We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great downtown hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Minneapolis
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
“Great downtown hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Westin. Close to everything downtown. Beautiful lobby. Comfortable room - very clean and spacious. A bit hard to control the temperature in the room at night. We were too hot our first night. Very gracious staff especially general manager Mark who saved me an early morning trip to the convenience store by providing us with granola bars and bananas! The cocktails in the bar are also surprisingly reasonable for a downtown hotel. Great workout facility and decent pool for a downtown hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    292
    93
    48
    36
See reviews for
126
329
74
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

My husband booked this hotel on a whim through Priceline so I didn't even check out the website prior to arriving. The Bank bar and restaurant is beautifully decorated and modern. The wine room is an old bank vault so that's pretty unique. The hotel in general is very clean. We stayed on the 6th floor and unfortunately had a very poor view. Our window looked out to a wall that was very close so we opted to keep the curtains closed. The couch in our room was beige and looked like it had brown stains on it. Our room was a little small, but worked for us. We did go visit another room where some of our friends were staying and it was much larger. It also would have been nice to have the fridge open in our room, rather than having to obtain a key for the minibar. We just wanted it to keep our drinks cold.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjchams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I must say I was somewhat reluctant to enjoy another hotel, ALL the front desk. Everything were pretty well said by previous recent reviews. Yes the staff could not have been more helpful. Would gladly stay here again. The restaurant has a good food and wine menu. Incredible stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times and it continues to rank as a favoite. Weston hotels typically are clean, modern, and smell great. This property is no exception. The rooms are on the small side. If you only need one bed, request a room on 3rd floor. Same floor as the pool and fitness vented and the best room layouts are on this floor. The food and drinks at the on site dining called Bank is excellent and rarely crowded.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms are the best for layout and location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmp1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Located in a converted Farmers & Mechanics Bank building in Minneapolis, The Westin Minneapolis is a hotel full of unique features. The most unique feature is the lobby, which still looks like the original bank lobby and even has a wine cellar that is the old vault. The rooms are comfortable and modern. The bed is HEAVENLY (The Westin "Heavenly Bed"), so it lives up to it's name. You will want to stay in bed all day, because it is just that comfortable. The rooms have nice views of the surrounding downtown area. The bathroom in the hotel room I stayed in had a shower with dual shower heads. That was awesome. The water pressure was great for a hotel.

As for the other amenities in the hotel, there is a nice exercise room, The WestinWorkout. Also, a nice indoor pool and hot tub, although, the hot tub was not very hot. That is probably my only complaint about the hotel. The hotel's restaurant, cleverly named "BANK" is located in the lobby of the hotel. I didn't have a chance to spend time in the restaurant, but definitely will the next time I am at this hotel.

Overall, this is a great hotel in a great location. You are in the center of downtown Minneapolis and are connected to the skyway system, so rain, snow, or shine you can get to where you need to go downtown from this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views of the downtown skyline. Valet parking at the hotel is $30 a day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rtfagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I've come here many times and love eating in the Bank Bar. The sliders are great. I miss the deviled eggs, though. It used to be a very Minnesota thing. this time, we met a very nice bartender, Andy. He's casual and friendly and real. We like him. They have a very nice wine selection, too. The hotel is very nice too. The rooms are nice and consistent. However, when I checked in, there was some urine on the floor next to the toilet (kind of like man urine that missed). The maid very kindly came and cleaned it up immediately. I'm over it. Things happen. I would really not recommend the room service grilled chicken club wrap. Dry and uninteresting. I would recommend roaming the sky bridges earlier in the day and picking something up for your dinner. There are so many choices. But these places close early, so don't expect them to be open late for you. There is a great wine shop in the skyway near the hotel that is open, I recommend that as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twestover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Here's the deal – book a room on Friday or Saturday nights and stay at a lovely and luxurious hotel with a great downtown location at an amazing price. Lots of young hip couples around, so there's a clue. The service is good, but the food is best consumed in the restaurant. That said, there are some great restaurants close by, so venture out.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are much nicer than others, so don't be afraid to ask for what you want. Every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MillionMileGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#11 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#8 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,101 reviews
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Minneapolis

Property: The Westin Minneapolis
Address: 88 S 6th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1100
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transformed from Minneapolis's historic Farmers & Mechanics Bank building, The Westin Minneapolis will be your home to renewal in the Twin Cities. Located at the pulse of cosmopolitan Minneapolis, we are a short walk away from the best the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Starwood, Otel, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Westin Minneapolis
Minneapolis Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing