We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pre-matinee brunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Change

Sea Change
Reserve with OpenTable
Sea Change is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #91 of 1,790 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $100
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Chicago Ave.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great pre-matinee brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Creative brunch menu (though far more breakfast than lunch), great service, large drink menu, ok prices. This was a great way to grab a bite before a Sunday matinee at the Guthrie recently. I'd like to get back and try their dinner menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    82
    40
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Outstanding Oysters, Drinks and Bartender”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We hit this restaurant for a quick bite before seeing a play at the Guthrie. We immediately got a seat at the bar and were lucky enough to be served by one of the greatest bartenders we have ever had. He was friendly, attentive and knowledgeable. They barrel age their own mixed drinks, and they were incredible. Smooth and delicious. We ordered a dozen oysters, six different varieties. Like I have always wanted, when the oysters were served, they came with a little "road map" of which each oyster was, and we kept our menu which had descriptions of each. This way we knew exactly which ones we were trying and what how they were described. Perfect! They also came with three unique homemade sauces (a horseradish one, a kimchee one and a cucumber one - all excellent!) The bartender gave us a couple of tastes of wine that went with the oysters as well. We did not want to leave, but had to go to our play. Next time I am in the Twin Cities I will definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NativeDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pricey but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We came here on a Thursday night, with no show at the Guthrie Theater, so it was not too busy. Our waitress was very helpful in pairing drinks with our seafood and appetizers. The razor clam shells are amazingly good, and the raw tuna was incredible to start us off. They have a very good drink selection, with many different kinds for any meal. Our main course, mostly fish, took a while to come out, but when it did, it was amazing. We opted for no dessert, but since it was my father's birthday, they brought us some sorbet ice cream, very good. Although it is a little expensive, it has a very posh and nice atmosphere, and having it not be so crowded was a good thing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 78Michael78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
171 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Just off the mark”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Innovative sea food that blends items but fails to impress. The fish in the bouillabaisse was overcooked. My wife thought the char was great. The desert was a flop. Service was excellant. Thing we will pass on next visit to town. The restraurant was empty on a Friday night.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PsychSanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
215 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Enjoyed lunch much”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

In the Guthrie Theater, this should be called the Sea and Wine Change. I conservatively counted 75 cases of wine on hand. Stunning. Tried the lobster roll (very tasty - tad buttery). Wife had the shrimp caesar sale (loads of shrimp and almost a traditional caesar dressing (more oil than mayo - that's a good thing!). Very modern inside. Quite nice.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wiggleglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Change also viewed

 

Been to Sea Change? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing