We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian!”
Review of al Vento

al Vento
Reserve with OpenTable
al Vento is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #91 of 1,806 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 50th Street
Transit: 50th & Hiawatha LRT
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Excellent Italian!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Meatballs and Minestrone soup taste just like Nonni's. Atmosphere is cozy and lively, yet we can hear each other talk just fine. Food is excellent, drinks are excellent, service is excellent.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Char T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    74
    19
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
So Cal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Visiting Minneapolis with my customers I had to pick a place for dinner. Found this place on Trip Advisor and loved it. all three of us were very impressed with the taste and quality of the food. We ordered a Margarita pizza for an appetizer and it was as tasty as anything I've had anywhere. The homemade pastas were "wow.". I can't wait to visit again.

Helpful?
Thank onemorechance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What a terrific italian restaurant”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Excellent drinks; excellent entres and service. Very affordable to boot!

A great find for a city not known for Italian food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank itrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
193 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Fabulous, sorry I waited so long”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My friend and I were seeking a low key place after a beautiful fall walk at Lake Nokomis. We ended up here and sat on the patio only to enjoy their date night special - 4 courses for $20! It was fabulous, truly. We both had the squash soup, beet salad, spaghetti & meatballs and spicy chocolate gelato + wine. Everything was absolutely delicious and the service was excellent. It was a little noisy on the patio since it's a busy intersection... they might consider a firepit/chimena to lenghten the short MN patio season. But it was excellent and I'll be back, why did I wait so long? Oh, and the prices were very reasonable on most of the menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonnie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
332 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Grande cucina italiana - Great Italian Food”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A fantastic neighborhood restaurant. This place has simple ambiance and a good wine list. The food is quality. They have a fantastic Sunday Brunch served from 10am to 2pm. A beautiful European-style buffet featuring fresh fruit, lovely little pastries, salads, meats, cheeses, smoked salmon, sausage, roasted potatoes, petite eggs benedict, waffles, crepes, all topped off with a chocolate fondue fountain with fresh fruit. Everything is fresh. The Brunch includes a bottomless mimosa, bloody mary, or screwdriver. You absolutely can not go wrong. Check out Brunch on the patio during the warmer seasons. Great specials with 1/2 price bottles of wine during happy hour. The dinner menu changes daily so check the fresh sheet. Also open for lunch. Tuesday Night is Date Night where you get 4 Courses for $20/Person. It's all good so check it out soon. See more at: http://www.alventorestaurant.com/

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank just1backpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed al Vento also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
Minneapolis, MN
 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to al Vento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing