We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Fun Afternoon”

Midtown Global Market
Ranked #40 of 207 things to do in Minneapolis
Attraction details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“What a Fun Afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Midtown Global Market is located in the old Sears Roebuck building, so it has a cool nostalgia vibe for folks old enough to remember that. It's bustling, colorful, full of an eclectic assortment of food, clothing and arts & crafts vendors. There is at least one actual sit-down restaurant (with excellent Margaritas) as well as several take-out places ~ like a food court, but good.

A parking ramp across the street (to the east) offers the first two hours free, just make sure to bring the ticket along to validate. The elevators in the ramp offer ST (street) and G (? - but it leads to a tunnel, very handy on the sub-zero day I went). Even after two hours it is cheap, currently $1.25 an hour.

It's a great way to spend an afternoon ~ eating, shopping & people-watching. Go. Enjoy. Spend money at small businesses and keep the American dream alive.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathy-the-Spherical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    39
    14
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Many quality global fairs to try. Make sure you stop by the African food stand for their saffron chicken soup. The tamales are great, especially with the homemade salsa. Speaking of salsa, make sure you head to the Mexican market and buy their chili de Arbol salsa. Hmmmmm.....

Helpful?
1 Thank Matthewferrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
234 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent spot for shopping on a global scale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Go there for great Scandinavian, Mexican, Arabic, Greek, Italian and American foods, among others..you will not be disappointed if you are into cooking and preparing foods from scratch. The international variety of stalls, markets and restaurants is dazzling. Foodies can easily spend 2-3 hours in there (and parking is free for the first two hours). I am still reminiscing about the deserts
(yes, plural ;)) I had at the Salty Tart brasserie and the enchiladas at A La Salsa...Can't wait to be back!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aeneken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great local attraction with global variety”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

the Midtown Global market offers a little bit of many cultures and products as well as fun public space. Friends invited us to meet there Friday night for an eclectic dinner. We found ourselves listening to local fiddle duets and browsing the many restaurants/counters for food. three of us chose Mexican cuisine (Sonora Grill) and one had middle eastern (Holy Land). dessert came from the Salty Tart bakery and the Italian Ice stand

We also happened to be there on a night when the Minnesota Twin were doing a promotion. the mascot (TC bear) was there along with other kid friendly activities.

We lingered long over dinner and I missed my chance to browse some of the shops with local and imported products.

this isn't the most sophisticated of urban malls, but like much of MN it has a homey, friendly atmosphere and lots more diversity than you would think in the Land of 10,000 Petersons!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jandar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
197 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I was very excited to go see this place, but was a little disappointed. I have been to other markets of this type that were much better (The French Market in Chicago and the Public Market in Milwaukee) so I might have had too high of expectations.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sunshinecop67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Midtown Global Market also viewed

 

Been to Midtown Global Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing