We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Affordable culinary treat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanctuary

Sanctuary
Reserve with OpenTable
Sanctuary is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #56 of 1,806 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Chicago Avenue
Transit: Washington Avenue buses run in front of Sanctuary. Light rail and other buses stop near the Dome - less than a block South of (behind) Sanctuary.
Description: Sanctuary, with its chandeliers and vaguely gothic ambiance - protected by gargoyles like the sanctuaries of Europe - is elegant, yet comfortable. A fireplace warms cold nights - a patio with flowers and herbs celebrates summer. Sanctuary serves New American Cuisine – delicious, beautiful, out-of-the-ordinary yet satisfying combinations of the familiar with various immigrant touches. Focusing on fresh, local and seasonal, the menu changes every other month, Tasting Menus are served M-Th, Seasonal Specials weekends.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Affordable culinary treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Visiting, a friend reserved a Tuesday dinner. We chose the tasting menu with the wine pairing. It's a great value. The dishes are reasonable portions and are highly creative. One of our courses was a cold watermelon soup with creme fresh spiced up with habanero extract. The wine pairing was not simply wine, one of the courses had a champagne with a dash of balsamic instead of bitters.
For a metro area and a well crafted culinary tour, the $69/person fare is a real value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyTrales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    43
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We went here since the place was one of the top restaurants in Minneapolis on Tripadvisor. Very disappointing experience. i don't get it. The decor was great, the menu sounded great. The food was just ok. And the service was poor, at best. Others pleasant servers would occasionally bring certain courses and drinks, so maybe we just had an abberation, but our waitress was simply consistently inattentive for over 1.5 hours. Even though we let her know at 5:50 we had a 7:30 Guthrie show, we still had to ask for the final course of the tasting menu at the same time as the check to make the show on time. And I have yet to mention the filthy spoon served with the soup as well as a dirty bread plate. We had hoped to have found a new pre-Guthrie spot. I guess not.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
580 reviews
417 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Fine food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to push your taste bud... They definitely try to be creative on taste mix and dressing, with a smiling service. However it miss a little kick in this taste to make it fabulous.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bambooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.paul
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Inventive menu, attentive service, attractive prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a wonderful meal here on our way to the Guthrie. The service was relaxed and efficient, we did not feel rushed. Have the tartlet appetizer for sure!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tfox2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Okay--nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

It was so highly touted that I expected a lot. It was fine but nothing special. Menu was okay, food was okay, atmosphere was okay, drinks were okay. Location was good by the Guthrie but other than that, ehh.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Egon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing