We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wow! Just wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary

Sanctuary
903 Washington Av. S., Minneapolis, MN (Downtown)
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sanctuary is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 1,781 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Chicago Avenue
Transit: Washington Avenue buses run in front of Sanctuary. Light rail and other buses stop near the Dome - less than a block South of (behind) Sanctuary.
Description: Sanctuary, with its chandeliers and vaguely gothic ambiance - protected by gargoyles like the sanctuaries of Europe - is elegant, yet comfortable. A fireplace warms cold nights - a patio with flowers and herbs celebrates summer. Sanctuary serves New American Cuisine – delicious, beautiful, out-of-the-ordinary yet satisfying combinations of the familiar with various immigrant touches. Focusing on fresh, local and seasonal, the menu changes every other month, Tasting Menus are served M-Th, Seasonal Specials weekends.
Level Contributor
188 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wow! Just wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Went there based on TA recommendations, and am I glad I did. Chose the 5-course tasting menu, and liked every single course plus the paired wines. I went on a Monday night when the Guthrie was in recess, so there were very few of us. Service from Kim was superb. Highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Runpicu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    42
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Affordable culinary treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Visiting, a friend reserved a Tuesday dinner. We chose the tasting menu with the wine pairing. It's a great value. The dishes are reasonable portions and are highly creative. One of our courses was a cold watermelon soup with creme fresh spiced up with habanero extract. The wine pairing was not simply wine, one of the courses had a champagne with a dash of balsamic instead of bitters.
For a metro area and a well crafted culinary tour, the $69/person fare is a real value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyTrales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We went here since the place was one of the top restaurants in Minneapolis on Tripadvisor. Very disappointing experience. i don't get it. The decor was great, the menu sounded great. The food was just ok. And the service was poor, at best. Others pleasant servers would occasionally bring certain courses and drinks, so maybe we just had an abberation, but our waitress was simply consistently inattentive for over 1.5 hours. Even though we let her know at 5:50 we had a 7:30 Guthrie show, we still had to ask for the final course of the tasting menu at the same time as the check to make the show on time. And I have yet to mention the filthy spoon served with the soup as well as a dirty bread plate. We had hoped to have found a new pre-Guthrie spot. I guess not.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
567 reviews
407 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Fine food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to push your taste bud... They definitely try to be creative on taste mix and dressing, with a smiling service. However it miss a little kick in this taste to make it fabulous.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bambooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.paul
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Inventive menu, attentive service, attractive prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a wonderful meal here on our way to the Guthrie. The service was relaxed and efficient, we did not feel rushed. Have the tartlet appetizer for sure!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tfox2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing