We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Minneapolis
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Great rooms, great service, beautifully restored historic building and great location. Will stay there again.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
Thank SeattlePM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,112)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Minneapolis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

873 - 879 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for the second time when we were in Mpls for a Twin's Game. Check-in was instantaneous! The staff members were friendly and accomodating. The room was wonderful with a bed that rivals those at the Graves 601 hotel. The room was clean and spacious. The bathroom was a nice size and had a window which overlooked 6th Street.

We enjoyed the happy hour which had some great deals. The bartenders were especially friendly including the manager in training from the East Coast who then visited with us the next morning when we were eating breakfast. Breakfast was good, but a bit pricey at $42.00.

This is a great hotel with a ton of character! I highly recommend it. It is close to shopping, eating establishments and Target Field/Target Center.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferBenson_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Westin a well situation hotel in a renovated bank building near business, shopping the the light rail to MSP airport and Mall of America.
I arrived late and left early. The room was a good size, well appointed etc.
They missed an excellent rating because of no wake up call as requested. Could have been an issue if i did not set a backup alarm.
I would stay again

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank DoesNotGetOutMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Although my girlfriend and I live in town, we love getting away, and spending time at The Westin Minneapolis. The amazing staff, great rooms, and Ambiance make for an amazing stay/experience...not to mention the easy access to the wonderful bars and restaurants off of Nicolett and Frist Ave.

Room Tip: The suites and Penthouse Suites are amazing...and the beds are so comfortable!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamalblack3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

It was like coming home (only better as I did not have to do the dishes) after a long day at the office. The room was perfection and the bed made me hit the snooze alarm once or twice, truth be told. I have to say one of the nicest items about this hotel is the staff. You can find a lovely bed almost anywhere, but finding a staff that greets you with a friendly demeanor, no matter what time of day is a rarity. The Light Rail service was experiencing delays while I was there and I believe her name was either Angela, or Adriana, and she spent probably 15 mins. helping me find an alternate way, even calling the Metra station. She should definitely be commended for her dedication on 7/8/11 around 11:45 or Noon. Only complaint was the somewhat limited roomservice menu, but the area has a lot of restaurants for convenience.

Room Tip: I did not have a fantastic city view, but did not care the least. The rooms are so lovely regardles...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guest2769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed here July 3-5. When we arrived, we were fortunate enough to find a parking spot right in front of the hotel. It was a Sunday and the free parking on the street was wide open. If you are there on a weekend, it seems like it is much easier to find parking and not use the $30.00/night valet.

Check in was very fast and easy to find. Our room was clean and we had a great view of downtown.

The pool area was small, but very tranquil. It had some relaxing music playing and I felt like I was relaxing at a spa.

The are many restaurants and bars to choose from in the area. We ate at a place called The Newsroom. It is located on the corner of 9th and Nicollet. They had a huge selection of beer/wine and fabulous outdoor seating.

We went to the lobby bar after dinner to get a glass of wine. (You can not purchase wine/liquor on a Sunday in Minnesota. It is the state law, You can only buy it at a restaurant or bar.) We enjoyed a glass of wine and my husband ordered the Red Velvet Cake. If there is one thing you have to try, that would be it!! It is FABULOUS...AMAZING...DELICIOUS.....I never order dessert, but I would DEFINITELY order this! I had a bite and wanted to eat the entire piece! You have to try it to really understand how amazing it is. I would DEFINITELY order it again.

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed at the Westin Minneapolis for a recent family wedding. While the room was small, the price was very reasonable at $103.00 a night. The hotel is situated in a great location, within walking distance to shops and restaurants. You may want to park at a nearby public parking facility, as the valet parking is a little steep - $30.00 plus tax.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernicez10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
The Marquette Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#5 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Minneapolis

Address: 88 S 6th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1100
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: $153 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transformed from Minneapolis's historic Farmers & Mechanics Bank building, The Westin Minneapolis will be your home to renewal in the Twin Cities. Located at the pulse of cosmopolitan Minneapolis, we are a short walk away from the best the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Westin Minneapolis
Minneapolis Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing