recent trip to Minneapolis. Unfortunately due to this issue with the cooling in your room, we failed to offer you the experience you expect at The Westin Minneapolis. Please consider contacting me directly as I would hope to have the opportunity to regain your confidence in our Westin.
Stay Well
Mark Deinhart
General Manager, The Westin Minneapolis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    329
    109
    59
    40
See reviews for
144
363
79
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

For a fairly new hotel and one with the Westin name, I expected much more. I would think a small fridge in the room is almost a given these days but not here. Our carpet was stained with something red...pretty gross. Desk chair was falling apart at the (naugehyde) seams. No tub in bath, beautiful shower but I love to bathe. Bed was extremely uncomfortable. Neither my husband or I slept much. We had the heat off yet the room was unbearably hot and stuffy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisalovessun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sauk Centre MN
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We spent the evening at the Westin in celbration of a 60th birthday and attended the holidazzle parade. It is an exceptional property! The location could not have been better for all the things we did. We walked everywhere, which we love rather than having to take cabs. The hotel itself is quiet, clean, comfortable...everything we needed or wanted. The staff is wonderful. They are so friendly and accomodating. I can't say a bad word about the Westin. We will definitely stay there again when we venture to Minneapolis. It will be our first choice! Mike and Roxanne

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We'll go out of our way to explore hotels that have found life by re-purposing the buildings that house them. So it was with great anticipation I made a last minute reservation at the Westin Minneapolis, housed in the original Farmers and Mechanics Bank building in downtown Minneapolis.

The owners of the building did a wonderful job preserving the original banking hall. The cavernous space is spectacular for both its art deco and mid-century modern elements. Don't forget this is a bank founded on the real work of the people of Minneapolis and all the wall carvings pay homage to the famers and industrial labors of that built this city. Having grown up in Minnesota, this bank was legendary.

The lobby is basically a restaurant with a center bar. The front desk is on the far side of lobby and the main entrance. The desk itself hardly recognizable and so dimly lit, making difficult to find. When you make your way from the front door to the desk, you pass what were once private office suites no used as well lit small dining rooms. Talk about dining in a goldfish bowl.

If you visit the restaurant space when it is dark outside and the benefit of outside lighting is not available, you might have to use your cell phone to generate enough light to read the menu. Perhaps it was just being a Sunday night, but the hotel came across as having minimal staffing with no doorperson or bell person to welcome you or to assist you to the front desk or your room.

Our room was attractive and had an exceptionally tall ceiling. The furnishings were warm wood with current day chic/hip style. It took a while to figure out the bedside lamp and floor lamp was controlled by a light switch back at the front door.

We enjoyed the in-room Starbuck's coffee but were disappointed that there was only a single pack of decaf and no regular blend available. The other negative to our room was a drapery panel that was off one of its hooks and any housekeeper should be able to see and have attended to.

While the room itself was attractive to us, we were a little surprised by the lack of housekeeping quality in our bathroom. Not only did we find a few hairs on the floor, there was toothpaste spatter on the glass tiles surrounding the sink.

We set out to explore more of the hotel and visited the exercise facility on the third level. The moment you stepped off the elevator the pronounced odor of pool chlorine got your attention. When we actually entered the pool room, our eyes began to burn because of the intense level of chlorine. Either the ventilation system was not working or the pool was over chlorinated. The odor was so intense we immediately left and decided to forego using this facility.

The other negative experience we encountered was being disturbed by the housekeeper knocking on our door. Admittedly we did not place the card on the outside of our door; but, the lock plate informed us we could ensure our privacy by flipping over the lever on the door. It was obvious these lever locks out the housekeeper's key card which we heard being attempted; but, the housekeeper did not accept the electronic light message given by the lock and preceded to knock on our door. Having enjoyed peace and tranquility we had incurred up until this time, it is amazing how this one event spoiled our visit.

Would we return to the Westin Minneapolis, for sure. We hope these few minor issues can be addressed with its housekeeping department and it will "clean up" its act a little more which would make this hotel very much at the top of its game.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraveljohnsonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel.. Extremely clean and bright. I have stayed here multiple times. Very close to all downtown businesses. My one qualm here is the lack of restaurants and bars close by. Most places are a 10-15 minute cab ride away. Valet parking is also steep. Finally, although there is a restaurant in the lobby, the few times I have eaten there the food and service were not great. The bartenders at the lobby bar are fantastic, however.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasquatch22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just returned home from a four night stay at the Westin over Thanksgiving. Scored a great rate through Hotwire.

Easy access to the hotel from the light rail. Check-in was a breeze. Our king room on the 11th floor was fine. A couple of electrical issues with the room were dealt with in a timely manner.

This property is a former bank and is very cool from an architectural standpoint. It's well located for nearby dining and shopping options. Since it was a holiday weekend, the hotel was fairly quiet. Fine with us. Nice pool and workout areas on the 3rd floor. The only minor annoyance during our stay was that one of the two elevators became out of service over the weekend.

No problems at check-out. We left our bags for the day as we had an evening flight out of MSP. We will definitely consider this property for a future stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We booked the Westin via Hotwire for a 2- night stay Thanksgiving weekend to visit family. From the time we drove up to the front door, we had excellent customer service/attention from the valet parking attendant, reception desk, the young bartender (from Breckenridge/Wahpeton), and the young man at the front desk that gave us complimentary wi-fi. (I regret I did not get names of the staff that were there, on Thanksgiving Day, giving us their best with outstanding service and no complaints!). Then, we were equally satisfied with our room: very clean, everything upscale, comfortable bed/linens/pillows, flatscreen TV, great bathroom with granite countertop, walk-in shower/double showerheads, and all of the outlets needed for tech devices. Particularly noticed the bedside clock that variates between color/light to maintain level for sleep and view during night. Really nice. What more can one expect!. This is a great hotel and great location in downtown Mpls. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConnieCJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,259 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#5 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,665 reviews
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Downtown
The Marquette Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Minneapolis

Property: The Westin Minneapolis
Address: 88 S 6th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1100
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#12 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transformed from Minneapolis's historic Farmers & Mechanics Bank building, The Westin Minneapolis will be your home to renewal in the Twin Cities. Located at the pulse of cosmopolitan Minneapolis, we are a short walk away from the best the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Westin Minneapolis
Minneapolis Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing