We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good neighborhood Italian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of al Vento

al Vento
Reserve with OpenTable
al Vento is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #100 of 1,778 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 50th Street
Transit: 50th & Hiawatha LRT
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
96 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good neighborhood Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent tasting food, nicely presented. We have now been here a number of times. This is one of our favorite dining spots.

A small, Southern Italian bistro with simple, but nice décor. Frequently changing menu with items such as scallops, pasta, mussels, shrimp, pork tenderloin, swordfish, and chicken.

We’ve tried many meals here and liked all of them. Items that stand out were the lamb chops, scallops and chicken parmesan.

We generally try to make reservations, but one time did not have reservations so we sat at the bar. There was plenty of room to eat at the granite/marble topped bar. However, the service was not as good as what we perceived at the dining tables. Table service has generally been attentive.

The dining room is divided into two parts. I would choose the front dining – the back was a bit stuffy. Of course, in the warmer months, their patio is the place to be. Sometimes if a bus goes by, you get a brief whiff of that nasty exhaust, but take another sip of wine and enjoy what matters.

They offer a number of good desserts and the Tiramisu is huge!

The wine list is small, but reasonably priced.
½ priced bottles of wine on Sundays and Mondays and every night from 4:30pm-6:00pm.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Looneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    66
    16
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Delicious Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our third time to experience the Sunday Brunch at Al Vento. It was our anniversary, and we hoped to spend a nice time enjoying delicious food-As previously, this cozy neighborhood restaurant did not disappoint! On Sundays the place is busy, but we have always found the service to be excellent-very attentive and professional wait staff. We had the "Regular Brunch" which includes "bottomless non-alcoholic beverages" ($14). The other brunch ($16) includes "endless" mimosas, screwdrivers and bloody Marys.
Besides the regular "breakfast items" of eggs, meat, waffles, there is an array of meat/cheese choices, Italian salads, and breads. Fresh fruit and desserts follow with this Sunday offering the chocolate fountain. There is some variety each Sunday and always the display of choices is well presented and the amount just right-everything is so tasty it's hard to decide what to take.
I would suggest making a reservation because there were a couple of large groups and the restaurant was full by 11:30. There is also outdoor seating in warm weather. The regular menu offers great Italian dishes and pizza, with a Wednesday special "sandwich night". This is our favorite place for wonderful Italian food and a special neighborhood feel.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Brunch for your Bucks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Went there for Brunch, Called same day before they opened and left a message to make reservations. They didnt have anything until 1:00PM( So call the day before I guess). They close at 2:00 pm. They have what you expect in a brunch plus an eclectic twist of interesting things llike crepes with fluffy spicy whipped cream inside, crunchy, almost raw green bean salad, an array of cheeses and bottomless scredrivers, mimosas, bloody marys coffee and OJ.
The place is packed and the crowd is young. The servers are super busy and it seemed they barely could keep up with refilling the buffet and people`s drinks.Their spirits were up but overworked. It was loud and small though. Call it a diner with an upgrade.So go eat and keep going on with your life.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 35Escapades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayzata, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Took my spouse there for his bday on 1/19/21. Started at 5:15 which allowed for 1/2 price bottle of wine. Food was delicious. Wonderful. Go early :) We highly recommend it. The menu changes daily.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jlspurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Best brunch deal ever. Great food selection. EggsFlorentine are delicious. Unlimited bloody marys and mimosas. $16.00!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed al Vento also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to al Vento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing