We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cool hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Minneapolis
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very cool hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here around and during the 4th of July. I go to Minneapolis a lot so I'd already had some drinks at the cool bar that sits in the center of the lobby of this one-time bank several times before.

I was glad to finally give this place a try! The beds were comfy, the gym was more than adequate having even complimentary earphones, and the atmosphere is great.

The bathroom configuration in the room I was in was pretty strange, however. The door opened inwards and was just sort of awkward and annoying. You had to step in and close the door to get around it. Doesn't sound like much but it was weird.

They do offer some lame reward for going "green" by not having your room serviced. It's like 5 bucks towards I'm not sure what. I couldn't use it at the bar for drinks, I couldn't use it for the things I got at the shop area next to the front desk, and it just seemed pointless. I gave up fresh stuff for monopoly money but whatever. Just think it seems dumb.

I wish I remembered the dude's name but the guy in a white jacket standing at the side entrance was awesome and very helpful with things as simple as a good place to get coffee and how to maneuver the indoor walkways.

Overall though, it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarryDiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    317
    104
    56
    38
See reviews for
139
350
77
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a property I stay at frequently and I always have a fabulous experience. This room had everything I needed/requested even before I got to my room. The food was excellent and the restaurant staff were great! I love this location mostly because it's a couple blocks off the main drag where too many people are hanging around....I feel much safer here. Yet, it's right off Nicollet and immediate access to the skyway system....perfect location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tawnyd67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights on business. Could'nt be happier with the hotel. Enjoy the fact that is was in an old bank building and they did a ncie job converting it to a hotel. The staff was warm and friendly. I enjoyed eating at the BANK bar with the friendly bartenders. The food was excellent. I was on the 7th floor and on a side room. Even though it was semi close to the elevator and ice machine, it didnt bother me much as a light sleep. The hotel was sold out. Will stay here again on my next trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaykid007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great lobby architecture! Rooms are all different sizes and shapes; I found my room to be large and a bit sparse. The shower had the usual double Westin showerhead, and my room had the body sprayers, which were just short of a car wash. The room was clean and furnishings where in good shape, but the hallways needed to be vacuumed. My pet peeve for this class of hotel and above is charging for WIFI, at the prices I paid it should be free.

I suggest you check prices on Hotels.com they were 30% less than SPG.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emannh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
312 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I'm a heavy traveler but have little experience with Westin. I selected this hotel because it was close to my client meetings. WOW. The hotel - a converted old bank, is BEAUTIFUL and well designed. My room was luxurious and comfortable. Down the to emenities - everything was well designed, clean and comfortable. The towels were plush and soft. The staff friendly and receptive.
Also - I had a chance to have lunch in their lobby restaurant (also beautiful) - and it was delicious. HIghly recommended!!! I WILL always return to this Westin when I need a room in downtown Minneapolis. If this hotel is representative of Westins everywhere, I'll be staying at them more!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisFromCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here one night, nice hotel. The room was clean and had a nice new flat screen. Somewhat small room, but for two people there was plenty of space. Well appointed bathroom with double shower heads. The entrance to the hotel is very grand. The staff, valets and BANK bar staff was excellent. It is right downtown, we walked to a Twins Game and took us less than 10 minutes. Nice place, I'd return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights (Tues-Thurs) and found the staff friendly and helpful. I love the Starbucks coffee and complimentary water. You can choose to use your sheets more than one night and get a $5 coupon for use in the hotel. I didn't use the coupon but appreciate the gesture. Internet is not free buy easy to set up and you can call down for access on two devices. I found the hotel using Priceline but would pay double the price (as found on the website) to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Drpresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#17 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#12 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Minneapolis

Property: The Westin Minneapolis
Address: 88 S 6th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1100
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transformed from Minneapolis's historic Farmers & Mechanics Bank building, The Westin Minneapolis will be your home to renewal in the Twin Cities. Located at the pulse of cosmopolitan Minneapolis, we are a short walk away from the best the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Westin Minneapolis
Minneapolis Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing