We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!!! Luxurious atmosphere, and Mouthwatering Food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Minneapolis to your Saves list
The Westin Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 South 6th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1114 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service!!! Luxurious atmosphere, and Mouthwatering Food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

This hotel was fantastic. Located right downtown (easy to get to everything) and the staff was so friendly, I thought they had me mistaken for some VIP!

Seriously, the people who worked here seemed to genuinely enjoy their day yet maintained the utmost professionalism.

I missed my original flight to Minneapolis and had to call and cancel my first night at the hotel because the next flight out wasn't until the next morning. I was worried about getting charged a penalty fee (since it was Easter weekend and the place was completely booked!) but the employees were so kind it was no trouble at all, they just said no problem and thanks for letting us know, apologizing to me for the trouble I had had.

The atmosphere of this place is very luxurious, with cool modern decor and soft soothing lighting. The bar/restaurant is conveniently located as soon as you walk in and creates a great meeting place for friends or co-workers. Tommy at the bar was very attentive.

Did I mention the food was amazing? I'm glad I was able to eat there actually, as I was doubtful that I would have time to sit down, but I asked the host and he said it would be no trouble and that if I was in a hurry he would call me a cab when he brought the check! Very fast service, 5 star food, and such friendly people!!

Lastly I would like to purchase the bed from my room. What do they call it? The dream bed? Yes it was. I hit the pillow and was out like a light, and I didn't budge all night.

Thank you to the people at the Westin and BANK for being so accommodating. You really made a stressful weekend feel like a breeze.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MouseyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    291
    92
    48
    36
See reviews for
125
328
74
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

I stayed at the Westin while on a business trip consulting for a restaurant that is soon to be opened.
As a chef I was delighted that not just the hotel rooms were nice but also the food at Bank was delicious. Me and my partners ordered a selection of appetizers of the menu and were happy about the swift and friendly service as we didn't have much time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenBrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Had a wonderful time and have only great things to say about the Westin Minneapolis. If you are looking for an elegant central location with all the amenities, a professional, courteous staff and a first-class restaurant -- this is the place for you!

The room was quite spacious and well-appointed including large screen TV. Best of all, the bed was very comfortable and afforded me a deep restful sleep. It was very quiet -- although the hotel appeared to be quite full, I never heard a sound from the adjoining rooms or hall.

The staff was courteous, prompt, and friendly. I left my hanging clothes on a table near check-in and when I realized and went down to look for them, they had already locked them in a side room and quickly retrieved them for me.

You are right in the center of town with easy access to anywhere you might want to go. There is a large modern mall to one side that can be entered across a catwalk without needing to go outside. I had forgotten a few items, and it was quick and easy to find anything from clothing to personal items.

I ate at BANK several times and enjoyed their central bar and cozy couches. The food was superb, I kept going back. Kudos to the chef! I am still thinking of the marrow poutine, the crab cakes, and the hangar steak -- everything was excellent with generous portions. The wine selection was comprehensive and sophisticated and gave excellent value. A great place to meet friends, relax with business associates, or share a romantic evening.

I will be back my next time in Minneapolis, it couldn't have been a better stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choroni03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

No detail is overlooked. You feel very special. A very refreshing and rewarding experience!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen9008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

The service at the hotel was excellent. During checkin I inquired if they had any Westin kids club kits, and when they did not Jason ran to Target and got my kids some magic marker activity booklets. They had a conference so we were not able to get an upgrade until a few days into our stay, they remembered without having to bug them. When checking out there were additional Valet charges (I ended up parking at the garage connected via the skyway to save a few bucks), Jason removed them without any argument.

The first room we had, did not have any outside windows but was large enough to have 2 queen beds and we had them deliver a roll away bed. The suite was larger but the kids didn't like the pull out bed as much.

The room service food was mediocre and overpriced, but that's what I'd normally expect. There are plenty other places to visit, it was just the easiest to do after driving all day. Thankfully the have a nice kids selection.

We opted out of housecleaning to get points instead, but when we ran low of some supplies the house cleaning staff in the hallways were very courteous and helpful.

The pool while small entertained the kids. We also enjoyed exploring the skyway which is connected to the Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Westin and we both were very pleased!!

We were greeted with the valet who were running to open my door! How impressive! Made me feel so special!

The restaurant and lobby are absolutely beautiful!! The staff at the front desk (especially Chris) were so friendly and accomodating to all our needs. Chris suggested all the restaurants we should try and also made all our reservations! He was wonderful!

Our room was great! It was spacious with very nice modern decor. The beds were very comfortable!! The bathroom was very nice but there was only a shower and no bathtub.

The location of the hotel is downtown with some very nice pubs just down the street and just a small walk to Fogo de Chao...the best Brazillian restaurant ever!!

Overall, our experience with this hotel was amazing! We would definitely recommend and are definitely coming back soon!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silknsaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Had the opportunity to stay at the Westin downtown again last week and as always, it was perfect. A great comfortable sleeping room a friendly and attentive staff. I had clients in for a meeting and lunch in one of the private dining rooms off of the main restaurant and they were impressed! The food was excellent and the room was perfect - (awesome LCD video monitor). If you're looking for comfort, quality and top notch service, you won't find a better value.

P.S. - If the only negative thing I can think of is that I had to call down for an ironing board, I'd say it's a pretty great place...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the_bean_man041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#11 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#8 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,095 reviews
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#5 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Minneapolis

Property: The Westin Minneapolis
Address: 88 South 6th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1114
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transformed from Minneapolis's historic Farmers & Mechanics Bank building, The Westin Minneapolis will be your home to renewal in the Twin Cities. Located at the pulse of cosmopolitan Minneapolis, we are a short walk away from the best the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Starwood, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Westin Minneapolis
Minneapolis Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing