We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast”
Review of Colossal Cafe

Colossal Cafe
Ranked #179 of 1,800 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We saw the triple D review just before coming to Minneapolis for the big ten hockey tournament. We had nothing to do on Saturday. Thus was a great choice. It was definitely a unique place. It was very small and quaint. The staff was very friendly.

But you go out for food... the food was great. I had the biscuits and gravy. My wife had an omelet. They were both great.

Definitely worth the visit.

Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    26
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Robbinsdale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Awesome service and delicious food!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The food was great, and the service was some of the best we've ever had. The only down side is that there are only a few tables so you have to go at the right time if you want to eat-in. I will definitely be back!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Saw it on the show , a lot of hype”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I saw this place featured on Diners dives and drive ins . Guy so in so was just raving and yaking it up .., ok . The item he really bragged up was this homemade meatloaf sandwich with cranberry sauce . Well , there was 3 of us in the group and nobody wanted to miss this famous highly touted rare "treat" , so we all ordered it . It came promptly enough the staff were nice etc ., the sandwich was ok . Nothing to go out of your way for though .
As they said many times on the show , this place is small ! Tiny ! As in "Excuse me please , I need to use the lavatory , would you guys seated near it mind getting up and moving so I may enter it ? " I consider myself courteous so I just made a tinkle , anything else would've been a complete fiasco .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Guyacrosstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breakfast is perfect”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

this spot has amazing breakfast - its tiny, so better for couples and people solo. There is a busy intersection near by so it might be loud outside on the patio. I'm from Minneapolis and this place is in my top 3.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary,Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Food, atmosphere and waitstaff all terrific. The quality of ingredients were topnotch, servings were large, but we could not leave anything on the plate. we had breakfast, but sandwiches and other menu items looked great as well.Wish we lived in the twin cities!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colossal Cafe also viewed

Minneapolis, MN
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Colossal Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing