We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Glad it is in my neighborhood!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of al Vento

al Vento
Reserve with OpenTable
al Vento is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #85 of 1,779 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 50th Street
Transit: 50th & Hiawatha LRT
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Glad it is in my neighborhood!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Al Vento has been a great place to go to over and over since it opened years ago. I have taken advantage of their Tuesday night date night multiple times (4 courses for $20 per person), as well as their half price drinks before 6pm. I have been there on romantic dinners, as well as with the entire family (small children included) and on business and have never been disappointed. Their mussels are tasty and their Caesar salad incredibly garlicky (which I love). Their pasta with duck leg ragu, the amatriciana and their linguine with seafood are all great. I recommend leaving some room for dessert. The ice-cream is homemade and its taste is rich and defined. Their creme brûlée is also worth ordering. Service is attentive and knowledgeable. I am glad Al Vento is in my neighborhood!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    68
    16
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Was taken to restaurant by my son and wife. They had just moved to Minneapolis and this was our reward for helping unpack the Uhaul. I would definitely unload the truck again if a meal at this place was the payment. The food was outstanding and the waiter was very helpful. Great menu and the wine hit the spot. Would recommend this reataurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UncleRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had some bruschetta (the sampler platter), a sausage pizza (with homemade sausage and goat cheese) and a wonderful arugula salad with grapefruit slices. The service was good and the interior was nice. They had some Happy Hour discounts and my friends enjoyed their mixed drinks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancoix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“First Class Italian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I tried Al Vento a few months ago when they were renovating, and had an ambitious but somewhat strange meal. I recently went back. The renovations were complete an the restaurant had really hit its stride. I had a great meal and a great experience. One of the wonderful things about the restaurant is the excitement an enthusiasm of the staff. The people who work here really like their food, and they are proud of what comes out of the kitchen. The folks at the bar make their own limoncello--much better than the commercial stuff--and a grapefruit version that is truly wonderful. The bar has many unique cocktails, and the bartenders are just as excited about their creations as the kitchen is about the food. I had a fantastic mushroom appetizer stuffed with walnuts, a wonderful veal chop on polenta with snow peas and Gorgonzola butter and an amazing peach semifreddo. Prices are more than reasonable for such great original food, and the service is outstanding. Al Vento is definitely worth a special trip. It is probably the best Italian restaurant in the Twin Cities.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wbeeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great date night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited al Vento for the first time. We choose to sit on the patio, it was a bit hot, but enjoyed it nevertheless. The wine list is fantastic and it half price bottles of wine so how can you go wrong. We started with the fig and Prosciutto pizza. Amazing. So light and tender and flavorful. My bf liked it so much he had it for his entrée. I had the stuffed trout and it was amazing. A lot of meat on that fish. Perfectly cooked. Tender. Light. Crispy. We each ordered a scoop of gelato. Vanilla and spicy chocolate. Really interesting and refreshing. Next time we will for sure try the $20 four course option.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GingerLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed al Vento also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to al Vento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing